We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of NH Amsterdam Noord

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
NH Amsterdam Noord
Ranked #88 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
essex
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Good hotel!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2013

I was very happy with the Galaxy!
I wasn't bothered that its not in the city center as the shuttle bus makes it so easy to get to the centre. We never had to wait more than 10 mins for the bus.
The main reason we choose the galaxy was because we wanted a smoking hotel.We had a standard room on the second floor which had a huge balcony.
Rooms were very spacious and clean and had everything you could want, Tea/coffee making facilities, tv, iron and ironing board, fridge, hair dryer.
The staff were all very friendly and helpful. The free apples were a bonus!
The majority of people staying here work for a american airlines.
My other half has visited Amsterdam on a number of occasions and has said that he will always stay in the galaxy now.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kelly o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

643 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    228
    281
    92
    21
    21
See reviews for
65
316
16
112
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2013 via mobile

Old hotel but updated with modern features. The room was decorated in modern ikea style, which i personally do not like. Too stark and cold and not the least bit cozy. The floors are hardwood, which makes me feel good about the cleanliness, but it just ads to the coldness. The beds are too low to the ground and uncomfortable. The shuttle to city center is great ,or you can walk to the ferry. They also have rental bikes and a nice market and some restaurants across street. I wouldnt feel safe walking around there by myself at night.

Helpful?
1 Thank iliketravel67
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2013

We were driving into Amsterdam and wanted to avoid the city center. This hotel was perfect. Secure parking lot for our car and awesome shuttle service right into the heart of the city. The room was large and very clean and the staff friendly. There is a great bar with happy hour and nice restaurant as well.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Azwyldkat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeville, Minnesota
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2013

I had a recent 3 day stay here and thought everything about the place was great. Everyone of the staff that we came across was extremely helpful. The location is a few miles from the center of the city, but with regular shuttle service it wasn't a problem at all.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Zatcer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013

The hotel is great, friendly helpful staff. We were upgraded at a reduced rate to a superior double room, so spacious and modern, clean, couldn't ask for more. The shuttle bus runs into the centre every 15 mins or sooner if you need it, driver was helpful. Highly recommend staying here, close to everything within walking distance.

Room Tip: Superior rooms worth paying the little extra for, very spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shez72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
325 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 197 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2013

We recently stayed in the Galaxy for a quick 2 night stay to see Amsterdam. The hotel was excellent and the staff was even better. All of our needs for a hotel were met and the staff was so accomodating they really made us want to stay longer. They are in a great location and even have a great English style pub in the hotel for entertainment at night. We had a great time and I would highly recommend staying here - we'll be back!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ryan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013

The hotel was great. Very clean and modern. The staff we very knowledgeable and helpful. The Shuttle allowed easy access to downtown area and was very convenient. I especially enjoyed the bar and happy hour specials. March Madness was playing on the big screen and allowed for some relaxation during my busy day of sightseeing.

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Andy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Bastion Hotel Amsterdam Noord
#194 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 374 reviews
New West Inn Amsterdam
#163 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 983 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Campanile Amsterdam
#212 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
Bastion Hotel Amsterdam Amstel
#232 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 bubbles 542 reviews
Stadsdeel Zuid
NH Amsterdam Zuid
NH Amsterdam Zuid
#126 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NH Amsterdam Noord? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Amsterdam Noord

Property: NH Amsterdam Noord
Address: Distelkade 21, 1031 XP Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly NH Galaxy)
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#60 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#65 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#68 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#72 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Amsterdam Noord 4*
Number of rooms: 290
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The four-star NH Amsterdam Noord hotel in Amsterdam boasts 290 newly renovated rooms, all with modern facilities and air-conditioning. Located in northern Amsterdam, The hotel encompasses a large parking lot with 150 spaces, and offers complimentary shuttle service to the city center day and evening. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, NHHotels, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your NH Amsterdam Noord reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Galaxy Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing