We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nh galaxy amsterdam”
Review of NH Amsterdam Noord

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
NH Amsterdam Noord
Ranked #83 of 374 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed April 3, 2014

The hotel staff was very kind and helpfull. The hotel was situated in a quiet area and a shuttle brought us for free to the center of the city.
Breakfast was OK. The rooms were clean and the beds were comfortable.




  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with NH Hotels
Thank Rita D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (681)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

219 - 225 of 681 reviews

Reviewed March 28, 2014

Bar closes before 23.00, so ABSOLUTELY NO ATMOSPHERE.
This hotel is made for airlines, and should only be used by the airlines. They have top priority, but normal travelers like me do not get any service.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with NH Hotels
1  Thank claus12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2014 via mobile

Just got back from a stay at this lovely hotel. Arrived to a really friendly welcome and free car parking right outside the door which is hard to find in Amsterdam. Hotel staff on reception were really helpful and offered for us to upgrade to a bigger and better room for €10 a night and was really worth it as bed was huge! Room was modern looking and has all we need plus more in it. Bbc 1 and 2 on tv and a lot of know sky channels in English with Dutch subtitles. StAyed in first night and found a lovely little pizza and steal place across the road which does great cheap food! Amazing sleep done and the best breakfast ever in the morning we then went Into city on free shuttle. Runs every 15 to 20 mins depending on traffic and was great perk! I would really recommend this hotel as u can have the city life but still get out when u want to as well! Thanks for lovely stay :)

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Trionakemp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NHGalaxy, General Manager at NH Amsterdam Noord, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2014

Dear Sir/ Madam,

thank you for your wonderful words about our hotel and our neighbour restaurant. We will be sure to pass on your kind words to our staff and the entrepeneur of the restaurant.

Hope to see you again in an NH Hotel!

Kind regards,

Dagmar Daniels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2014

Combining the quiet of a residential area with quick and easy access to the heart of the city, the location is great for those who already know Amsterdam fairly well and prefer to be able to choose when they want to be in the thick of it and when they don't. Those seeking constant excitement just outside their hotel front door, or glitzy interior design and decoration, should choose a different hotel. If you do go, don't just jump in the excellent shuttle every time you want to go out. There are some intriguing, affordable neighborhood restaurants in the area that cater to locals. And if, like me, you love film, there's no better location to be within easy walking distance of the excellent EYE Film Institute.

Room Tip: Rooms with numbers ending in 44 are the largest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank x x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NHGalaxy, General Manager at NH Amsterdam Noord, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2014

Dear mr. XX,

thank you for your kind words on NH Galaxy, indeed the EYE institute is really worth a visit. I really look forward to your next visit to our hotel, and I really hope to talk to you again then.

Kind regards,

Dagmar Daniels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2014

It was really nice stay there! I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone. Staff was very friendly, the room was really fresh and clean(there is a 150 euro penalty if you smoke inside the room) which means you can be sure its fresh and smell free. I have to mention the free shuttle to city center which is running every 15 min. up to late night(last one 24:15) TV with few English channels(DVD player also available) you can get your breakfast delivered to your room and set the time of delivery(food variety is quite big) Now once you check out(check out by 12) you can still leave your car parked over there and use the free shuttle for the whole day which is great.
Overall a really nice stay, friendly, professional, well good!
Peter

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Peter J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NHGalaxy, General Manager at NH Amsterdam Noord, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2014

Dear Peter,

thank you for your nice review about our hotel and staff. I will be happy to pass on your thanks to the staff.
We hope to see you again in an NH Hotel!

Kind regards.

Dagmar Daniels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2014

I booked 5 non smoking rooms which were all on the first floor. As soon as the elevator doors opened there was a thick stench of smoke and was equally bad in our rooms. My eyes were watering from the smoke and all the towels in the bathroom equally smelt.

In terms of the bathroom it was nice and modern but wasn't clean as there was dark hair found in the bath which i knew wasn't mine as i'm blonde.

Hotel staff were not particularly friendly and all in all i was relieved to be only staying one night.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stephanie02031983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2014

The hotel is comfortable, rooms tend to be small, but the staff is excellent. Can definitely recommend Vincent. Shuttle to downtown Amsterdam is very convenient. The food in house is quite good, and reasonable.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Bastion Hotel Amsterdam Noord
#224 of 374 in Amsterdam
444 reviews
Bastion Hotel Amsterdam Amstel
#242 of 374 in Amsterdam
637 reviews
New West Inn Amsterdam
#166 of 374 in Amsterdam
1,104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Campanile Amsterdam
#200 of 374 in Amsterdam
365 reviews
XO Hotels Couture
#43 of 374 in Amsterdam
1,936 reviews
Eastern Docklands (Oostelijk Havengebied)
Lloyd Hotel & Cultural Embassy
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NH Amsterdam Noord? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Amsterdam Noord

Address: Distelkade 21, 1031 XP Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly NH Galaxy)
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#28 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
#56 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#65 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#68 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#72 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: $93 - $265 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Amsterdam Noord 4*
Number of rooms: 290
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The four-star NH Amsterdam Noord hotel in Amsterdam boasts 290 newly renovated rooms, all with modern facilities and air-conditioning. Located in northern Amsterdam, The hotel encompasses a large parking lot with 150 spaces, and offers complimentary shuttle service to the city center day and evening. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Splitty, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your NH Amsterdam Noord reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Galaxy Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing