We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location in Amsterdam” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Rubens Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Rubens Bed & Breakfast
Save
You added Rubens Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
Roetersstraat 18A, 1018WD Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Plantage & the East)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #222 of 326 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Boston, Ma
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good location in Amsterdam”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

We decided to book this room because of its location and price. We enjoyed the location and the canal view from the room. We rented bikes to get around Amsterdam which worked well for us from this location.

We stayed in the smaller of the two rooms and found the room to be quite small and the decor very outdated. With a few simple upgrades to the decor including linens and towels, it could be a very nice room. The bathroom was large which was a plus. Also, the breakfast was simple and self-catering. I would probably stay here again, but I would ask to stay in the larger room that is available - we got a glimpse into it and it looked huge and much more comfortable!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cambridgecowgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

My wife, me and our 8year old son stayed here for three nights in June 2013.
The woman who runs it, Joyce, gave us the bigger unit because there was three of us and we were very happy.
Here is what we appreciated about this place.
1- spacious - this place is actually an apartment, not just a bedroom in someone's house
2- clean
3- easily accessible from Central Station by metro when we arrived with our bags
4- easy walking distance to all the city sites including Anne Frank House and Museumplein.
5- ample breakfast which we loved and packed for lunch as well.
6- Joyce provided many maps and brochures on everything!
7- lots of windows looking out over the street to watch life going by
8- grocery store around the corner and an Italian/Turkish restaurant down the street which we went to twice (and my son burned his tongue on a Spanish Pepper Pizza - not their fault, we didn't know what we were ordering)
9- Joyce was available for questions and helped us ordering a taxi because we could not make phone calls
Here's the down side.
1- no down side
I highly recommend this place

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeff G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level Contributor
35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

i stayed here in the studio for 5 nights in Amsterdam and overall, it was a pleasant experience.

with the nearest metro station Weesperplein located really nearby, the b&b was easy to find from Central Station. this is the perfect location for tourists, without having to settle for expensive and crappy hotels in rowdy neighbourhoods.

Positive:
-Clean and spacious (bathroom, open-plan kitchen+dining+ bedroom area)
-Safe, quiet neighbourhood ( "coffee"shop, restaurants, university, supermarket nearby)
-breakfast items provided everyday (bread, fruit bread, yogurt, milk, cheese, cold meats)
-friendly owner Joyce (gave us alot of useful information on arrival)
-affordable prices

Negative:
- steep narrow staircase leading up to the apartment (tourist with large bulky suitcase may face issues carrying it up)
- a few lightbulbs were not working,but that did not really bother us
- there is one double bed, a third person would have to sleep on a folded make-shift bed, which may be a little hard or uncomfy ( this b&b is perfect for two then!)
- some of the bread was moldy, did not realise until i ate half of it, which was quite a traumatic experience ( to be fair, the weather was quite humid in early June, often heavy showers and warm)

nevertheless, i would stay here again if i visit Amsterdam again!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank traveller55m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diamond Bar, California
Level Contributor
36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2012

B&B Ruben was an excellent choice in Amsterdam. B&B Ruben was located in a peaceful neighborhood three blocks from the tram and two blocks from the subway station. Joyce and Oliver made sure we had breakfast by leaving the food inside our room the night before. Our room was clean and very hospitable. I would highly recommend this Bed and Breakfast from Joyce and Oliver to anyone who wants to visit Amsterdam.

Room Tip: Lower room is quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fredito67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bologna, Italia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2012

I've been in Amsterdam for 5 days, and I strongly recommend this B&B because it really made my stay very pleasing: basically that's because Joyce and Oliver are really nice persons, very helpful for any need. Everything was really quiet, sited on a peaceful neighborhood, just 3 metro-stops away from the central station. But I didn't have to use any tram or public transport (very expensive!), even because every place of interest in Amsterdam is quite near to the B&B (Van Gogh/Rijksmuseum was just 15 minutes walk, Rembrandtplein 5 minutes, Dam square 5/10 minutes away). My room was small but really comfortable, with a huge bathroom and a nice view outside by the side of a canal. The breakfast was various, from bread with jam, cheese, orange juice, and a boiler for a cup of tea, or cappuccino. I had to take steep and narrow stairs to get to the first floor, but you find this everywhere in Amsterdam, so you can't complain for something like this! I would DEFINITELY come back in case of another stay in Amsterdam!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank andreafbv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

I have just returned from a weekend in Amsterdam. There were 2 couples & we hired the studio appt & double room - both accessible by one door. Rooms were very clean with all amenities. Breakfast was left in the room the night before which we found particularly good as more often than not we miss it! Plus was nice not to rush to get to a dining room.

Location wise depends on what you want. If you want the hustle & bustle of Dam Sq then stay closer but we prefer to be a bit quieter. It had metro & tram stops close by but Amsterdam is so accessible you can walk everywhere. Guest house was about 10 mins walk to Rembrandt Sq & similar to De Pijp neighbourhood which is worth a visit. There were plenty of bars & restaurant nearby & supermarket round the corner. We stayed over a weekend so can't comment on noise from students but there is a campus directly opposite.

Communication with owner Joyce was great & we were able to check in immediately on arrival. Check out was 10am & they did offer to keep our bags but we left them at Central Station.

One tip don't bother with airport transfers, train to Central Station is so easy & cheap and then from the Station you can walk or get bus/ tram/ metro to where you need to go. Public transport is excellent.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BlondeBlock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury St Edmunds, England
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2011

This second floor apartment was ideal for us as a place to base ourselves whilst exploring Amsterdam. The owner, Joyce Small, lives next door and showed us around. The two sets of stairs leading up to the room are very narrow and windy, but I think this is farily typical of this style of building. We paid her 100 Euros cash per night upon arrival. The apartment was very easy to find, having received precise directions from Joyce by e-mail. It only took us about 5 minutes to walk from the nearest metro station.

There was one lovely large bedroom with a comfy double bed, with double doors leading into a fair-sized living room with tall windows and doors which opened onto a small balcony that overlooked the university building opposite and a canal to the right. The living room was comfortably appointed with 2 leather settees covered by throws, tv,and music centre. The living room area merged into the very well equipped kitchen, with all the essentials and more. The bathroom was opposite the bedroom across the corridor, with a bath/shower to the left and vanity sink to the right. The toilet was in an adjoining room. There was also a washing machine in the bathroom which, from memory, we would have been allowed to use if we'd stayed longer than our 3 nights, but I can't recall if we would have had to pay a bit more for this facility. We felt right at home in this very welcoming and familiar environment, but still had our very important privacy. Every afternoon Joyce dropped by to bring supplies of milk and orange juice, fresh bread, cheeses and meats, from which we easily had enough for breakfast and to then make up a packed lunch.

Because we arrived on a Friday afternoon and left again on a Monday morning, we had no experiences of the students at the university opposite, so can't comment on whether there would be noise nuisance during the school week. There was a comprehensive supermarket about 2 minutes walk away, and the best meal we had locally was undoubtedly at the nearby Italian restaurant, turn left out of the front door of the apartment and continue no more than 250 metres, and it's there on the left (sorry, I can't remember its name, but it was lovely).

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BrownEyedLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Plantage & the East
InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam
Centrum
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#1 of 357 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 2,025 reviews
citizenM Amsterdam
#37 of 357 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 3,764 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rubens Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rubens Bed & Breakfast

Address: Roetersstraat 18A, 1018WD Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Plantage & the East , Binnenstad
Hotel Style:
Ranked #222 of 326 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Number of rooms: 9

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing