We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay”
Review of Bees B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bees B&B
Ranked #10 of 328 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Lake Worth, Florida
Level Contributor
37 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Great stay”
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Beautiful room in 1700 house, Hans and Bridgette are terrific, stocked the fridge with delicious cold cuts, beer, etc. breakfast was delicious, location is ideal. Bed is super cozy. Loved Bar Brandon and Portole Via pizza next door, great spot! Do have to mention if staying in the near future, building is under renovation, and it is loud starting early in the morning. Not a problem for us, as we are up to explore, but may be if you plan on sleeping in-

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jetrun4327
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brigitte L, Owner at Bees B&B, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Hello Stefanie & Aaron,

Thanks very much for your very kind and positive review. We are very pleased that you had a great stay and loved the location! We are very sorry indeed for the noise in the morning and luckily it was not a problem for you. The main cause at the time being the renovation of our upstairs neighbour’s bathroom – which we are very pleased to say is finished already. The other cause was maintenance work of the building next door, which is also nearing completion in the next couple of weeks. So any visitors after that need not worry about building noise any more! Anyway, thanks again for your kind review – (Brigitte, Bees B&B).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    218
    19
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
190
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 29, 2013

We stayed at Bees B&B for 3 nights in September to celebrate our mini-moon. I chose Bees based on the positive trip advisor reviews and we weren't disappointed. The studio is based in a typical dutch style house alongside Leliegracht canal, the location was perfect for us, next to the Jordaan and only a 5 minute walk from Dam Square. We received a friendly welcome from Hans who showed us how to use the Tv/ shower etc and also took us through the various city areas on a handy map.

There was some construction work during our stay and Hans/Brigitte kindly left an apologetic note and ear plugs for us, however the work didn't really impact on our trip as we were out and about fairly early and the bed was so comfortable that we didn't have any trouble sleeping.

The studio itself was extremely clean and welcoming with a number of little touches such as a fridge stocked with snacks (ham, cheese, beer) and also Amsterdam guide books which we used to plan our day trips. Hans & Brigitte provided a substantial breakfast each morning with fresh fruit, homemade bread and a lovely boiled egg!

We would highly recommend Bees for anybody wanting a relaxing break with a touch of Dutch hospitality and value for money.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laws0072013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 25, 2013

As a couple on a weekend adventure this area of Amsterdam was perfect for us. Located alongside a pretty canal somewhere between the cobbled streets of Jordaan and the city center. Only a short walk north west takes you into the heart of Jordaan where you will find curious little shops selling bric a brac, antiques and trinkets nestled between a wide variety of bars cafes and restaurants. Just 5 mins to the east will take you to the bustling city center.
The room itself has been tastefully decorated with luxurious fittings and comfortable furniture. On arrival the fridge had been stocked with good quality cheese, ham and salami, butter, milk and yoghurts along with a couple of cold beers (a nice unexpected touch). Hans put together a wonderful breakfast which was left outside the room in the morning at our chosen time. Warm bread rolls, croissants, fresh fruit salad and a couple of boiled eggs. The cupboard had plenty of tea, coffee and jam. This delightful breakfast saw us through the day where all we needed at lunchtime was a coffee and a hot waffle from one of the many cafes. Another nice touch from the hosts was the discount card available to use which will save you on many of the attractions Amsterdam has to offer. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would happily recommend Bees B&B to anyone who wants to explore this fascinating city. Thanks Brigitte and Hans, we hope to return sometime soon.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anthony G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 22, 2013

All the excellent reviews that we read prior to coming this B&B in Amsterdam were affirmed during our 4-day stay with Brigitte and Hans. Our room was absolutely beautiful with a canopy bed, heated bathroom floor and a great shower and accented with blooming orchids. Every possible need for comfort, convenience, sightseeing and leisure was provided. The breakfasts were wonderful, complete with fresh cut fruit and freshly squeezed orange juice, a variety of freshly baked rolls and eggs every morning added to the well stocked fridge and cupboard which included cold meat, cheese, yogurt, cereal and all kinds of beverages.

The central location in the Jordaan District allowed us to walk to many of the significant sites. It is just around the corner from the Anne Frank House (buy your timed tickets before you arrive) as well as being a short walk to Dam Square. Canal buses were also very near by.

We certainly enjoyed the hospitality and kindness of our hosts who provided discount attraction passes along with an informative map and explanation of the city. We would recommend this B&B to anyone wanting to spend time in Amsterdam and look forward to a possible return.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian-Lois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2013

I stayed here with a friend for three nights in September 2013. Even from before our arrival, I knew I had made the right choice. Communication from Brigitte was quick and comprehensive, with all the information you could want and more. The hospitality from both Hans and Brigitte were second to none. We were welcomed into their lovely home for coffee and a chat, and were provided with a city map on which Hans marked out places of interest according to our tastes. During our morning walk, the room was prepared (there were guests checking out when we arrived) and Hans sent a SMS when it was ready. It was excellent. Spotlessly clean, comfy beds, a fab wet room, and a fridge with cold meats, cheese, juice, milk, yoghurt and beer. Breakfast of fresh fruit, bread rolls, croissants and eggs left outside our door each morning was delicious. The location was spot on, and it really helped to make our trip an enjoyable experience. All in all, I could not recommend Bees B&B highly enough, and we would like to thank Hans and Brigitte for providing such brilliant accommodation in the heart of their beautiful city. We hope to see them again soon. Dave and Nick. And for those who do not understand the title of this review... The phrase was first recorded in the late 18th century...Its current meaning dates from the 1920s, at which time a whole collection of American slang expressions were coined with the meaning 'an outstanding person or thing'.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DavidTBirchall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2013

As I am from Texas, I can honestly say that Hans and Bridgitte were excellent hosts. My friend and I arrived very late in the evening, however we were still greted with smiles and a warm welcome. We were given alot of information about things to do in the area. The house is in such an excellent location you can just about walk anywhere. The breakfast was delicious and plentiful, consisting of eggs, bacon, rolls, yogurt, fresh fruit, fresh juice,cold cuts, and cheese. The beds were also very comfortable, and they were able to turn the king bed into two twins which was very nice and much appreciated. . I would definitly recommend this B&B to anyone passing thru.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank briebw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013

My wife and I stayed six nights and what a pleasure it was. Hans and Brigitte were the best hosts one could ask for. We felt welcomed as soon as we arrived and throughout our stay. The breakfast was excellent as well as the goodies in the fridge. What thoughtful people they are. Any experienced traveler will notice the attention to detail in the room. We agree with all the other wonderful reviews for this Amsterdam treasure! Highly recommended !

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hank G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#2 of 366 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,512 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Pulitzer Amsterdam
Pulitzer Amsterdam
#9 of 366 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 518 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#15 of 366 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,007 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Sebastian's
Hotel Sebastian's
#5 of 366 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,356 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#4 of 366 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 911 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Clemens Hotel
Clemens Hotel
#24 of 366 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 963 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bees B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bees B&B

Property: Bees B&B
Address: B Leliegracht 30 | 1015 DG, 1015 DG Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 328 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bees B&B is located in a canal house from 1700 in the heart of Amsterdam, on the edge of the popular Jordaan area, on one of the most romantic canals of Amsterdam: Leliegracht. Dam Square, Anne Frank House and the 'Nine Streets' shopping area are at your doorstep. Central Station, the Red Light district and all major tourist attractions are within easy walking (or cycling) distance or just a short trip by public transport away! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Bees B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing