We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome customer service, nice hotel”
Review of NH Amsterdam Noord

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
NH Amsterdam Noord
Ranked #79 of 368 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Orlando, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Awesome customer service, nice hotel”
Reviewed January 21, 2012

The N H Galaxy is a very nice hotel that is tucked away just a few miles from the downtown Amsterdam area. The staff is very friendly and helpful. They offer complimentary shuttle service into the city that drops off in front of the N H Barbazon. The drop off point is an excellent location to walk to various restaurants and all other activities that may be on your list of things to do such as tours. The rooms are very clean and very modern. They have a mini fridge in each room too. My family of four had a short stay here. We had two rooms with double beds each. The double beds are pushed together and appear a king bed, but the sheets are made up on each one as separate. It worked out fine. We would definitely stay here again! They gave a great room rate.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank flymom2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

664 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    240
    290
    92
    21
    21
See reviews for
67
329
18
114
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Merseyside, UK
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2012

This is a great hotel for anyone who wants a good quality room for a decent price but doesn't mind staying a bit out of the city centre. The rooms are nicely decorated (recently refurbished) with good facilities (DVD player, safe, fridge). Hotel facilities are good (free bag drop, free wifi and use of the computers in the lounge) with friendly staff. There is a bar and restaurant on site, we didn't use these but they looked good from the outside (happy hour in the bar from 5 to 7pm).

The location is on the north side of the IJ river so you are a bit out of things but this made the stay all the better (it is located in a quiet residential area). I've stayed in the centre of Amsterdam many times before and the noise can sometimes get a bit tiresome. There is a free hotel shuttle to the centre but we didn't use this as the 34 and 35 bus stops pretty much outside the hotel and takes about 7 mins to get to Centraal Station.

Would stay here again without hesitation.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carl_Wirral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milano
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2012

we stayed 3 nights. even if the hotel is not directly in the center the internal shuttle is very efficient and frequent. Tidy rooms. A very priceworthy solution!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marco_Cate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
n ireland
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2011

We stayed here 4 3 nites in nov. we were to stay in movenpick but thanks to easy2 book we arrived 2 find we had no reservation. found this hotel & werent we glad. fab place. we were celebrating our 1st wedding anniversary, & were upgraded to a suite with wonderful views. staff very friendly & we also got complimentary drinks sent 2 our room. The hotel isnt central but a courtesy bus leaves every 20 mins, drop of at central station. What more cud u want????? Would def stay here again and would recommend to others. Thanks for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank joshy-boo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2011

The recent remodel served this hotel very well. The decor and color scheme of the rooms are well thought out. I like the rooms in the tower My room was huge this time, however I have had smaller rooms before. Never get a smoking room (even if you smoke) they smell really bad. I like to go for a walk and catch the FREE water taxi to Central Station and wonder around Dam Square. It is nice after a busy day of sight seeing to come to a quiet part of town. The staff is ALWAYS very friendly and helpful. There are bikes you can rent from the hotel (however get your request in early on a nice day). I also like to go to the Nearby Albert Heine grocery store and stock up on great cheese. There are many ethnic choices for food near the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MichaelMinneapolis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Snellville, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2011

Just an FYI on this hotel.........I fly for a major US airline. This is mainly a crew hotel. If you're looking for something closer in or a more local feel, I would probably steer away from this one. There are several quaint cafes and shops nearby, but unless you've stayed there many times, you would think you were out in the middle of nowhere.

Room Tip: Adequate, comfortable
See more room tips
Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
Helpful?
4 Thank FlyGirlH61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napier, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2011

Having followed the instructions as per the booking agency confirmation, we found a walk described as 5 minutes in fact took 15. After checking in, we decided to go for a drink and a meal. The restaurant was in fact a bar, crowded and noisy, so decided to get room service to deliver a meal, which was very well cooked and presented. We would not recommend this hotel to a mature couple

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nickademus64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Bastion Hotel Amsterdam Noord
#211 of 368 in Amsterdam
422 reviews
Bastion Hotel Amsterdam Amstel
#244 of 368 in Amsterdam
607 reviews
New West Inn Amsterdam
#164 of 368 in Amsterdam
1,064 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Campanile Amsterdam
#214 of 368 in Amsterdam
344 reviews
Stadsdeel Zuid
NH Amsterdam Zuid
NH Amsterdam Zuid
#125 of 368 in Amsterdam
1,264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NH Amsterdam Noord? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Amsterdam Noord

Property: NH Amsterdam Noord
Address: Distelkade 21, 1031 XP Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly NH Galaxy)
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#54 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#65 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#68 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#72 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Amsterdam Noord 4*
Number of rooms: 290
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The four-star NH Amsterdam Noord hotel in Amsterdam boasts 290 newly renovated rooms, all with modern facilities and air-conditioning. Located in northern Amsterdam, The hotel encompasses a large parking lot with 150 spaces, and offers complimentary shuttle service to the city center day and evening. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, NHHotels, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your NH Amsterdam Noord reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Galaxy Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing