We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mauro Mansion

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Mauro Mansion to your Saves list
Mauro Mansion
Geldersekade 16, 1012 BH Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Red Light District (De Wallen))   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Full breakfast for €7,50
Ranked #2 of 363 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
81 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

I can't think of much to say as everybody else did! Have stayed in bigger rooms but who cares. Thank you to Berry, Marcel and Abbey for making our stay so wonderful. Loved everything from the wonderful yummy breakfasts - fresh bread, cheeses, meats, cereals, tea, coffee, etc (plus surprises every day - scrambled eggs one day, fruit compote with yoghurt, pancakes another day), comfy beds, videos to borrow, kettle and tea/coffee facilities in our room and in main area, honour bar with very reasonable prices, generous welcome drinks, etc. very friendly and helpful. We took trip to Edam, Volendam and Markin after we were give all the info from them. Great day. Could not recommend highly enough.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

891 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    759
    116
    14
    2
    0
See reviews for
45
643
44
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (231)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nashua, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

Can I give six stars? Eight? My wife and I spent three nights at Mauro Mansion and we were delighted every step of the way, including before we even arrived. Communication with Berry and Marcel was prompt and personal, and I was made to feel welcomed months in advance.

We arrived in the mid-morning, before our room was ready. Berry took our luggage and suggested we take a canal boat tour to take up the time. We did that, and when we returned, our luggage was already in the room (#32, with a canal view). And what a room! Airy and spacious, with the typical enormous Dutch window, amusing and eclectic decorations, and a fridge stocked with "welcome" refreshments. The bed was incredibly comfortable, with a memory foam mattress, there was lots of storage and many electrical outlets. The bathroom was large and well-laid-out, with plenty of space for toiletries. Large, fluffy, (and not white!) towels were provided. Oh, and there was air conditioning - a split-ductless unit similar to what we have at home. This was welcome in the evening as we like the room cooler. At night the room was quiet with no street noise. (It helps that vehicle traffic is now blocked on their street at night.)

Berry, Marcel, and Abbey, another staffer, were very helpful with answers to our questions about the area and suggestions for what to do and see. The lobby is stocked with various travel books, though some of them are old and contain out of date information (corrected by Marcel when I asked about a "tourist tram" line.) Then there's the "honor bar", with a great selection of snacks and beverages at market (not inflated) prices - just let them know what you took. We had a bottle of Vinho Verde that was very good, and only 10 Euros.

Breakfast starts at 8:30 and there's a wide selection of fresh-baked breads, meats, cheeses, yogurt, fruit, juice and more. A high-end coffee maker provides excellent coffee and lattes - one can get coffee around the clock, but milk for the lattes is not available at night.) Each morning Marcel provides a fresh-made extra. One day it was a delicious crepe, the other fresh strawberries with yogurt. My only regret is that we had to leave too early on the last day to get a third breakfast.

You will read in other reviews about the steep and narrow circular staircase. Yes, that's true, and if it's a problem for you then you should probably look elsewhere. There is no elevator/lift. It didn't bother us at all.

If I were to visit Amsterdam in the future, Mauro Mansion would be at the top of my list for places to stay. I can't recommend it highly enough. I do suggest springing for a canal-view room if available.

Room Tip: Canal-side is best, I think. If you can request a room on the second floor (third to Americans), and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

Berry and Marcel have thought of everything, providing a comfortable and stylish homebase for exploring Amsterdam. Berry's restaurant suggestions were exactly what we were looking for. He and Marcel were very kind to help carry our bags up and down the characteristically steep stairs. Easy access on foot from Amsterdam Centraal and the tram system there saves time and money. Our friends and we had a really fun time and felt lucky to have found Mauro Mansion, thanks to Tripadvisor.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank BelleDean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Mauro Mansion for 1 night and found the location to be perfect! 5 minute walk from Centraal Station and a couple streets over from the Red Light District and other major sights. We easily walked everywhere and the owners were very helpful in giving suggestions for restaurants and things to see. Loved their honor bar stocked with any late night snacks you may need for extremely reasonable prices. Breakfast was included and yummy. Our room was definitely unique with steps to a cage and a comfy swing. Since it was old S&M hotel when it was The Black Tulip it has interesting features that make it an even more fun stay in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mandy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tecoma, Australia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

We spent three nights at the Mauro Mansion. It is about a 5 minute walk from Centraal station, and right on a canal. The location was excellent, right near many restaurants and bars, and a short walk to the main sights of Amsterdam. The owners were fabulous, giving us helpful tips and recommendations for eating out. The breakfast was great each morning, and there is an honesty system for snacks and drinks. Our room had a canal view, and it was lovely. We could sit at a little table and watch the world go by. The room had everything we needed, including a minibar and a bathroom with bath, and was quite spacious. I would highly recommend staying here when visiting Amsterdam.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ElizabethS2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

I booked this hotel because of the reviews on Trip Advisor and wasn't disappointed. The staff were great and the rooms simplistic and clean. They have do the perfect breakfast, freshly baked bread, cereals awesome coffee (which you can take away!) and a little 'chefs choice'. Much better than the greasy,
cold, over cooked breakfasts you get in most places.
You can use one of their umbrellas or watch a DVD from their selection - it's like being at home. GREAT price too! Highly recommend it!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank L_G_77_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Great location, just a few minutes from Centraal Station. It's a beautiful home, sitting on a canal, in close proximity to numerous bars, restaurants, and sights. The staff are extremely friendly and helpful. Breakfast was great. I would recommend Mauro Mansion to anyone looking for a nice place to stay in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Adam P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#1 of 363 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 2,242 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#3 of 363 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 485 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Banks Mansion
Banks Mansion
#8 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 2,228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#4 of 363 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 785 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Sebastian's
Hotel Sebastian's
#5 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 1,138 reviews
Centrum
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mauro Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mauro Mansion

Property: Mauro Mansion
Address: Geldersekade 16, 1012 BH Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#11 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#11 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#34 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mauro is a relaxed, romantic and quirky 9-room hotel, situated in a classic 16th century canal house right in the middle of the historical centre. You will find yourself between 2 former medieval city gates, a unique spot to start exploring Amsterdam. Please be advised that we are not suitable for children andor any parties larger then 5 persons. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mauro Mansion Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing