We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect location”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Dam Square

Dam Square
Book In Advance
More Info
$19.91*
and up
1-Hour Amsterdam Guided Bike Tour
Ranked #38 of 501 things to do in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: All roads lead to Dam Square, the real heart of Amsterdam, where The Royal Palace, the Nieuwe Kerk and the War Memorial overlook this vast and bustling open space.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

We stayed in a hotel right on Dam Square, has everything you could ask for, street performers were a bit creepy at times but on the whole a lovely place to visit!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Debstrang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8,515 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,974
    3,156
    1,891
    368
    126
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Fantastic place, plenty to see and do.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2013

We recently visited Amsterdam for the first time and wasn't too sure on our navigation skills throughout the city.

Dam square was a big landmark for us, we went there almost every day, for us it became the centrepiece of the city. The roads that branched off were full of exciting shops and places. There is plenty of food choice about.

The people are very nice, lots of tourists gather here.

The monument just the other side of the road is fantastic and worthy for a few pictures of you and your friends/family.

I recommend giving Dam square a visit when you go to Amsterdam, it's a wonderful place and I imagine it to be even better when it's summertime.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Nathan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
542 reviews
272 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 296 helpful votes
“Try to walk through on your way to another destination”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2013

While this was not one of the highlights of my trip, it was hard to miss being so well located. I was able to walk through it on my way to another attraction. The square is in the middle of several buildings including the royal palace, Madame Tussad's, etc...

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Kat0425
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Busy Dam Square”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2013

You must go to Dam square when in Amsterdam, its busy & a very central place. Reminded me of trafalgar square with the pigeons there.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Nigat Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
40 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“You are "damned" if you haven't been to the Dam Sqaure”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2013

Barely half a Kilometer from the Central Station is Dam Sqaure. ( A must see location in Amsterdam ). It has some remarkable buildings around it. Noteably the Royal Palace , Madame Tussaud's Wax Museum , Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky and the department store "De Bijenkorf " and also the National Monument. This place is always crowded with tourists & generates a lot of +ve energy.Nice place to click photographs.

This is similar , in a way , to Trafalgar Sqaure in London . You get to see lots and lots of pigeons and those interested in birds feed them. Tis is the place where lots of fun events take place and if you are lucky might witness the "Funfare "

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank GOUTOMC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dam Square also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Dam Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing