We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is the greatest location”
Review of Mauro Mansion

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mauro Mansion
Ranked #3 of 372 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 15, 2013

The rooms are funky and fun but really comfortable and quiet. Ours overlooked the canal. This little boutique is a quick walk from the train station so you would never need a taxi, car or public transportation. It is a walk everywhere location. I loved the view

Room Tip: The fridge came stocked with a couple of Heinekens. Sit at the little table in your room on the fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Reynold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,065)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

505 - 511 of 1,065 reviews

Reviewed October 14, 2013

We and two other couples spent 3 nights in the MAURO MANSION before boarding a ship for a river cruise. The location is fantastic as are the owners/operators Berry & Marcel who were very friendly and helpful. Continental breakfast was very good. The rooms were a bit quirky, but comfortable and clean. The hanging "closet", available chair and place to put our suitcases were adequate but could be improved. All in all a very good place to stay. Of course the upper floors require climbing some steep stairs, but that's very normal in Amsterdam. Our bags were carried up for us which we were thankful for. Definitely recommended!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rcman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013

Mauro Mansion is a central, quirky little hotel with lots of interesting features.Berry's directions to follow upon arrival at the nearby train station were specific and easy to follow . Berry and Marcel were very welcoming- they even carried our heavy suitcases up the 3 flights of narrow stairs! They were also helpful with advice on where to eat and what to do in Amsterdam. The free mini bar is a nice touch, as were the extra little surprises at breakfast!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suzannegraeme0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2013

Exactly as others have described. Great hotel, ideal location, welcoming hosts and all the little touches that make a place special. Really impressed with the range, quality and price of the honesty bar items in the dining area. Unlike many other locations it is aimed at making your stay better not increasing revenue. We will go back.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
3  Thank Graham S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

We spent two nights in Amsterdam at Mauro Mansion, and the service was great, location easy to access from the railway station, the breakfast fresh and varied each day. The rooms were quirky quiet and restful. The recommendation for an evening meal was close by, and great value. We could not fault any of our stay in Amsterdam. It was easy to walk everywhere . An enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ali P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

We've just returned from a wonderful stay in Amsterdam - and were fortunate enough to reserve two rooms at Mauro Mansion for a week! Believe all of the positive comments - the hotel is charming, with spacious, upscale rooms, excellent bathrooms, lovely breakfasts. The location is perfect - on a quiet canal side street, just a couple of blocks from Central Station, and within walking distance of so many destinations in the heart of the city! The best part for our family, though, since we are foodies - was throwing out all of the restaurant research we had done in advance, and leaving all of the dinner (and sometimes lunch!) recommendations to Marcel and Berry, our excellent hosts! Everything they suggested was fun, memorable, delicious!
We look forward to our next stay at Mauro Mansion one day!

Room Tip: We stayed in a canal room, and an interior room, and both were good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ellenharmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013

It is justified that Mauro Mansion is Number 1 in Trip Advisor, I booked our September,2013 stay in January, 2013. It was a good move, after 2 weeks there are no more available rooms. There are only 9 rooms here and the rooms we have facing the canal on the 1st floor and the other room I booked for the couple with us, are huge rooms. You can put a king size bed and still have a lot of room to move around.We stayed here for 3 nights, it was a good end to a 2 weeks vacation in Europe. The bed and pillows are comfortable, the bathroom is of good size. It would have been better if there was a grab bar to get inside the tub, to make it safer and easier to get in. The view on the canal was good and we have no problem with any street noise. Reviewers were right when they said mind the stairs, the good part of the circular stair is they built a sturdy and thick handrail that you can hold on when you go up the stairs. Staying in the Mauro makes you feel like you are on vacation in your family's home. You have 24 hour access to food, snacks, cold drinks and hot drinks. There is an honesty bar on the ground floor, just tell what you took from it. Love my capuccino every morning. Even though we did not have the luck to meet Barry and Marcel, Abbeys and the other staff during the weekend were very nice and accomodating. The location is perfect and it is only 15 minutes by train from the airport. We have nothing but praise for Mauro Mansion.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alicia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#2 of 372 in Amsterdam
2,630 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#1 of 372 in Amsterdam
1,356 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#4 of 372 in Amsterdam
1,127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Sebastian's
Hotel Sebastian's
#6 of 372 in Amsterdam
1,455 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#13 of 372 in Amsterdam
1,223 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Banks Mansion
Banks Mansion
#9 of 372 in Amsterdam
2,782 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mauro Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mauro Mansion

Address: Geldersekade 16, 1012 BH Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#6 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
#11 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#11 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: $128 - $227 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mauro is a relaxed, romantic and quirky 9-room hotel, situated in a classic 16th century canal house right in the middle of the historical centre. You will find yourself between 2 former medieval city gates, a unique spot to start exploring Amsterdam. Please be advised that we are not suitable for children andor any parties larger then 5 persons. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mauro Mansion Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing