We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Museum”
Review of Rijksmuseum

Rijksmuseum
Book In Advance
More Info
$34.18*
and up
Amsterdam Canal Cruise and Skip The Line Rijksmuseum
Ranked #1 of 509 things to do in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: The Rijksmuseum is the museum of the Netherlands. The completely renovated Rijksmuseum tells the story of the Netherlands from the Middle Ages to the 20th century. Including works by Rembrandt, Vermeer, Frans Hals, and more! Most famous is Rembrandt's masterpiece the Night Watch. A new display of the collection, a renewed building, new public facilities, a revamped garden and a new Asian Pavilion. Open daily from 9 am to 5 pm.
Yogyakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Excellent Museum”
Reviewed January 24, 2014

I'm very lucky, I can visit this museum after under renovation for years. What I like on this museum is the Rembrants collections especially The Night Watch. Easy to reach and not far from Amsterdam Central. You can take photos inside.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank EmyEmyEmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31,429 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20,655
    8,351
    1,940
    348
    135
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
113 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A must see”
Reviewed January 23, 2014

As with most museums we lost track of time. The sun was up when we went in, but down when we came out. There are some interesting pieces inside. The rooms are time period themes, so if you are short on time, locate the rooms with styles you want to ensure you see first. There is an I Amsterdam sign behind the museum. It's a great place to take pictures.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Renee R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
84 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Lots to See; Not Enough Time”
Reviewed January 23, 2014

This museum has a lot to see. Wide variety of artefacts through the ages. It is a lot to take in!

What I liked most were the art pieces. Good selection of art by the Dutch masters.

The cafe was a little disappointing as the food selection is very limited. As one needs a whole day to be able to see everything in the Museum, we would need to eat in the Cafe. Only cold food available and limited variety.

Great gift shop.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank MunkyMama68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
Reviewed January 23, 2014

Many things to see, gives you an idea about Dutch history. Be sure to allow at least 3 hours for this visit!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Valentine_Greece
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fife
Level Contributor
42 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Fab museum”
Reviewed January 23, 2014

Wonderful pictures stunning building fab facilities lovely and clean you could be there for hours there was a café too but it was very busy when we were there

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank valleyblueblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rijksmuseum also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Rijksmuseum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing