We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book a Stay + Win a Getaway Book your hotel on TripAdvisor and you could win a great trip!

“Beautiful Garden, Interesting House” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Willet-Holthuysen Museum

Willet-Holthuysen Museum
Book In Advance
and up
Admission Ticket to Museum Willet-Holthuysen in Amsterdam
Ranked #51 of 462 things to do in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Visitors can tour this 17th-century canal-side house in Amsterdam, which is filled with furnished period rooms and works of art that were donated by the owner Louisa Willet-Holthuysen to the city in 1895.
Finger Lakes, New York
Level Contributor
289 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Beautiful Garden, Interesting House”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

Nearing the end of the day, we wanted a quick museum tour along with actually getting into a canal house. This satisfied our need. The garden behind the canal house was a wonderful surprise. Although small, it really was very diverse and beautifully manicured. The inside highlighted artwork and antiques, and was less about the architecture of the house. Only the lower level and two floors above were open to view. I was hoping to see the entire house. Funding limits what is available, which is too bad. Interesting visit though.

Visited September 2013
Thank Tommy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

385 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
219 reviews
73 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Don't Mess with the House”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013

This wide house on Herengracht with its beautiful garden is a gem, with wide stairway and period furnishings. However, there was a ludicrous exhibit of lace as body decoration (I never quite figured it out) that got in the way of everything. It was as if Lady Gaga was the opener for a Mozart Concert.

I had a Museumkart, so didn't pay separately - or I would have felt cheated.

Visited September 2013
Thank kehoedds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
714 reviews
547 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 575 helpful votes
“Glimpse of a glamorous past”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013

It is an intriguing and unique opportunity to view a splendid house as it was at its grandest. And it has one of the best addresses of the time, being situated on the Herengracht.

We began in the lovely and surprisingly large formal gardens. On the way we passed through the kitchens and also saw the side kitchen where less pleasant jobs such as preparing fish were done.

Some gorgeous rooms are on view. Highlights are the ballroom and the Blue Room. There are numerous paintings including those of previous owners. The staircases are ornate with a luxurious carpet.

Visited July 2013
1 Thank permia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
119 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Good audio guides”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

The tour starts with a very good video presentation about how the development of Amsterdam as a city and how the house came to be. It explains why Amsterdam streets on the canal ring are so well laid out - urban planning on a massive scale.
Parts of the house are stunning, particularly the Blue Room, staircase and rooms overlooking the gardens (also pretty good). It is worth spending an exta ?2 on the audio guide - this really explains how the house functioned.

Thank RMS1974
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
331 reviews
127 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 257 helpful votes
“Good insight into life of wealthy Amsterdam residents”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

We visited the museum last week after having been to the Our lord in the attic museum on a rainy day and receiving a money off voucher for the Willett-Holthuysen museum, as the rain wasn't showing any signs of letting up we decided to go. In contrast to our lord in the attic which gave us a good look at the life of both relatively well off people and more simple living priests this was a no holds barred unashamedly luxurious residence. We did not opt for the audio tour as this was at extra cost but had we done it would have solved the problem of arguing over what the many objects in the kitchen were used for! The garden is simply beautiful and such a suprise being right in the middle of Amsterdam, I enjoyed the many rooms and in articular the kitchen and bedrooms but would have also liked to have seen the way that the servants had lived. All in all a good insight into the lives of the rich in Amsterdam, worth a look on a rainy day.

Visited August 2013
Thank monkeychops181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Willet-Holthuysen Museum also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province

Been to Willet-Holthuysen Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing