We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“I think this is the best meal I've ever had!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tempura

Tempura
Ranked #2,338 of 3,435 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Cuisines: Japanese, Asian, Sushi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Plantage & the East
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“I think this is the best meal I've ever had!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013 via mobile

Lovely restaurant. Traditional Japanese food - beware you have to eat with chopsticks, cutlery is not an option! Staff very friendly and welcoming and food is delicious.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Redd68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    17
    5
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
146 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Definitely not”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

Maybe I'm spoiled because my home city of Toronto has such excellent Japanese restaurants. All the same, I found Tempura to be a miserable experience. The owner was gruff to the point of rudeness and the food was ridiculously overpriced. I was made to feel unwelcome and vowed never to return. I was disappointed because it's the only Japanese restaurant that I know of in the Plantage district of Amsterdam. But the service was so terrible that I'll find something else next time. I would definitely suggest avoiding Tempura.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DRBinToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
53 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Tempura, sushi galore”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

Very popular neighborhoud Japanese style brasserie with very decent Tempura, Sushi

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank n3k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto Alegre, Brasil
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2011

The best japanese food I ate in a very long time. The squid and coqui St.Jacques sashimi were beyond description. If you like japanese food, this is the place to be. The staff don't speak very good english, and - at least for me - that's also a part of its charm.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kidids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level Contributor
42 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Very nice!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2011

Went there for dinner and was very impressed.

Recommended if you want a japanese!

  • Visited June 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Rob19822891
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tempura also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Tempura? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing