We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Crazy waiter, good food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Krua Thai Classic Restaurant

Krua Thai Classic Restaurant
Ranked #157 of 3,334 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Centrum
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Crazy waiter, good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

We managed to get a last minute booking on a Saturday, which was lucky as it was a very busy restaurant. The head waiter was completely mad, and a wasn't sure about him feeding as way of a demonstration how to eat our first appetiser. The food was good, in particular the beef curry was very good. Definitely worth a visit.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ICOmnia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    142
    62
    12
    8
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
182 reviews
124 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Good food, shame about the upsell”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

It's a good restaurant in a central location. The ambiance isn't upmarket by any means but the food is good and the service is attentive. What did irritate me slightly was the upsell disguised as 'wouldn't you be interested in this ethnic addition?'. In our case it was betel leaves with odd spices which dutifully appeared (along with the strange additions to the thai mangoes) on the bill. The nett effect was a slightly expensive meal.
I'd go again, the food is good quality. But be careful of goping off-menu.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jon63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Espoo, Finland
Level Contributor
297 reviews
171 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“Best Thai outside of Thailand”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

I visited here during a trade show with coleagues. The restaurant is small and does not look like much. The service and ambience is excellent. The owner/head chef comes and says hello and also jokes with you. We asked them to serve us a mixed menu ranging from curries to fried shrimp and other rice dishes. What was the most excellent experience was the chef who made a small wrap made out of a leaf (of something that I dont know what it was) with peanuts, chili, and a special sauce that he fed you directly in your mouth with his own hands. A little weird but the taste was simply unbelievable. Best Thai food I have had outside Thailand and I have eaten in a few restaurants, as you can tell from my other reviews.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Joachim73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwickshire
Level Contributor
36 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Amazing thai restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

This is our favourite thai restaurant ever!! We recently returned to Amsterdam after a couple of years and this was on the top of our list for food. The food was as good as ever the best service you'll get anywhere. They will make you feel welcome, come and chat to you recommend food it's perfect. In the summer they have one table for two outside which is a wonderful and romantic setting. I can't give this place too much praise!!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DubbyWarwickshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goirle
Level Contributor
36 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“excellent Thai food on a beautiful location and very kindly served”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

This restaurant is located at no more than 200 meters from the city hall/opera building. We enjoyed a beautiful meal there. The staff advised us very well on Thai specialties. The ambience is not super luxury but very agreeable. The price performance ratio is very high!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank GertGoirle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Krua Thai Classic Restaurant also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Krua Thai Classic Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing