We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Must-see, small though”
Review of Rijksmuseum

Rijksmuseum
Book In Advance
More Info
$34.22*
and up
Amsterdam Canal Cruise and Skip The Line Rijksmuseum
Ranked #1 of 502 things to do in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: The Rijksmuseum is the museum of the Netherlands. The completely renovated Rijksmuseum tells the story of the Netherlands from the Middle Ages to the 20th century. Including works by Rembrandt, Vermeer, Frans Hals, and more! Most famous is Rembrandt's masterpiece the Night Watch. A new display of the collection, a renewed building, new public facilities, a revamped garden and a new Asian Pavilion. Open daily from 9 am to 5 pm.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
52 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Must-see, small though”
Reviewed October 6, 2012

This museum is one of the must-sees in Amsterdam. I liked what I saw (esp. The Nightwatch!), but... it's so small! After Louvre in Paris or the Hermitage in St. Petersburg, Rijkmuseum is more like a private collection :) The queue was long when I visited in January. Funny, but true - to observe all the items, it took me about the same time that I spent queuing outside. Anyways, be sure to visit it when you're in A-dam!

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank dg_the_muse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30,641 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20,098
    8,165
    1,900
    345
    133
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great museum - definitely worth a visit!”
Reviewed October 5, 2012

The paintings and artwork were gorgeous and very well presented. It's a perfectly-sized museum in the way that you get to see a lot but there's just the right amount so you're not exhausted after your visit (think - the British Museum or the Louvre!) and you're left with plenty of energy to continue cycling the city! We saw everything in about 2 hours. Definitely worth the visit!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Heather T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Michigan
Level Contributor
86 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Rijksmuseum -wonderful sights to behold!”
Reviewed October 4, 2012 via mobile

While in Amsterdam, this was one of the sights we didn't want to miss! I loved seeing all the famous paintings I've only seen in prints or in books. It was a real cultural experience!

Helpful?
1 Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SGF, MO
Level Contributor
246 reviews
114 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 368 helpful votes
“Fanststic when paired with the Van Gogh Museum”
Reviewed October 2, 2012

The Rijksmuseum was under renovation when we visited but what was available was well worth the effort and expense. I wasn't a huge fan of the Dutch Masters but after viewing their artwork up closing, their abilities were nothing less than amazing. The photographic-like quality of the images were astounding and you found yourself defied to even find a visible brushstroke on most of the work.
Nearby at Museumplein is the Van Gogh Museum whose Impressionist displays are both a complete contrast and compliment to the Masters at the Rijksmuseum where one can readily see their influence. Both museums can easily be done in one day although the Van Gogh Museum is temporarily moving their inventory to The Hermitage to begin undergoing its own renovation.
In my opinion, the Rijksmuseum is an attraction that shouldn't be missed when in Amsterdam even if museums aren't really your thing. Do yourself a favor and take it all in.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank ShowMeVegas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A Must See Attraction”
Reviewed October 2, 2012

Perhaps one of the most outstanding museums in Amsterdam THE RIJKS is a must see attraction to any visitor willing to enjoy the great Dutch painters ever. The great " Night Watch" is maybe one of the most visited and appreciated masterpieces. A great furniture collection is also available to be seen. Although one of the most expensive Museum tickets ( 14 euros) it´s worth visiting, not only for its art collection but also for its surroundings. There´s an awesome green lawn in front of the museums, where you can rest and see life pass by in a overwhelming atmosphere. There´s room for improvement though. They don´t have a food court like other museums.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank joaommoita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rijksmuseum also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Rijksmuseum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing