We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another great review”
Review of Mauro Mansion

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mauro Mansion
Ranked #3 of 367 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, Alabama
Level 5 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Another great review”
Reviewed August 20, 2013

What can I say that has not been said. We were there last week and enjoyed the location, hospitality and the conveniences. After a visit to a coffee shop my wife could barely make it to the 3rd floor from laughing so hard as we turned the corned on the stairs AGAIN. The winding just keeps on going, but it adds to the charm and takes nothing away. Make sure you have them print your attraction tickets in advance, it reduces standing in lines, plus it is added to your room which is very convenient.

We had some friends that stayed at the Double Tree which has a great roof top bar at sunset, so we walked over there for cocktails one night and it was a very quiet reprieve, from the noise of Amsterdam.

Nice job guys. I would recommend to anybody!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank clvndrocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,040 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    882
    141
    15
    2
    0
See reviews for
52
762
47
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (263)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Based on prior trip advisor reviews, we choose to stay at Mauro Mansion. From the initial booking Marcel and Berry where excellent hosts. We arrived early and were welcomed by Marcel. He provided a much needed coffee and the opportunity to freshen up. Our room was on the first floor facing the canal. Good view. Only issue is it can be a little noisy. Room was spacious and very well serviced. Very comfortable memory foam bed. Nothing was too much trouble. Breakfast was basic but of a high quality. Very well located. Short walk from main train station. No hesitation in recommending this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Well_rested_from_oz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for 3 nights and did not want to leave.
The location was fantastic; a short walk from the station, right on a canal, close to great restaurants and the buzz of the red light district.
We stayed on the top floor and our room was quiet, comfortable and stylish. We had a cage in our room, which we thought was interesting!
A highlight for me was the breakfast every morning. I loved the fresh bread, cold meats, cheeses... Plus, we were treated to some poffertjes one morning... Scrambled eggs the next.
I hope we return to Amsterdam so I can stay here again.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
7 Thank AprilFool01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Loved every minute if staying here! Fairly easy to find... Excellent location. Rooms were so unique and quaint... Attention to details in the room and in the common areas. Really great place and a definite recommend. Would stay here again...

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank kc_meow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
216 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2013

My wife i stayed at Mauro Mansion 1st to 5th August 13 and what a fantastic hotel with lots of imaginative design touches which makes it stand out from the rest of the hotels.
All the great things have been said by other reviewers that there is really not a lot more to add.
Marcel and Berry were very welcoming and two of the nicest people you will ever meet who will do all they can for you to enjoy your stay there.
We stayed in room 21overlooking the canal, the room with the the barbers chair, which was very quirky and in keeping with the hotel design.
Room were large and had air con which was required as we arrived from Santorini to an unusual hot spell in Amsterdam, in fact the following day it was the hottest day of the year at a reported 35oC, the room also has a well designed, good size bathroom.
Beds were very comfortable and one of the best sleeps we have ever had in a hotel bed.
Rooms also have a fridge with some welcome drinks.
Breakfast was plentiful with good healthy options.
A special thanks to Marcel and Berry for contacting me as i left my mp3 player
An email from them was in my inbox when i arrived home that i had left it in the room which they have said they will send on to me.
If i return to Amsterdam i will only stay at MAURO MANSION and certainly recommend it to my relatives and friends should they want to visit Amsterdam.

Room Tip: Stay and pay that little extra for a canal view and air con above ground level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jones19553
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massapequa, New York
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2013

My husband and I went there to celebrate my 50th birthday. It was a charming hotel. We chose it because it was very close to the train station. It was a perfect location for us. Amsterdam is not a very large city - and we were right near transportation - so we were able to get everywhere pretty easily. The hotel had a great breakfast in morning. Our room was clean and they gave us champagne on our first day. The only thing that was a slight issue was that we were on the 3rd floor - and there isn't an elevator. It was in one of those classic Amsterdam homes that had the very skinny and winding staircase up. My husband actually took a video of us coming down the staircase one day :). If we go back to Amsterdam - we would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lowe616
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
us
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2013

This beautifully renovated building is unique and it is not surprising that it has been ranked #1 by Trip Advisor's reviewers. The two men, Berry and Marcel, who run the hotel are extremely helpful, and they even booked our tickets to the Rijksmuseum, Van Gogh Museum and another hotel that we stayed in later. The breakfasts are for gourmets (lots of cheese and yogurt, many types of bread and so on) and the information is plentiful. The bathroom was perfect and even had a jacuzzi. We are impressed by Amsterdam's hotels, but the Mauro Mansion is, no doubt, as good as any in the entire city. We later stayed in another hotel that was less expensive (but also delightful) so we think that there are many values in Amsterdam for around $100 per night for two.

Room Tip: Ask for a canal view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ecraige
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#2 of 367 in Amsterdam
2,555 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Sebastian's
Hotel Sebastian's
#6 of 367 in Amsterdam
1,391 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#1 of 367 in Amsterdam
1,271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#4 of 367 in Amsterdam
1,001 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#13 of 367 in Amsterdam
1,112 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Banks Mansion
Banks Mansion
#10 of 367 in Amsterdam
2,663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mauro Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mauro Mansion

Property: Mauro Mansion
Address: Geldersekade 16, 1012 BH Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#11 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#11 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#26 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mauro is a relaxed, romantic and quirky 9-room hotel, situated in a classic 16th century canal house right in the middle of the historical centre. You will find yourself between 2 former medieval city gates, a unique spot to start exploring Amsterdam. Please be advised that we are not suitable for children andor any parties larger then 5 persons. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mauro Mansion Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing