We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great visit!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Purna Indian Restaurant

Purna Indian Restaurant
Ranked #770 of 3,558 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Description: telephone: 020-623-67-72
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great visit!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

Great little indian place in "The nine streets"-area! Obviously family-driven, and very authentic. Nice interior, great food, great service. The waitress mixed up our orders, but was super-cute in apologizing, and super-fast in correcting the meals. Would consider reserving a table if you are a group of more than 4 people!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SiljeD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    40
    10
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Greenwich, London
Level Contributor
81 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Relaxed atmosphere and great food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

Food was very good - great King Prawn Madras and really delicious nan - and the atmosphere was nice and relaxed. On the night that we visited the service was not great for the first part of the evening but then improved when the proprietor's wife arrived to help.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Carl P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great Spot”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

Nothing is better than finding a place to eat when you are traveling where the food is amazing and the people are wonderful. Purna is located off the the canels and serves delicious indian food!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jenhlevy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york, ny
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2013

My experience with Indian food has been rather limited, but on vacation my friend and I stopped by Purna, as it was near our hotel. Wonderful, friendly service and absolutely delicious, tasty food. Have the cheese nan to start!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank jlynyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Havana, Cuba
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“India in "De 9 Straatjes"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

I ate in this restaurant last summer. The location is very special: the famous 9 streets of Amsterdam. I really love Indian food, the flavor and the essence.
I had an awesome curry , the bread is very tasty.
Unfortunately, the service wasn't so accurate anyway I highly recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Maria R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Purna Indian Restaurant also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Purna Indian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing