We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm ambiance , good food”
Review of Cafe Piazza

Cafe Piazza
Ranked #97 of 3,907 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $29
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Red Light District (De Wallen)
Description: Original Italian Pizza on thin base, prepared always from fresh ingredients is one of our specialties. We also have a large selection of Italian pastas and East European specials. Everyone will find something delicious. Cafe Piazza is located in one of the most interesting places of Amsterdam, on the Nieuw Markt. It is a place often visited by the inhabitants of Amsterdam, who visit the stalls and antiques fair held Saturday on the central square, as well as tourists who are attracted by the medieval building "De Waag" located in the central part of the square as well as more than 20 cafes and coffieshops surrounding the square. Nieuw Markt is also the place that attracts all the people during the biggest Amsterdam events, such as the "Queen's Day" or "Chinese and European New Year".
Istanbul, Turkey
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Warm ambiance , good food”
Reviewed September 3, 2014

This is just one of the bazillion cafés in Amsterdam. What makes it special is that it is a very good blend of nice food, warm ambiance and friendly staff. It is not uncommon to encounter a waiter with an attitude in Amsterdam restaurants but this one is different. The waitress was into her job and in good communication with all customers.
The ambiance was also good with lovely decoration; wooden floor tiles and the bar etc. Even though i did not have the chance to sit by the window which by the way looks over a canal i still enjoyed it.
About the food, it was above Amsterdam standards but folks do not expect to have the best pizza here. It is good but that is all. I do not place it in my personal top three and if you are from a country which has a real cuisine of itself (such as France, China, Italy, Turkey etc.) then it is likely that you would not place it in your own top three either.
The verdict, would I go there again? Definitely I would.

  • Visited September 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Onur U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

611 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    367
    191
    32
    18
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tønsberg, Vestfold, Norway
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Delicious pizza!”
Reviewed September 1, 2014 via mobile

This place has amazing pizza! Warm atmosphere and welcoming staff, our waiter was just the sweetest ever! We had dinner here early in the week and came back saturday for seconds, but we were sorry to see it closed that night.

Much recomended! :D

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Cecilie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jan M, Właściciel at Cafe Piazza, responded to this review, September 2, 2014
Thank You very much for Your review. We were very pleased to hear that You liked our restaurant.
My apologize for Saturday, it was only one day that year we were closed (our anniversary) , thank You for your understanding.
Whenever You will be in Amsterdam You are always very warm welcome in Cafe Piazza.
Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poznan, Poland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“In Nieuw Amsterdam looking for a pizza?”
Reviewed August 25, 2014

Very good, freshly made pizzas, friendly owner (staff), reasonable prices, lovely 'amsterdamish' surroundings (canal, the Waag, bikes, ...)
Btw, they serve polish bigos and pierogi as well!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bajapoka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mound, Minnesota
2 reviews
“Great Food and Atmosphere!”
Reviewed August 12, 2014

We happened to stay in the apartment above the restaurant for five days on our stay in Amsterdam. We decided to eat there on our first night and ended up having dinner there or appetizers several times. My 3 teenage daughters were all over the pizza and pasta as my wife loved the salads! I thought the Tortellini and Calamari were exceptional.

I would highly recommend this restaurant to all! Agata the owner is a great person and you would really enjoy the atmosphere and service. Thanks for the great memories!!!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 14Franz08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington England
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Piazza Perfection”
Reviewed August 10, 2014

We suspect we were given 'the best table in the restaurant' (the one in the window overlooking the canal) because we boked early.... and the table location enhanced an excellent experience. Our Granddaughter had a pizza while we went for pasta dishes....Everything was delicious. Ditto for our sweets (an unusual mint variety of panacotta).
Our (Polish) waitress was lovely but when she saw our clean plates complained that she'd have to sack the backroom staff who normally did the washing-up!!
Excellent food, atmosphere and service...Our best all-round restaurant experience in Amsterdam.
Dziękuję to all the staff.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Nontouristy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Piazza also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Cafe Piazza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing