We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“This is the greatest location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mauro Mansion

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mauro Mansion
Ranked #2 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
61 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“This is the greatest location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

The rooms are funky and fun but really comfortable and quiet. Ours overlooked the canal. This little boutique is a quick walk from the train station so you would never need a taxi, car or public transportation. It is a walk everywhere location. I loved the view

Room Tip: The fridge came stocked with a couple of Heinekens. Sit at the little table in your room on the fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Reynold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

920 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    786
    118
    14
    2
    0
See reviews for
45
668
44
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (236)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sammamish, WA USA
Level Contributor
100 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We and two other couples spent 3 nights in the MAURO MANSION before boarding a ship for a river cruise. The location is fantastic as are the owners/operators Berry & Marcel who were very friendly and helpful. Continental breakfast was very good. The rooms were a bit quirky, but comfortable and clean. The hanging "closet", available chair and place to put our suitcases were adequate but could be improved. All in all a very good place to stay. Of course the upper floors require climbing some steep stairs, but that's very normal in Amsterdam. Our bags were carried up for us which we were thankful for. Definitely recommended!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rcman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Mauro Mansion is a central, quirky little hotel with lots of interesting features.Berry's directions to follow upon arrival at the nearby train station were specific and easy to follow . Berry and Marcel were very welcoming- they even carried our heavy suitcases up the 3 flights of narrow stairs! They were also helpful with advice on where to eat and what to do in Amsterdam. The free mini bar is a nice touch, as were the extra little surprises at breakfast!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank suzannegraeme0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, Virginia
Level Contributor
75 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013 via mobile

Exactly as others have described. Great hotel, ideal location, welcoming hosts and all the little touches that make a place special. Really impressed with the range, quality and price of the honesty bar items in the dining area. Unlike many other locations it is aimed at making your stay better not increasing revenue. We will go back.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Graham S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballarat, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

We spent two nights in Amsterdam at Mauro Mansion, and the service was great, location easy to access from the railway station, the breakfast fresh and varied each day. The rooms were quirky quiet and restful. The recommendation for an evening meal was close by, and great value. We could not fault any of our stay in Amsterdam. It was easy to walk everywhere . An enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ali P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

We've just returned from a wonderful stay in Amsterdam - and were fortunate enough to reserve two rooms at Mauro Mansion for a week! Believe all of the positive comments - the hotel is charming, with spacious, upscale rooms, excellent bathrooms, lovely breakfasts. The location is perfect - on a quiet canal side street, just a couple of blocks from Central Station, and within walking distance of so many destinations in the heart of the city! The best part for our family, though, since we are foodies - was throwing out all of the restaurant research we had done in advance, and leaving all of the dinner (and sometimes lunch!) recommendations to Marcel and Berry, our excellent hosts! Everything they suggested was fun, memorable, delicious!
We look forward to our next stay at Mauro Mansion one day!

Room Tip: We stayed in a canal room, and an interior room, and both were good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ellenharmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mamaroneck, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

It is justified that Mauro Mansion is Number 1 in Trip Advisor, I booked our September,2013 stay in January, 2013. It was a good move, after 2 weeks there are no more available rooms. There are only 9 rooms here and the rooms we have facing the canal on the 1st floor and the other room I booked for the couple with us, are huge rooms. You can put a king size bed and still have a lot of room to move around.We stayed here for 3 nights, it was a good end to a 2 weeks vacation in Europe. The bed and pillows are comfortable, the bathroom is of good size. It would have been better if there was a grab bar to get inside the tub, to make it safer and easier to get in. The view on the canal was good and we have no problem with any street noise. Reviewers were right when they said mind the stairs, the good part of the circular stair is they built a sturdy and thick handrail that you can hold on when you go up the stairs. Staying in the Mauro makes you feel like you are on vacation in your family's home. You have 24 hour access to food, snacks, cold drinks and hot drinks. There is an honesty bar on the ground floor, just tell what you took from it. Love my capuccino every morning. Even though we did not have the luck to meet Barry and Marcel, Abbeys and the other staff during the weekend were very nice and accomodating. The location is perfect and it is only 15 minutes by train from the airport. We have nothing but praise for Mauro Mansion.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alicia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#1 of 364 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 2,318 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#4 of 364 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 586 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#3 of 364 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 896 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Sebastian's
Hotel Sebastian's
#5 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 1,191 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Banks Mansion
Banks Mansion
#10 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 2,330 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#16 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mauro Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mauro Mansion

Property: Mauro Mansion
Address: Geldersekade 16, 1012 BH Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#11 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#11 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#23 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mauro is a relaxed, romantic and quirky 9-room hotel, situated in a classic 16th century canal house right in the middle of the historical centre. You will find yourself between 2 former medieval city gates, a unique spot to start exploring Amsterdam. Please be advised that we are not suitable for children andor any parties larger then 5 persons. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Mauro Mansion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mauro Mansion Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing