We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Funky, modern hotel - great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Conscious Hotel Vondelpark

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Conscious Hotel Vondelpark to your Saves list
Conscious Hotel Vondelpark
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Overtoom 519 - 521, 1054 LH Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Vondelpark)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #97 of 363 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Funky, modern hotel - great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights with my boyfriend last May. The hotel is brand new, very modern and clean. Cozy lobby with bar and friendly staff. The structure of the hotel is somewhat odd and our room was in the back tower, which can only be reached through a covered tunnel/walk-way. Slightly inconvenient, but worth the peace and quiet (far from street noise) The room was furnished very basically, in a somewhat minimalist style. Brand new bathroom with a really cool walk-in shower. Comfortable bed and nice bed-side lamps.

Breakfast was slightly pricey, but good. All organic food as far as I can remember. The whole theme of the hotel is eco-friendly. They had a nice service of renting out bikes to guests. The bikes were brand new, with very uncomfortable seats and no gears. If you're planning on biking a lot, you might want to consider getting something a little bit more fancy elsewhere.

Best part was the location. Great street (Overtoom), with plenty of shops and restaurants along the way. Tram stop directly in front of the door and the gorgeous Vondelpark is directly behind the hotel! Fantastic pizza place a few doors down from the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PurpleTears
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,020 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    363
    452
    137
    46
    22
See reviews for
78
522
62
115
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
103 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

When we arrived I saw several airplanes flying very low close to the hotel so I though our stay would be a disaster due to the noise. I was wrong. The staff on reception told me this was unusual, and accepted not to charge me the total stay in case I wanted to cancel the rest of the booked nights, this was very kind and no other hotel usually accepts it. The soundproof was good and the airplanes didn't pass too many times anymore.
The overall impression about the hotel is strange, they advertise a bit too much about their "green" policy, but It think this is not the most important part for most travelers.
The location is excellent, right in front of a Tram stop. The rooms are not big but not too small, with comfortable beds and basic furniture (a table, two chairs and two bedtables), I would have needed a desk, as it was advertised in the premium room I booked, but there wasn't. Rooms and common places are clean and the bathroom, with just a shower, was big enough and clean. The overall decoration of the hotel is too dark, all the corridors painted in black and the rooms in white, not practical, as the paint is already spoilt and full of stains in most areas.
The staff is really friendly, attentive, very helpfull, with no exception, it was a pleasure to talk to them and the best of the hotel.
It was unusual that we could have a coffe and some sweets instead of the standard breakfast, as the bar-cafeteria was open 24 hours. This was very good for people who breakfast very little and paying the whole continental breakfast is not worth it. This is the first hotel that offers this alternative, most places I have visited they force you to their breakfast--as the bar is closed till they finish--or you have to go out and look for a cafeteria. The bar, however doesn't have too many choices, but the quality is good.
Other guests complain about the way to communicate both buildings, but it is well indicated and sort of fun to go through all the corridors and lift till our room, not a problem at all.
The parking was good but not enugh watched; maybe in Holland the rate of crime is low, but comming from Spain we were a bit concerned about the security of our car, when the parking door was remaining open for very long.
I think the hotel can improve substancially by changing the color of the walls, I am a doctor in Psychology and I know the strong incluence of this detail.The TV is also a bit small in comparison with most hotels nowadays.
In general our stay was quite pleasant and we would go back again if we travel to Amsterdam.

Room Tip: Windows are good and quite soundproof, but we were in the second building at the back, I am not sure...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MARTHA91256
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincolnshire
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

Nice affordable hotel with pleasent staff. Wonderful location for the main park (Vondelpark) aspecially when the weather is kind to you. The trams are 10 years from the hotel entrance. Be sure to listen carefully when they advise the route to the room as it can be challenging if you have a room in what the hotel term B block!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CyPe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
62 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

You'll be surprised with this hotel. This is the proof that we can have the same comfort spending less natural resources. Very nice and relaxed staff. Tasty breakfast, with all you need. The bed itself is WOW! Very very confy! The decoration is minimalist, very clean. The bathroom is somewhat tech, because it spends much less water than a regular one. A little bit "out" of downtown, but you'll find IN THE VERY FRONT of the hotel a tramway station. Volndelpark is by walking distance. Finally, price quality ratio is very nice!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LMVoyageur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

I enjoyed my stay in the Conscious hotel. The staff was friendly. The bike rental is a good service and the location close to the Vondelpark. is perfect. Breakfast is simple.
Gluten-free is only at request available. The rooms are clean, and very noiseless for a hotel in the middle of Amsterdam.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Renate V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

I stayed at the Conscious Hotel Vondelpark two weeks ago. I have to tell that overall my stay was really pleasant. The hotel is urban, cozy and eco-friendly. The breakfast was great. Really liked the organic foods. And the bar had some drinks too. The rooms were nice and clean. Also there was a tram stop right in front of the door and it takes only few minutes to get to the city. I was also impressed how easy it was to get to the hotel from the airport. Definitely a great place to stay during your visit to Amsterdam.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank terohelsinki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

Service at the desk was super friendly and relaxed, we felt welcome right away. The room was good, and had very funny explanations of the different eco-friendly elements. The breakfast was fantastic. The hotel is right next to the Vondelpark, which makes it quiet and allows for a nice stroll towards the Leidseplein. There is also a tram stop right in front of the hotel if you are a bit more lazy or in a hurry.

We will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travellers283132
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Conscious Hotel Museum Square
Conscious Hotel Museum Square
#88 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 800 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel The Neighbour's Magnolia
Vondelpark
Hotel Apple Inn
Hotel Apple Inn
#82 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vondelpark
Hotel Esspresso
Hotel Esspresso
#94 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 684 reviews
Amsterdam Tropen Hotel
#128 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 623 reviews
Vondelpark
Park Plaza Vondelpark, Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Conscious Hotel Vondelpark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Conscious Hotel Vondelpark

Property: Conscious Hotel Vondelpark
Address: Overtoom 519 - 521, 1054 LH Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Vondelpark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #97 of 363 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Conscious Hotel Vondelpark 3*
Number of rooms: 81
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Conscious Hotel Vondelpark reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing