We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A fun way to exerience Amsterdam” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Blue Boat Company

Blue Boat Company
Book In Advance
More Info
$16.47*
and up
Amsterdam City Canal Cruise
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Welcome to the perfect Canal Cruise Experience!Language guarantee!We strive to create a unique experience on our regular cruises (our City Canal Cruises, Evening Cruises and Blue Boat Dinner Cruise); all our boats are equipped with an extensive Personal Audio System that lets you select the language you prefer. On our City Canal Cruise we offer 17 languages choose from! We provide you with your own set of headphones, which are yours to keep. It also means you do not have to listen to any of the other languages, just to the one that you have selected. And because you only hear one language, we can tell you more!Blue Boat Company's fleet consists of luxurious party boats; six of our boats are fitted with wheelchair access en two are powered by electricity, using “green electricity” to make our contribution to cleaner air. All our boats have a glass roof that can be opened, an outside deck on the back (ideal for picture taking!)and in winter, we turn on our central heating!In summer, take our unique small open boat, the Blue Sky Boat, for a more intimate tour.And don't forget our unique 4 course a la carte dinner cruise, which combines a lovely meal, specially selected wines and the best views in one evening!
Kathmandu, Nepal
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A fun way to exerience Amsterdam”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013

I went in the summer with my family in the early afternoon. It was quite busy so I would advise booking in advance. It is a little bit pricey but then you do get a nice tour. Everyone got their own earphones and could choose the language they wanted. I liked the narrative because it was original and in story form and not just a list of facts. You see the city from a different side than you usually do cause you are in the canal and go through bridges and such.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank ElsieS339
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,328 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    493
    541
    199
    55
    40
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Pretty poor customer service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2013 via mobile

As this was near to our hotel, we chose to use this provider for a canal tour to familiarise ourselves with the city.
We booked a family ticket for €38 which came with a city map (similar to the ones you get given by hotels) and were told to return in 20 minutes to board. We did this to find the boat was full with a coach tour and that there was no room for us.
As we didn't want to wait an hour in the pouring rain we asked for a refund which they willingly gave us. However, on checking the money I found that they had kept back €2 for the map. Cue another trip back to the booth for yet another refund.
Not impressed.
We went down the road to Canal Bus which for €10 more offered a hop-on, hop-off service which we could use for 24 hours. Much better!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Tracey H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nice way to start a visit”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013

The ride was just the right length and left on time. We used our Iamsterdam Pass. Each passenger receives earphones to plug in to hear the tour in their native tongue. The script was a bit cheesie, but gave some decent background and information on what you were looking at. Suggest to grab a beverage from the kiosk before boarding. Have your camera ready as you will have a chance to get some nice photos.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mil0d0g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
131 reviews
66 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“very average tour”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2013

The tour with this company is nothing really worth it. I found it amusing to change all the languages (17 languages altogether) in the headphones. The tour gives interesting information, but as you are in a boat you tend to get asleep after a while

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Marco S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Perfect way to start your visit.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

I woke up on my first morning in Amsterdam and headed to the Blue Boat Tours, right outside my hotel. The weather was fantastic and the guide seemed very passionate about Amsterdam and gave a lot of interesting information. A boat trip really helps you to get your bearings and I got some beautiful pictures from this perspective.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lindsey T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Boat Company also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Blue Boat Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing