We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a 5 star hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Pulitzer Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Pulitzer Amsterdam
Ranked #38 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Not a 5 star hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

The rooms are very small. I think there are smallest rooms I have ever experienced in a 5 star hotel. Furthermore they are absolutely not sound-proof. You hear everything what is going on in the rooms close to yours.

The service seems to be not consistent. It really depends on the person. Some members of the staff are very friendly and helpful, the others - less.

The food in 238 restaurant is fine, but not extraordinary (both for breakfast and dinner).

For SPG members, the hotel seems not to honor SPG guests with privileged status with room upgrades. Or maybe I was unlucky.

All in all, hotel might be suitable for short business trip to the city thanks to it's good location.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Konstantin72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexanderVanGastel, General Manager at Hotel Pulitzer Amsterdam, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Dear Konstantin72,

Thank you very much for providing us with your comments and feedback on TripAdvisor. I am sorry to read our ambassadors did not provide you with the consistent 5* service, of which Hotel Pulitzer always strives to provide. With regards to the SPG members; we strive to upgrade all SPG privileged members, however this is only when the availability permits.
I hope we may welcome you again in Hotel Pulitzer.

With warm regards,

Alex van Gastel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,509 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,345
    722
    267
    104
    71
See reviews for
381
1,150
129
356
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (616)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

If you are looking for a luxury property in Amsterdam, this is the one. Great location, welcoming and attentive staff and an extraordinary design. We just spent four nights there and would highly recommend it. Some great little restaurants nearby if you don't want to walk too far in the evening. Nice bar for a nightcap and lovely small gardens to sit outside if the evening is pleasant. .

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexanderVanGastel, General Manager at Hotel Pulitzer Amsterdam, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Dear Andrew C,

Wow, what a review! Thank you so much for sharing your Hotel Pulitzer experience with us on TripAdvisor. Please be informed that we have shared your wonderful words with the rest of our team. We look forward welcoming you again in Hotel Pulitzer.

With warm regards,

Alex van Gastel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

Upon arriving in the lobby you may wonder if you have landed in the middle of a Robert Palmer music video as all of the front desk staff have a similar to the women in the video and never crack a smile. We knew we would be too early to check in and were eager to drop our bags and start exploring the city. We were abruptly told that our room was not ready - duh, and handed a small map with a circle around our hotel location. Still no smiles. We turned around deflated and overtired from our journey when immediately were greeted by a cheerful man from the bell service. He was chatty and kind and quickly secured our bags and told us to go immediately to the Anne Frank museum (blocks away) before the lines got too long. He saved the day for us and the experiences were all positive from there. Room service was reasonable and fast, breakfast was beautifully situated overlooking a canal and food was great. Our room did not have a view as we had hoped, but was very clean and of a good size. Check out again was grim however I would go back there again just for the central location.

Room Tip: If you want a view ask for it well in advance. If you want quiet then forget the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cindy105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexanderVanGastel, General Manager at Hotel Pulitzer Amsterdam, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Dear Cindy105,

Thank you very much for providing us with your feedback on Hotel Pulitzer. I was delighted to read our Porters saved the day for you and was able to assist you adequately. Please be informed that we have addressed our Front Office ambassadors, to ensure any similar situations will be prevented in the future. I hope that despite this unfortunate experience, we may welcome you again in the near future.

With warm regards,

Alex van Gastel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fair Lawn, New Jersey, USA
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

We booked this hotel because it is a Starwood property and our experience staying in Starwood hotels has been consistently good. When I looked at some of the reviews online I was a little concerned by some of the complaints, but I noticed that the hotel manager was diligent in responding. So when I encountered some problems, instead of stewing about it and writing a negative review when I got home, I asked to speak to the hotel manager. Fanny was courteous, professional, and most interested in correcting the problems and making me happy. Which she did. The hotel is charming and situated very well. It is a good choice for your stay in Amsterdam. Just be sure that you speak up if you are not fully pleased.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EJMS10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexanderVanGastel, General Manager at Hotel Pulitzer Amsterdam, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Dear Family0f10,

Thank you very much for your comments on TripAdvisor. I am delighted to read that me responses on all the reviews contributed to the fact that you chose to stay with us in Hotel Pulitzer. Indeed, when there is something in the hotel that is not up to your satisfaction, please do let us know. This way we can still assist you with your needs and we can correct the problems. Furthermore it warms my heart to read Fanny made you happy again.
I hope we may welcome you again in the near future.

With warm regards,

Alex van Gastel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

This hotel was wonderful in so many ways. From the look and feel to their outstanding customer service. We were always greeted with a smile and everyone was so welcoming. My baggage was delayed by the airlines and when we checked in I was almost on day 2 of wearing the same clothes. Needless to say I was not in the best of moods. The hotel was so accomodating not only did they provide me with the necessary amenities but also laundered my clothes overnight so I could wear clean clothes the next day.

The room itself was spacious with wooden floors and comfortable beds. The only thing that bothered me was the comforter, it was too heavy and woke up in the middle of the night sweating. The bathroom was my favorite. Not too large but not tiny either. Loved their amenities. Will definitely return.

Thank you to all the staff that made my stay so wonderful!

Room Tip: Ask for lighter blankets if you are not travelling during winter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank real_purp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
44 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012 via mobile

Our stay at this hotel was absolutely great. The hotel is located on a historic street close to the Jordaan neighborhood , and it's directly on the canal. The area is quiet and clean, and it was great to come back there after touring the Red Light district. The rooms are a nice size for a European hotel and the hotel concierge was very helpful with getting us oriented to the city and making reservations. Overall I wouldn't hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aruba67416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexanderVanGastel, General Manager at Hotel Pulitzer Amsterdam, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Dear aruba67416,

Thank you for taking the time to rate and comment Hotel Pulitzer on TripAdvisor. It was a pleasure reading your positive comments and I am happy to read our Concierge was able to assist you with your wishes.
We look forward welcoming you again in Hotel Pulitzer.

With warm regards,

Alex van Gastel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

We have just returned from 4 nights at the Pulitzer, but found so many corners cut it is not somewhere we would recommend or return to.

We arrived at 3pm, but the room was not ready and despite asking how long it would take to be ready no one knew and no one could be bothered to find out from housekeeping. When asked is the room being prepared now, again we were told, sorry I do not know. Will it be ready in an hour, sorry I do not know. We were given a free drink at the bar though as an apology.

After waiting half an hour, we went for a walk and returned at 5pm, the room was ready, but this time we were asked “did we want a porter to show us to our room”. When asked was it hard to fine, the answer yes, then clearly we needed a porter to show us. We asked about our bags, but only one bag appeared, the porter kept protesting “ but you only have one ticket”, as if it was our fault we had one ticket. Four times we heard this protest. After much hassle Mr Ogg went with the porter to where the luggage was stored and located our missing bag.

We had a suite on floor 3. Two good large rooms, one good size bathroom and one very small second bathroom.

The sofa in the lounge was well past it’s useable life, badly stained and not worth sitting on because the metal framework of the bed it converted into was above the level of the worn out seat cushions. If you sat on it, you went through to the framework. We solved this by asking for extra pillows and stuffing them into the framework to cushion the back.

The telephones in the room did not work, so we had to go back down to reception to get it sorted out. The bottom edge of the sheet had tears in it, but clearly houskeeping decided this was fine to use.

Nice Bulgari toiletries in the bathrooms, but extraordinarily cheap and nasty tissues in boxes screwed to the wall, nasty cheap toilet paper. It all began to feel like a three star boarding house than five star hotel. The worst was to come, not one night did we get a full nights sleep. There is little to no sound insulation. We heard everything and I mean everything that went on in the room above, groans, moans shrieks and footsteps to the bathroom after.

On the excellent side was the food. Both evening meals and breakfasts were very good and there was a good choice of things on the menu. Room service was some of the best organised we have had, fast and efficient.

Location was also excellent, but we will not be returning. If this is truly Starwood luxury, then that is one hotel group we will avoid

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsOgg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexanderVanGastel, General Manager at Hotel Pulitzer Amsterdam, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Dear MrsOgg,

Thank you very much for your feedback on your recent experiences in Hotel Pulitzer. We take all feedback very seriously and we are therefore very grateful that you took the time to share you experiences. I am very sorry to read your stay with us was not entirely up to your satisfaction. Please be informed that we have shared your comments with the rest of our team, in order to take appropriate actions for the future.
I hope that despite your unfortunate experience, we may welcome you again in Hotel Pulitzer. We would truly appreciate a chance to show you how we strive to provide our service and an exceptional and indigenous experience.

With warm regards,

Alex van Gastel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Dylan
The Dylan
#21 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 495 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#18 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
De L'Europe Amsterdam
De L'Europe Amsterdam
#15 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 1,202 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#3 of 362 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Pulitzer Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pulitzer Amsterdam

Property: Hotel Pulitzer Amsterdam
Address: Keizersgracht 224, 1016 GZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Hotel Pulitzer, a Luxury Collection Hotel)
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#34 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#38 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#39 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Pulitzer Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming downtown hotel comprising 24 restored 17th- & 18th-century canal houses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelsClick, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Pulitzer Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Pulitzer a Luxury Collection
Pulitzer Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing