We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“very cozy hotel but bit expensive” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Pulitzer Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Pulitzer Amsterdam
Ranked #34 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
103 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“very cozy hotel but bit expensive”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2011

I booked on junior suite room, which was nothing amazing but old building and maze like corridor makes this place special. My room was located on 4th floor and took elevator and three stairs to get to the room, but hidden bit makes exciting about this place. I also had good view of cannel from the window.

Hotel has lots of charm, nice breakfast, very helpful concierge and warm and friendly receptionist, they all take good care of guests.

When I am visiting Amsterdam, I always pick this hotel although bit away from business district, but if you are visiting for holiday, this is very convenient place, walking distance to number of museum, pub district, yet lots of pretty cafe, restaurant in vicinity.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WellWiseTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,545 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,379
    723
    268
    104
    71
See reviews for
391
1,164
130
358
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (626)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
prague
Level Contributor
33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2011

Loved how the old buildings were restored and turned into the hotel. We had amazing weather and to sit in the lovely courtyard and drink tea (or beer as my companion) was really lovely. Great breakfast. Thought my attic room was really charming. I really liked the wooden floor in the room - it looks great and I'm always a bit suspicious of the carpets in hotel rooms (they are almost always dark and I just can't help but wonder how clean...) which was not an issue with the spotless wooden floor at the Pulitzer. The meeting room had an amazing crystal chandelier and it felt like being in a castle. Food was great - generally liked by our otherwise picky team (unlike the Sheraton at the airport) both for the breakfast and what was served as part of the conference package was really tasty.

Location - I ha no chance for sightseeing but the hotel is central located on the canals and it seems to be the perfect spot from which to explore the city.

Staff at the reception and the guys looking after luggage and ordering taxis were all just perfect. However, I had some issues finding our meeting room and the concierge staff was not terribly helpful and also it took several calls and 45 minutes waiting for somebody to show up to have our meeting room set up and ready for the meeting in the morning which is why I give this hotel only 4* not 5*.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PragueMarti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napoli
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2011

I have stayed at the Pulitzer in October with my wife as we heard that it was a very nice hotel. So we booked and went to this beautiful city of Amsterdam. In general, the service was average, especially in the restaurant and bar. The building was magnificient and well appointed. It needs to be said that the service that was provided at the reception was very very very poor...On several occasions my wife and I have approached the reception and did not receive the service as promised. Amongst all staff members it needs to be pointed out that Suzanne was very reluctanct to serve the guests around and never smiled or interacted as a guest on vacations would expect. Once again nice hotel but poor poor service at the reception! Don't think i'll come back.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jumbotik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ames, Iowa
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

When the Grand Hotel closed were were sad and had to go here. Best mistake ever. This is the kind of old school charm and service. It is beautiful and indulgent. We had a loft suite and the kids loved their own space. We had great service and the breakfast was wonderful. WE even took the kids to the bar in the afternoon for hot chocolate and strupwafel. Great memories.

Room Tip: Each room is different and has different things to them. When booking CALL and ask which is best fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank linda29355
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2011

My wife and I found the Hotel Pulitzer to be excellent in all respects. What especially impressed us was the professionalism and friendliness of the front desk staff. They made excellent recommendations with respect to both visiting Amsterdam's many art museums and eating at local dining restaurants. We were also touched by how the staff at breakfast greeted an older couple who had clearly stayed at the Pulitzer many times. Multiple staff came up to say hello and inquire about their health. It truly was like the staff treated them as family.

Yes, the rooms are a bit small, but this is the trade off for staying in a luxury hotel set among Amsterdam's charming canal houses. Otherwise, the rooms and bathrooms are first rate. The hotel's location is perfect if you want to immerse yourself in life along the Amsterdam canals. It is one block from the Anne Frank House and various options for touring the canals (e.g., personal electric boats). The hotel is not as convenient if you want to step out of your hotel and immediately be at the entrance to the main art museums.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2011

My first return visit to Amsterdam in 30yrs was a truly memorable one from the minute we entered The Pulitzer. We booked an Executive room for the extra room and the front desk quickly explained that really no rooms were alike, due to the hotel being made up of a large number of canal houses. We were given a very nice room overlooking the courtyard garden, quiet, sunny, easy access to the newly opened gym and breakfast room....perfect.
Breakfast is a gourmet experience in itself. The buffet options were the best I have ever seen
and the staff throughout are slick and efficient. A drink in the bar is a must....stunning.!
A superb location, being on the same street as Anne Frank's House, right near great restaurants and boutique clothes shops.....perfect in every way.

Room Tip: Don't expect to get a room you see advertised on the web site, as most rooms are not the same, d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OzkiwiSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2011

This is the second time I have stayed here and again everything was excellent.

Courteous reception staff allowed us to store our bags as we arrived before our room was ready.
When we did get too our room it was wonderful. It was only a standard room but was perfect for our stay as we were out walking for most of our 2 days.
An excellent location just away from the main hustle and bustle, but close enough to walk to. This also meant that it was quiet in the evenings.
This hotel is made up of connecting townhouses so there are lots of corridors and steps but this adds to the charm.
Not the cheapest of place - but you do get what you pay for. Staff were superbly attentive.
Breakfast is a must - a huge range and selection and a chef on hand to cook anything else fresh.
A great hotel in a great place and well worth the money - although if it was slightly cheaper then it would be excellent.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nottingham-uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexanderVanGastel, General Manager at Hotel Pulitzer Amsterdam, responded to this review, November 9, 2011
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences on Trip Advisor. It is good to hear you enjoyed the breakfast so much! I hope we may welcome you in our lovely hotel in the near future.

With warm regards,

Alex van Gastel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Dylan
The Dylan
#21 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 504 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#18 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#4 of 364 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 547 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#1 of 364 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 2,280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Pulitzer Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pulitzer Amsterdam

Property: Hotel Pulitzer Amsterdam
Address: Keizersgracht 224, 1016 GZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Hotel Pulitzer, a Luxury Collection Hotel)
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#34 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#38 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#39 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Pulitzer Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming downtown hotel comprising 24 restored 17th- & 18th-century canal houses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Pulitzer Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Pulitzer a Luxury Collection
Pulitzer Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing