We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Boutique Hotel”
Review of Mauro Mansion

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mauro Mansion
Ranked #3 of 371 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 10, 2014

Recently returned from a fantastic 3 night stay at Mauro Mansion. A frequent traveller to Amsterdam having stayed in several 5 star hotels, I'll always stay at Mauro Mansion in future! Really friendly and helpful, beautifully decorated, real attention to detail. Faultless. Loved the breakfast and the honesty bar. Great central but quiet location. Can't wait to return!

Room Tip: All rooms looked fantastic! Ours was on the top floor but well worth the stairs!
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Wolfman11_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,058)
There are newer reviews for Mauro Mansion
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

420 - 426 of 1,058 reviews

Reviewed July 9, 2014

Stayed here for a night recently and was very impressed with this small little hotel located very close to the Amsterdam Central. This hotel is also very close to China town and the red light district, but fret not, its very quiet and also safe at night. The room is very big and has a very unique interior. The facilities in the room and bathroom are new and clean. The staircase are very narrow and steps are small and steep, but do not worry, the helpful staffs are always willing and able to help carry heavy luggage upstairs. Wifi connection throughout the hotel is very good. Please book early if you intend to stay here as there are only 9 rooms is this hotel. Overall I had a very pleasant stay would recommend this hotel to anyone who is visiting Amsterdam.

Room Tip: Rooms with canal view are the best.
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Jcfl09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2014

We stayed at Mauro Mansion for 3 nights in June 2014 and had a friendly, safe and pleasant experience. Would stay again. Berry and Marcel were lovely fellows and Berry in particular very supportive when I was pick pocketed at the airport. ( Do be careful of that at the airport, especially people who claim to be helping you onto the train with your luggage).
The breakfast at Mauro mansions was great, a selection of cheeses and meats and warm bread. Scrambled eggs and the usual muesli, cereals and fruit etc were also available.
We had a room over looking the canal which was pleasant and spacious enough, and enjoyed laughing about the remains of a cage from the days when the hotel used to be 'the black tulip ' a house of disrepute.
The B&B is easy to get to from the train station and we found it quiet, not on a noise street and no noisy neighbours , even the fridge was silent tho a low hum from air conditioning as everywhere. It was walkable distance to restaurants.

Room Tip: A room over looking the canal was nice. We were on the first floor, perhaps the ground floor wouldn...
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Llinderose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2014

Stayed here sadly for only one night. It was a quick trip to Amsterdam from Brussels and I was looking for accommodation located close to the Station. Location of Mauro was perfect. Both for ease of access to the station and to all of the delights associated with the old town of Amsterdam.

Your hosts are wonderful land clearly understand the meaning of "hospitality". I look forward to retuning to Mauro again but this time for a much longer period.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kendall K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2014

Mauso Mansion is a great boutique hotel, situated at he center of Amsterdam. You can easly go wherever you want from the hotel. Owners are great people. We loved them. Rooms are well worth to stay, they are beautiful.

Room Tip: Choose a room facing the street. There is a canal in front of the hotel.
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kayhany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2014

I had three nights in Mauro Mansion in October 2013. I had a late arrival due to a storm so I appreciated that they waited for me to check in.

I felt very welcome straight from the beginning. Breakfast was wonderful and convenient in a way. The bar was clever, and hopefully it'll stay like that. Hotel itself is on a quiet street, but close to tram stops so it's easy to get anywhere you need to.

If I ever come back to Amsterdam, I'll definitely check Mauro Mansion 1st.

Room Tip: Aim at top floors.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank c4b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2014

This boutique hotel is all what the reviews say.

Great location if arriving by train and the funky touches like welcome drinks in the mini bar, access to DVD, honesty bar for a midnight feast is all great.

Its a small hotel so if you're packing two suitcases try and get a bottom floor room.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aussier0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#2 of 371 in Amsterdam
2,610 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#1 of 371 in Amsterdam
1,324 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Sebastian's
Hotel Sebastian's
#7 of 371 in Amsterdam
1,434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#4 of 371 in Amsterdam
1,099 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Banks Mansion
Banks Mansion
#9 of 371 in Amsterdam
2,748 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#13 of 371 in Amsterdam
1,194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mauro Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mauro Mansion

Address: Geldersekade 16, 1012 BH Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#6 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
#11 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#11 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: $125 - $230 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mauro is a relaxed, romantic and quirky 9-room hotel, situated in a classic 16th century canal house right in the middle of the historical centre. You will find yourself between 2 former medieval city gates, a unique spot to start exploring Amsterdam. Please be advised that we are not suitable for children andor any parties larger then 5 persons. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mauro Mansion Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing