We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bullseye”
Review of Mauro Mansion

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mauro Mansion
Ranked #3 of 367 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Finland
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Bullseye”
Reviewed June 30, 2014

I had three nights in Mauro Mansion in October 2013. I had a late arrival due to a storm so I appreciated that they waited for me to check in.

I felt very welcome straight from the beginning. Breakfast was wonderful and convenient in a way. The bar was clever, and hopefully it'll stay like that. Hotel itself is on a quiet street, but close to tram stops so it's easy to get anywhere you need to.

If I ever come back to Amsterdam, I'll definitely check Mauro Mansion 1st.

Room Tip: Aim at top floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank c4b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,041 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    883
    141
    15
    2
    0
See reviews for
52
763
47
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (264)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2014

This boutique hotel is all what the reviews say.

Great location if arriving by train and the funky touches like welcome drinks in the mini bar, access to DVD, honesty bar for a midnight feast is all great.

Its a small hotel so if you're packing two suitcases try and get a bottom floor room.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aussier0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2014

We booked a 3 night stay at Mauro Mansion. Great fun location near central station and the red light district. Excellent breakfast cooked by Barry. Beware if you are staying on the 3rd floor. Extremely steep small staircase!!! Marcel was helpful in recommending restaurants but very "cool". Mini fridge in room was helpful. Overall great stay but would probably not choose again.

Room Tip: Get a ground floor room!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jbst5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2014

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. Our room was huge and very quirky.

The staff were so friendly and helpful. They even stayed late so we could check in.

There was a fully stocked fridge for drinks which were available through the night - all of which were very reasonably priced.

The location is also great - about a 2 min walk from Central station.

I would 100% stay here again.

***Please note there is no lift and the stairs are VERY steep. This wasn't a problem for me but if you are less mobile I would suggest a room on the ground floor if poss****

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Linzrebecca20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2014

I booked a 4 night stay at the Mauro Mansion months ago based on the excellent reviews on Trip Advisor and I'm very happy I did! The location - 5 min. walk from Central Station is easy and staying in a heritage canal house with a very interesting past is an experience not to be missed. We had a lovely large room on the 2nd floor and it was very quiet and comfortable. Every amenity you could need has been provided and the complimentary stocked bar fridge is a very thoughtful gesture. The stocked honesty bar in the breakfast room is also terrific with better than fair prices on all the items. The fresh breakfast items each morning are a highlight - 100X better than any hotel can do. The bread was warm from the oven and everything Barry made - scrambled eggs, pancakes, fruit salad was delicious. It's also a bonus that they can sell tickets for transit and most attractions right there and at a discounted price. I will look back fondly at my stay here and would absolutely book again if I travel to Amsterdam in the future.

Room Tip: We had to move to a ground floor room for our final night - the room on the ground floor was much sm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Elizabeth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2014

My wife and I decided to stay here for three nights after reading the glowing reviews here. We were not disappointed. The hotel is located in a great location a few minutes away from the central station and within walking distance to many attractions. The place was run by the owners who were friendly and provided excellent service. Breakfast was good and we particularly enjoyed the cheese and deli meats. They had a good selection of DVDs which came in handy when we decided to just relax in our room one night and enjoy a bottle of wine.

We stayed at the top floor in a room that did not have a canal view. The stairs were pretty steep so it might not be good for people who trouble going up and down steps. The room had all the amenities you would expect and maintains the charm of the house. It was a good sized room with a lot of character. We loved it and highly recommend to other couples!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Miguel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
warwickshire
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2014

We stayed here after searching various websites and reading reviews and we weren't disappointed. Having visited Amsterdam on several occasions, staying in a variety of different hotels this was by far the best for the price and service. Yes there is no lift, room service, bar or restuarant but there are quirky rooms in a traditional dutch building, good breakfast, a free mini bar, an honesty bar where you can obtain drinks and snacks (at very resonsble prices) and great friendly service. The rooms are clean, nicely decorated with interesting touches, cleaned every day and spacious (we stayed in the room with the barber chair in it). The proprietors and staff are friendly and helpful and the location is great. Would highly recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bazjosmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#2 of 367 in Amsterdam
2,557 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Sebastian's
Hotel Sebastian's
#6 of 367 in Amsterdam
1,391 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#1 of 367 in Amsterdam
1,271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#4 of 367 in Amsterdam
1,004 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#13 of 367 in Amsterdam
1,113 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Banks Mansion
Banks Mansion
#10 of 367 in Amsterdam
2,668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mauro Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mauro Mansion

Property: Mauro Mansion
Address: Geldersekade 16, 1012 BH Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#11 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#11 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#23 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mauro is a relaxed, romantic and quirky 9-room hotel, situated in a classic 16th century canal house right in the middle of the historical centre. You will find yourself between 2 former medieval city gates, a unique spot to start exploring Amsterdam. Please be advised that we are not suitable for children andor any parties larger then 5 persons. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mauro Mansion Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing