We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Crispy Duck” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mr Tongs

Mr Tongs
Ranked #2,628 of 3,328 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Cuisines: Asian, Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Stadsdeel Zuid
Francorchamps, Belgium
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Crispy Duck”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

by far the best crispy duck we ever had, service could have been better but the food is outstanding. Restaurant is situated in the busy area which is very nice. Definitely its a place where i would recommend everyone to visit.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Brian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    44
    35
    16
    33
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Burlington, Canada
Level Contributor
84 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Just Okay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Food was okay. Nothing special. Service was subpar.
We went with their special "Crispy Duck" which was overcooked, as well as a vegetarian which was also overcooked.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank D D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel
Level Contributor
60 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Average food, lousy service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Mr Tong prides itself on being a veteran restaurant founded in 1948, but you could not tell from the food or service. The food was average at best, and the service was terrible. One waitress actually told us off for placing a plate on an empty table next to us saying "it has already been cleaned". Our table was too small to hold the small number of dishes we ordered.

The "Crispy duck" they advertise was too fatty and the pancakes and other items arrived minutes after the duck itself.

Not recommended.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mogli43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broadstairs, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Amazing crispy duck and sizzling plates!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013 via mobile

Stopped here to keep our son happy as he'd seen the 'Crispy Duck our specialty" sign earlier and was desperate to try it. They weren't wrong about this as it was amazingly crispy and huge! My wife and I both had different sizzling plate deals which were big, delicious and came with a number of other things.
This is in a very touristy area but the food was excellent with friendly service and was great value. Ok their English wasn't good, but so what!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MichaelD1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guisborough, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“BEST EVER!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

This was my second visit to Mr Tong's (once last year and once this month). The food is absolutely amazing. Very very tasty. ery good service. Reasonable prices compared to our previous nights meal at a steakhouse.
I will definitely be eating here again on my next visit to Amsterdam!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mr Tongs also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Mr Tongs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing