We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Lovely respite in the city” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Pulitzer Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Pulitzer Amsterdam
Ranked #33 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Medford, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
68 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Lovely respite in the city”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

Hotel Pulitzer was our home away from home for a week in Amsterdam in July, and it proved the perfect place for us to stay. We loved the scenic location on a canal near the Anne Frank house, and spent hours wandering the neighborhood checking out local shops and restaurants.

The staff was where Pulitzer really shined. Front desk clerks, bellhops, and restaurant servers remembered our names day to day, and always greeted us with friendly faces. They even humored my attempts to speech Dutch, despite all speaking clear, fluent English. The concierge was amazing in arranging tickets for museums and giving directions.

Rooms were small, but we knew that going in. Still, it was a bit of a shock how small that actually was! There was scarcely room to put two suitcases. We had a garden view, which wasn't much, but the big window let in a lot of light making it pleasant. The bathroom was luxuriously tiled, but the step into the tub was very high, and the showerhead was pretty low. I'm 5'6" tall and barely fit underneath. They did have a handheld option that could be used, though.

I'm not sure how this hotel snuck into the Luxury Collection, because despite its location and amazing staff, there were a lot of little things that kept me from thinking true luxury. One of the lamps in our room was missing a lightbulb, and the toiletpaper holder was broken so that the slightest bump send the roll running across the floor. The hairdryer didn't work well. In the breakfast area off the lobby, the same coffee stains were on the floor for the entirety of our stay, indicating it wasn't washed regularly Air conditioning worked, but barely, and the only bedding was a heavy down comforter, not very practical during a heat wave in July. I definitely think this was a lovely hotel, but more of a 4 than a 5 star.

Room Tip: Ask for a canal view. Don't be shy about it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Juli_journeys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexanderVanGastel, General Manager at Hotel Pulitzer Amsterdam, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Dear Jewelianna,

Thank you for sharing your feedback on TripAdvisor regarding your recent experience at Hotel Pulitzer, a Luxury Collection hotel. We value all guest comments, and constructive feedback helps us to continually improve upon our services and facilities.
Please accept my sincere apologies for the fact that you did not feel like you were in a 5* hotel. I have personally shared your comments on the state of the room as well as the breakfast area, as these are things that should be easily fixed or adjusted.

I do hope we may welcome you again in Hotel Pulitzer.

With warm regards,

Alex van Gastel


With warm regards,

Alex van Gastel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,546 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,380
    723
    268
    104
    71
See reviews for
391
1,165
130
358
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (626)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
36 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

The hotel is in a very good Amsterdam city location, right on one of the main canals. It has a very cool character since it's comprised of a whole block of typical Amsterdam houses with a big inner courtyard/garden that is very peaceful and a welcome site in a busy and frantic city like Amsterdam. All the rooms are different, beds were amazing with great linens. Very good breakfast buffet is available and even better if included with the room (not all room types/rates include breakfast). If you need a claim to fame, Oceans 12 was filmed here and all the movie stars stayed at the hotel. The hotel owns a classic boat from the early 1900's that is restored and gives canal tours. The tour is more expensive than what you can get outside of the hotel but the price is worth it, boat is beautiful, and you don't have to share it with 100 other people, it can only take about 8-10 people. My only complaint is NO SPA

Room Tip: I liked the inner courtyard rooms, very quiet, although canal rooms have a better view. Depends on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dnadler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexanderVanGastel, General Manager at Hotel Pulitzer Amsterdam, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Dear dnadler,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your stay on TripAdvisor.
It is nice to read that you like the hotel and that you found our staff friendly and professional, I will definitely share your comments with our teams. I agree with you that our beds are indeed very comfortable! You can actually purchase our beds though the Starwood Website.
We are happy to read that you had a great stay with us! Our team is always at your service to assist you with any future requests.

With warm regards,

Alex van Gastel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmetto, Florida
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for a total of 4 days on two different occasions in August 2013. We found the room, staff & location were great! We even went for a tour on the hotel's 100 year old boat that was polished to the nines! While we didn't have dinner in the hotel(it was all booked up) their pies are delicious! We would definitely stay at the Pulitzer on our next trip to Amsterdam.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Donald D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexanderVanGastel, General Manager at Hotel Pulitzer Amsterdam, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Dear Donald D,

Thank you very much for sharing your wonderful words with us on TripAdvisor.
Please be informed that I will inform our team with your compliments.
Our associates will be proud to hear about your impressions regarding the courtesy and quality of service.

I hope we may welcome you again in Hotel Pulitzer.

With warm regards,

Alex van Gastel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

We splurged in the middle of a long trip are spending two nights at this hotel, and it is a wonderful respite. Some loudness in the morning (trash collection, construction) but that is countered by the lovely canal view. Great location! Concierge is very helpful.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlotteella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexanderVanGastel, General Manager at Hotel Pulitzer Amsterdam, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Dear Charlotteella,

Thank you very much for choosing Hotel Pulitzer as your destination during your travels to Amsterdam. It was a pleasure having you as our guest.

As the Canal View rooms are directly located on the Canals, it can occur that there is some outside noise during the morning and day.
Should you wish to have an entirely tranquil stay, I would recommend the rooms facing our Gardens.

We look forward welcoming you again in our unique property.

With warm regards,

Alex van Gastel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

We spent 2 days at the Hotel Pulitzer in August 2013. It is in a perfect location. Close to major attractions and in a beautiful area with lots of cafes and restaurants close by. We loved this hotel. It had a charm about it that you don't get in large hotels. The staff were wonderful - friendly - and very helpful. We loved the fact that they had a Nespresso machine in the lobby in the early morning so you could grab a free cup of coffee before everything else opened up. The only downside to our stay was that the room was on the small side. It was beautifully appointed with a really, really comfortable bed, but not a lot of room to store suitcases, etc. HOWEVER, everything else made up for this fact and we would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy3197
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexanderVanGastel, General Manager at Hotel Pulitzer Amsterdam, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Dear Kathy3197,

Thank you very much for your wonderful comments on Hotel Pulitzer!
As Hotel Pulitzer consists of 25 Canal Houses dating back to the 17th and 18th century, we strive to preserve as much charm and authenticity as we can. Therefore all of the rooms are unique in shape and size. Consequently this means that you may be assigned a room you are not entirely happy with. Please do not hesitate to contact our Front Office, to check which other rooms may be available.

With warm regards,

Alex van Gastel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weybridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

I regularly visit Amsterdam and really wanted to try the Pulitzer for a romantic week-end with my husband as we once lived nearby, a long long time ago. We used to walk past and I thought it looked terrific, being made up of those old canal houses. It really has a romantic feel from the outside.
The location of the hotel is perfect, it is on one of the main canals and in easily walkable distance of the main attractions and charming shops of the Jordaan.
However after my stay I feel the hotel is more of a 4 star than a 5 star, although I would agree the pricing is 5 star! Breakfasts are expensive and not fantastic value for money and it is best to eat in one of the little cafes nearby. Our room had charm ans was clean but it had a terrible view on a wall on thr other side of the atrium, that was all we could see!
Ceilings were low and you did head a lot of noise from the nearby rooms and upstairs.
I would not pick that hotel again unless I paid for a canal view room.

Room Tip: Unless you pay for a canal view you will probably be disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FTR2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexanderVanGastel, General Manager at Hotel Pulitzer Amsterdam, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Dear FTR2013,

Please accept my sincere apologies for not being able to meet or even exceed your expectations. Hotel Pulitzer strives to provide all guests with an exceptional and indigenous experience and I regret to read we were not able to provide you with these important values.

Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us on TripAdvisor, and I hope we do may welcome you again in our unique property again. We would greatly appreciate a chance to show you we can do better.

With warm regards,

Alex van Gastel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

The location is absolutely superb. The rooms were ok but not great -- nothing comparable to the 5-star hotels we stayed in at The Hague and Lille. The breakfast and lunch are excellent. But it is mostly the location that will bring me there again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stcyrienne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexanderVanGastel, General Manager at Hotel Pulitzer Amsterdam, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Dear stcyrienne,

Thank you very much for sharing your Hotel Pulitzer experiences with us on TripAdvisor.

I am delighted to read you enjoyed the location of the hotel, as well as our breakfast buffet and lunch. Did you have lunch in our garden? It is very nice to have lunch in our gardens around this time of year.
Please accept my sincere apologies for the fact that you did not think our hotel would suit in the 5* segment. As we so unique with the Canal Houses, it makes our hotel quite charming and quirky, so we do not have the grandeur that a normal 5* hotel would. Be we believe our quirkiness and the fact that we are not a cookie- cutter hotel, makes us so special.

I do hope we may welcome you again in the near future.

With warm regards,

Alex van Gastel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Dylan
The Dylan
#22 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 504 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#18 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#4 of 364 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 548 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#1 of 364 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 2,283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Pulitzer Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pulitzer Amsterdam

Property: Hotel Pulitzer Amsterdam
Address: Keizersgracht 224, 1016 GZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Hotel Pulitzer, a Luxury Collection Hotel)
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#34 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#38 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#39 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Pulitzer Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming downtown hotel comprising 24 restored 17th- & 18th-century canal houses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Pulitzer Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Pulitzer a Luxury Collection
Pulitzer Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing