We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mauro Mansion's owners make this the number 1 hotel in Amsterdam!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mauro Mansion

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Mauro Mansion to your Saves list
Mauro Mansion
Geldersekade 16, 1012 BH Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Red Light District (De Wallen))   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Full breakfast for €7,50
Ranked #2 of 363 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Mauro Mansion's owners make this the number 1 hotel in Amsterdam!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

We've just returned from a wonderful stay in Amsterdam - and were fortunate enough to reserve two rooms at Mauro Mansion for a week! Believe all of the positive comments - the hotel is charming, with spacious, upscale rooms, excellent bathrooms, lovely breakfasts. The location is perfect - on a quiet canal side street, just a couple of blocks from Central Station, and within walking distance of so many destinations in the heart of the city! The best part for our family, though, since we are foodies - was throwing out all of the restaurant research we had done in advance, and leaving all of the dinner (and sometimes lunch!) recommendations to Marcel and Berry, our excellent hosts! Everything they suggested was fun, memorable, delicious!
We look forward to our next stay at Mauro Mansion one day!

Room Tip: We stayed in a canal room, and an interior room, and both were good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ellenharmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

891 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    759
    116
    14
    2
    0
See reviews for
45
643
44
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (231)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mamaroneck, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

It is justified that Mauro Mansion is Number 1 in Trip Advisor, I booked our September,2013 stay in January, 2013. It was a good move, after 2 weeks there are no more available rooms. There are only 9 rooms here and the rooms we have facing the canal on the 1st floor and the other room I booked for the couple with us, are huge rooms. You can put a king size bed and still have a lot of room to move around.We stayed here for 3 nights, it was a good end to a 2 weeks vacation in Europe. The bed and pillows are comfortable, the bathroom is of good size. It would have been better if there was a grab bar to get inside the tub, to make it safer and easier to get in. The view on the canal was good and we have no problem with any street noise. Reviewers were right when they said mind the stairs, the good part of the circular stair is they built a sturdy and thick handrail that you can hold on when you go up the stairs. Staying in the Mauro makes you feel like you are on vacation in your family's home. You have 24 hour access to food, snacks, cold drinks and hot drinks. There is an honesty bar on the ground floor, just tell what you took from it. Love my capuccino every morning. Even though we did not have the luck to meet Barry and Marcel, Abbeys and the other staff during the weekend were very nice and accomodating. The location is perfect and it is only 15 minutes by train from the airport. We have nothing but praise for Mauro Mansion.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alicia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
penticton
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

Stayed on the second floor in the room overlooking the canal. Great view great room. Tall tall ceiling great location fantastic staff but the stairs!! It's a vertical climb! Hang on for dear life on the way down. Loved this place!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank ritch H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harlow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

Me and my partner stayed here for 2 nights over my birthday in August, I had read many reviews so was really excited to stay here and we weren't disappointed! First of all the location is amazing, got off the train and found it right away, without even glancing at a map so no stress there. The room we had was fabulous, a first floor canal view room, it really was the best room we had stayed in. All the amenities were great, comfy bed, lovely bathroom, storage etc. There was also a mini fridge with complimentary refreshments which was a lovely touch and a vintage barbers chair which you could swing round and relax on while enjoying the beautiful view. Breakfast (which is included in the price) was lovely, fresh bread, juice, cereal, yogurt, unlimited coffee etc etc and something different brought over to your table each morning. The hotel used to be an S n M hotel and you can see this as they have kept in many of the previous hotels features including a cage up high in our room! all these little things make Mauro Mansion very cool and quirky. The owners were very nice and helpful too, we loved this hotel and hopefully will be lucky enough to visit again!

Room Tip: Go for a canal room if you can!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lois84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miami
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

I counted myself lucky to get a room in this very small hotel as most of the better hotels in town were fully booked months in advance for a conference and was encouraged when I saw the rating in Trip Advisor. The owners were excellent hosts and the hotel is exactly what it says it is . Its something different and has much of Amsterdams quirky charm. However torrential rain meant that for a day or two one was confined largely to the hotel and I must admit I missed having a lounge and or bar to chillout in. My room at the top of the hotel was well thought out and cleverly finished tho bigger people or two might find the bed tough to get in and out of as the rafters were either side of the bed with no real bedside table however the room had personality and was spotless and the bathroom excellent.If you do decide to stay here from glancing into a couple of them I strongly recommend the canal view rooms. It was a good location for a first stay in the city though my favorite area became the Jordaan and if I ever returned I might try that area next. I am a little surprised that this ranks as the no 1 choice on TA but then the service is very personal ,practical and caring. Do not be put off by the somewhat spartan entrance hall for this place does have personality

Room Tip: Front rooms are by far the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nicogogo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Level Contributor
41 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

We spent 3 nights at Mauro Mansion and endorse all the comments made by other reviewers ... room was spacious, quirky, comfortable with a view of the canal. Complimentary drinks were great as were the breakfasts ... after 3 weeks of english breakfasts it was a welcome change, and the little surprises every morning, eg. the strawberries, were a nice touch. The night manager (forgive me for forgetting his name) was excellent with his welcoming attitude and helpful advice. Marcel and Berry were very professional and helpful without being intrusive.
Only downside was the noisy pedestrians staggering past the front at night, but this is the trade off I suppose for the great canal view. The 40 steps up the stairs was a bit of a challenge after walking all day but part of the holiday fitness regime and we had help if we needed it to carry our bags. Not the cheapest place in which we stayed but it presented good value for money and we had no regrets.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FHILLAdelaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Chose this hotel as it was number 1 on tripadvisor and weren't disappointed. The location, decor, attention to detail etc is fantastic but what makes this hotel a cut above is the brilliant service. The owners couldn't do enough to help, recommending places to go and eat, helping with travel plans etc. A must go to hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank c00kie63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#1 of 363 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 2,242 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#3 of 363 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 487 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Banks Mansion
Banks Mansion
#8 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 2,232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#4 of 363 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 787 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Sebastian's
Hotel Sebastian's
#5 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 1,139 reviews
Centrum
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mauro Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mauro Mansion

Property: Mauro Mansion
Address: Geldersekade 16, 1012 BH Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#11 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#11 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#34 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mauro is a relaxed, romantic and quirky 9-room hotel, situated in a classic 16th century canal house right in the middle of the historical centre. You will find yourself between 2 former medieval city gates, a unique spot to start exploring Amsterdam. Please be advised that we are not suitable for children andor any parties larger then 5 persons. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mauro Mansion Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing