We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place to stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mauro Mansion

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mauro Mansion
Ranked #2 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Dusseldorf
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Perfect place to stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2011

The Hotel is in a perfect location, just one minute from the station/china town/red light district etc. but in a silent and safe road. From outside the Hotel appears like a private home (which it is for the owners) and also inside You feel home very quickly. There is a breakfast room with kitchen. Guests are free to serve themselves and just then honestly remember what they had and pay for it. Minibar is free. The shower was perfect, built in on the ground, not a tub and the room itself was very specially designed, modern but also with antique furniture as well as a 2nd floor with a metal cage (for decoration or what ever You like...).
TV+DVD player and a supply of DVDs in the kitchen. The perfect place to stay for a reasonable price and have the feeling You have Your own apatement in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pocky1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

903 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    770
    117
    14
    2
    0
See reviews for
45
653
44
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (234)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Houston
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2011

I never write reviews but feel obligated to write this one since I had such an enjoyable stay at this hotel just a week ago. The location was fabulous. It was a short walk to the train station and DAM square and the Anne Frank house. It was only about 5-10 minutes from the Red light district too. My room was very modern and comfortable and I had a fabulous view from my window. Sitting in the old barber's chair, sipping wine, overlooking the canal, and watching the night fall was quite enjoyable. Many great restaurants are located close by. Barry was an excellent host. He gave me recommendations for restaurants as well as looking up train times for me so I could get to the airport. I especially enjoyed the free wi-fi in the hotel. The hosts make you feel very "at home" in their hotel. I would definitely stay here again and can't say enough about it.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ScubagirlDiane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
76 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2011

Had a marvellous couple of days in Amsterdam, excellent recommendations and assistance from the hosts, who also helped us out over a huge mix up.
I guess we didn't have the best room, on the top floor looking out over a roof, however as we wasn't in it during many daylight hours it didn't matter. Our friends did have an excellent room on the ground floor tho'.
I'm not going to repeat what lots of other people have said, suffice to say, if you stay here you won't go wrong, it's all true what has been written.

Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank 750nig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2011

My husband and I stayed at Mauro Mansion on a brief trip in December. I booked it because of Tripadvisior reviews as as usual, I was not disappointed. I can't say enough about the place or the hosts who were fantastic. To preface, this is a B&B. The location is perfect, within easy walking distance to the train station. It is located on a small, quiet canal. Our room was great - comfortable and clean with a lovely canal view and table and chairs in front of the window to check your free wifi in the morning. It is in the hub of everything and within walking distance/canal boat to all the great attractions. Above all else, the breakfast was absolutely fantastic with big pieces of delicious fresh baked bread, yogurt, fresh baked goods and the coolest (and delicious) espresso machine I've seen to make instant single cups. Everything was fresh and delicious and all details in the hotel were obviously thought about, even from the simple jug for water for your room. I plan to make it a habit to visit this hotel when in Amsterdam. It is the closest thing to having my own canal apartment!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank triptalk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wading River, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2010

LOVED this place!!Terrific location! My husband and I love to travel and wanted to spend the holidays in Amsterdam. We could not have been more pleased with Mauro Mansion. When we arrived, Berry(the wonderful owner) had stocked up on breakfast food to meet my husband's strict dietary restrictions. (I had emailed him prior regarding all his allergies.) He also researched various restaurants that we LOVED and catered to his diet. We couldn't believe for the value for the affordable rate. We had an AMAZING view of a canal. Our room rocked! Very romantic! (room 21) It was decorated BEAUTIFULLY! Our bed was incredibly comfortable (perfect after a busy day out). The heated floor tiles in the bathroom was my husband's favorite, as well as the spacious room. It was so clean,you could literally have eaten off the floors. Lastly, we LOVED our central location, which made traveling in the quaint city very easy. We can't wait to go back to Mauro... hopefully in the summer!!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lovetogetaway12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bebington
Level Contributor
70 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2010

I can only agree with all the previous comments about this small boutique hotel. In an excellent location, close to Centraal Station, Dam Square etc. with comfortable quirky rooms, some of which overlook the canal, this place is a real home from home. Breakfasts were great, the coffee was fantastic and the daily surprise was a bonus. A complimentary mini bar in the room with coke, beer and juice and an honesty bar on the ground floor with very reasonably priced wine and snacks, as well as coffee to go. But what makes this place so special are the people who own and run it; Berry and Marcel are wonderful hosts who are happy to provide recommendations about restaurants, places to visit etc. but without being at all intrusive. I would definitely stay here on my next visit to Amsterdam and would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HappyTraveller_50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2010

Great stay at Mauro Mansion. Rooms, service, breakfast are all superb and the location is perfect. Great recommendations from Berry for nearby restaurants including Eat Me which was excellent for dinner. Won't stay anywhere else from now on when back in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Quinny7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#1 of 364 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 2,278 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#4 of 364 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 541 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Banks Mansion
Banks Mansion
#9 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 2,281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#3 of 364 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 838 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Sebastian's
Hotel Sebastian's
#5 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 1,161 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mauro Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mauro Mansion

Property: Mauro Mansion
Address: Geldersekade 16, 1012 BH Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#11 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#11 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#16 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mauro is a relaxed, romantic and quirky 9-room hotel, situated in a classic 16th century canal house right in the middle of the historical centre. You will find yourself between 2 former medieval city gates, a unique spot to start exploring Amsterdam. Please be advised that we are not suitable for children andor any parties larger then 5 persons. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Mauro Mansion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mauro Mansion Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing