We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible place to stay”
Review of Mauro Mansion

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mauro Mansion
Ranked #3 of 372 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 18, 2013

Stayed here last week for a couple of days with my girlfriend. WE picked this place because of the reviews from trip advisor and wanted somewhere close to the railway station and very central. For these reasons alone we would have struggled to find somewhere better but it gets so much better that just its location. It's set on a quiet street within walking distance off all major attractions and it's canal out front looks great.
Sadly when we were in Amsterdam it hardly stopped raining and we had the misfortune of sharing the city with thousands of Celtic football fans who were there to use the city for its bars around the red light area and make a lot of the locals feel uncomfortable. Saw some pretty horrible sites involving the fans and reminded me just what so many british people who come to visit Amsterdam can be like.
Trying to forget that we got to see what we aimed for and loved the town and its unique way it's laid out with canals and all its old building. There is so much history around the place that I'd advise everyone interested in this kind of thing to search the net for a background to Amsterdam and it's places to visit.
Back to the Mauro Mansion, we loved it. On it's website it describes itself as quirky which was what we were looking for. We travel a lot and get bored with the usual hotel room laid out in almost the same way every time.Our room was one of the courtyard rooms in the attic and it was spotless. Everything was just how you hoped a hotel room would be. The bed was fantastic, the place was very clean and it's design was so refreshing from so many places we've been to. The bathroom has lovely under tile heating, a huge jet bath, a separate shower that was right up there with some of the best you can get.
Yet it was the little things that Berry & Marcel offer that made us feel so welcome. They offer you a mini fridge in your room that is free and very much appreciated, they offered us help when we arrived with any info about Amsterdam, they have a collection of dvds downstairs that you can borrow if you have the time to watch anything, they have snacks and drinks downstairs available and call it an honesty bar that if you feel the need to use anything just let them know and settle up at the end of your stay... what an amazing idea although between us we only had a bottle of beer it was perfect if you forget anything and stay in your room more than we did.
I also have to add we had a fair bit of luggage as we were travelling from England and then onto Krakow for a little tour and I notice a few people on here saying the steps were a bit steep, well I forgot to thank the guys for managing to get those bags upstairs for us.
So finally highly recommended, somewhere we would definitely stay again and certainly amongst the best places we've stayed.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank andy h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,065)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

497 - 503 of 1,065 reviews

Reviewed November 13, 2013

A stone's throw from Central station means you can tuck yourself practically as soon as you land in Amsterdam. Mauro is a historical building on the canals, and beautifully decorated with a touch of modernity. Everything has been lovingly thought out by the owners, including chocolates on the bed, free snacks and drinks in the mini fridge, mosquito net to keep the mozzies out of the bed, various city guides to borrow, luxurious shower gels, the list could go on and on. We loved how every morning's breakfast hot dish was different, and we could pick and chose from a small but good selection of cheeses and meats. There is definitely a reason why Mauro is #1 on Tripadvisor!

Room Tip: We were on the ground floor and worried about noise, but never heard a thing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank countingstars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2013

We stayed at Mauro Mansion in October 2013 for three nights. Location can not be beat. Very short walk from the Central Train station and we had lots of heavy luggage but it was an easy walk. Just WATCH OUT for the bikers when you get off the train! Once you are at the mansion you are walking distance from lots of great sights. We walked to Red Light district (take the evening info tour, it was great to learn about this "interesting" area), Dam Square, and even to the Anne Frank House. If you want to take a Tram around town it is easy to take from the central train station. The mansion is great, wonderful rooms (we stayed in room 22 with canal view), great breakfast. The owners are great, helpful with maps and directions, got tickets for a museum for us and even called to help us find a dinner reservation on a Friday night! All I can say is GO!

Room Tip: Choose a canal view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank speechtxDelaware
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2013

I enjoyed six nights at Mauro Mansion last week, and can thoroughly recommend it as a great place to stay in Amsterdam. Cozy, quirky, and yet, a bit luxurious (there was a jacuzzi in the tub of my room), the owners are also friendly and willing to provide tips for visitors regarding restaurants and other attractions. It's no more than 3-5 minutes from Centraal Station, depending on traffic, and this in itself makes it so easy to take a tram anywhere in Amsterdam you might desire. I'll return to Mauro next time I visit A'dam!

Room Tip: Courtyard rooms are very quiet, if you're a light sleeper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Mark L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2013

Enjoyed our long weekend stay which was greatly contributed to by the service we received from local staff. On checking in we were given a free upgrade courtesy of my Gold Membership and tickets for drinks at the bar. Reception, dining room and bar staff were friendly and willing to offer advice and I was particularly grateful to the young...

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Martin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2013

Excellent location, if you are looking for a nice atmosphere in a small boutique hotel over a beautiful canal this is it. Nice surprise the welcome drinks as well as the small surprise every morning at the breakfast. Each room has his own style. We stay in a very romantic red room with nice in canal.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank YiannisM3170
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2013

Can't say anything bad. Close to the station so trains/trams/metro can get you anywhere in the city that you can't explore on foot. It's close to the hustle & bustle but on a quiet street overlooking a canal. Room was big by Amsterdam standards, lots of quirky stuff like a ladder & barber's chair. We were in town for the marathon so it was great to have a fridge (stocked with some complimentary beer, wine) to put our food & drinks. Breakfast area was nice and airy with freshly baked bread, the best cheese & cured meats. We had to leave early on race day but our hosts kindly left bread and other good stuff for us.
Excellent experience overall.

Room Tip: Canal view is nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank stewsimon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#2 of 372 in Amsterdam
2,630 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#1 of 372 in Amsterdam
1,356 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#4 of 372 in Amsterdam
1,127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Sebastian's
Hotel Sebastian's
#6 of 372 in Amsterdam
1,455 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#13 of 372 in Amsterdam
1,224 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Banks Mansion
Banks Mansion
#9 of 372 in Amsterdam
2,782 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mauro Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mauro Mansion

Address: Geldersekade 16, 1012 BH Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#6 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
#11 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#11 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: $128 - $227 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mauro is a relaxed, romantic and quirky 9-room hotel, situated in a classic 16th century canal house right in the middle of the historical centre. You will find yourself between 2 former medieval city gates, a unique spot to start exploring Amsterdam. Please be advised that we are not suitable for children andor any parties larger then 5 persons. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mauro Mansion Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing