We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
  
Ways to Experience Rijksmuseum
from $20.20
More Info
from $63.60
More Info
from $24.30
More Info
Reviews (40,760)
Filter reviews
24,002 results
Traveler rating
16,532
5,749
1,360
251
110
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
16,532
5,749
1,360
251
110
Show reviews that mention
All reviews night watch dutch masters old masters huge museum great museum national museum beautiful building works of art famous paintings on display audio guide art lovers van gogh museum few hours take your time in advance on line
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 24,002 reviews
Reviewed yesterday

We did not get to see the entire museum, due to limitations of time. I wish we could have. A fantastic museum.

Thank Sherry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed yesterday

The outside of the Museum and the grounds beyond are works of art in themselves. The Museum is excellent although much of it comprises superb paintings of the Dutch masters - and the very large dolls houses are exquisite. One could spend all day there and still need to visit again!

Thank hisreverence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 days ago

Good collection of jems. Nightwarch is definitely something a visitor should not miss. Highly recommended.

Thank AliceOmlet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile

Such a massive museum. Full of everything!!

Would say there's easily enough to see spread over two days.

We used our IAmsterdam cards to get in for free which was fantastic. No queue or anything.

Like most museums bags must be checked in. A very easy process though.

All the staff we met were very friendly and the shop was good also!

Would HIGHLY recommend!

Thank amyhI9393TB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 days ago

one of the best museums we have ever visited. precious piece of art. Especially Rembrandt collection was remarkable.

Thank sterimar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile

Ya gotta do it—period.

Incredible collection of Dutch masters....and more. Building itself is a treasure. You’re here—don’t miss it.

Thank drbobstern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 days ago

Your very first stop- one of the truly great art collections in the world. Was just there for maybe the 10th time- and it never ceases to amaze

1  Thank FrustratedTravelor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 days ago

Nice setup and save the Hall of Fame with the large Rembrandt "The Nights Watch" for last! That's where all of the "greats" reside. Also, purchased tickets through our hotel for a slight discount. No lines to wait here.

1  Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 days ago

I didn't realize the Rijksmusuem is the Netherlands' national museum because it is so famous for its Dutch Golden Age paintings by Vermeer, Rembrandt, Hals, and Steen. It has much more to see other than art, including a sailing vessel and dollhouses.

The highlight, however, is still Rembrandt's "Night Watch" and the Gallery of Honor, which leads up to the Rembrandt. Be warned that Vermeer's "Milkmaid" is "on vacation" in Tokyo for a few months at an exhibition.

The Rembrandts, like his "Jewish Bride," in the Gallery of Honor are his later works with looser brush strokes. His early work is in another gallery, which you should not miss.

Took the Highlights Tour at 11:00am, and it was excellent. The guide explained how the building has been renovated in the last ten years or so to restore it to its grander appearance. I recall not liking the museum as much twenty years ago as I did this trip.

The only drawback for me was the cafe at the entrance. The service was very bad. But don't let this negative keep you from visiting this wonderful museum.

1  Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 days ago

With limited time available, we visited just the main halls. The Night Watch is really an exceptional piece, but this Museum offers much more to see.

1  Thank 34majam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews