We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stairway to Heaven”
Review of Mauro Mansion

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mauro Mansion
Ranked #3 of 374 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 27, 2013

The Mauro Mansion would be rated "Excellent" were it not for the Canal House Stairway to reach a canal-view room. All Canal Houses must adhere to the guidelines, therefore you must be a mountain goat to stay there. However, the ambiance of staying there is worth the pain (in my case...arthritic knees) endured. Not only did we have the view of the canal, but we experienced the smell of cannabis at nearby "Coffee Houses" and the red lights down the street of a Lady of the Night. Owners Marcel and Berry live onsight, so you almost feel like you are staying at someone's home. The breakfasts were typical European, with Berry usually preparing some type of bonus delight. Their presence and knowledge of the neighborhood were extremely helpful. Each room is furnished differently, and the owners use "honor bars" for just about anything consumable. Again...just like home.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms are available, but lack the view of the canal, and are subject to more noise (sin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bsimosd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,081)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

572 - 578 of 1,081 reviews

Reviewed April 26, 2013

Mauro Mansion is a lovely quirky Bed & Breakfast hotel in a quiet position as central as you can get in Old Amsterdam. Clean and large rooms, with very comfortable beds. An excellent cold breakfast is provided in a fun reception room, which is also open all day for coffees, guide books, free DVDs, and on-tap advice from Berry and Marcel. Overlooking a quiet canal, 5 minutes walk from Central Station and the main tram station, nothing is more than about 15 minutes stroll away! Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Worth getting a room at the front for the canal view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stephen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2013

We had a nice stay at Mauro Mansion, a perfect place to relax.

The room was really spacious and quiet, with an old barbers chair, it was so cool!

Everything was perfect with a romantic view on the canal and we also found free welcome drinks in our fridge and chocolate on the bed!

The owners are very friendly and helpfully.
The breakfast was excellent and every morning they cooked an 'extra' ( the pancakes were delicious!).

Great location, so close to the heart of Amsterdam and the Central Station.
In few minutes you can find restaurants, coffeshops and everything you need.

Highly recommend, we loved this place!

Room Tip: Choose a canal room, it's quiet and romantic
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SaraLondon8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2013

My husband and i came from Paris on the train and stayed 3 nights at Mauro for our 10 year anniversary trip. I will start by saying it was a great location, neighborhood street was quiet and it was walking distance from Central Station. Being near the station made it easy to get around Amsterdam as we had a central location that always led us back to where we were staying. The hosts were great, offered great suggestions (lunch and a beer - Stevens, dinner - Eetcafe van Beeren and bike rental - Star Bikes). We thank them for the special treat for our anniversary in our room. This place is SUPER CLEAN! My husband and I were truly impressed by how clean the entire place was - even the hallways!!! THe breakfast was awesome, plenty of good options and a great way to start the day. The honor bar is also a nice convenience and priced well. The rooms were very spacious and we found it very comfortable and quiet at night. I would stay here again and again. Thanks Mauro for a great stay in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank K T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2013

We began a trip to Spain via Amsterdam. Just returned home. Mauro Mansion was a super place...great location and hospitable, non intrusive hosts.They offered advice when asked (i.e. wonderful restaurant nearby...Eetcafe van Beeren) and were always available when help was needed.Spotless, quirky and great canal views.
We found the stairs a bit tricky (older couple) but managed.
Would highly recommend this place and will return if ever back in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Deniece C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

Brought my partner here for a surprise birthday trip - always a worry when taking full responsibility for choice of accommodation! I needn't have worried - Mauro Mansion was perfect! Spotlessly clean, good choice of breakfast with a different 'added extra' from Berry each morning, free drinks in your fridge with a very reasonably priced honesty bar in the breakfast room. Only a few minutes walk from the rail station and the bus/tram terminal so very handy for arrival/departure and day trips. Berry and Marcel are great hosts and very helpful. We had a ground floor room and weren't disturbed by noise from outside; you could hear people passing by but not intrusive. Great area; a combination of red light, gay and Chinatown! When we go back to Amsterdam I won't be researching accommodation - that part of the trip will be sorted already..... Unless of course they open up a second B&B!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Monkeyplush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2013

We enjoyed our stay in this unique hotel. We cannot agree with the recent review from dubu. Yes the hosts were unassuming but it depends what you are looking for. We personally don't want hosts that are "in your face". Whenever we had a question or needed advice they were more than happy to help us out. Although there were no hot options for breakfast, there was plenty of other things on offer. We also had to leave early on our last day and Berry kindly advised that we could help ourselves to the cereals, crackers, juices, yogurts, meats and cheeses in fridge. You could actually do this on any morning if you wanted to make an early start on your day as breakfast did not begin until 9am which might be late for some. Our room was gorgeous with a canal view and yes was a little noisy at night but too bad. Well located with easy reach to the train station. We loved our 3 night stay and would definitely return.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank HolidayDreamer101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#2 of 374 in Amsterdam
2,657 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#11 of 374 in Amsterdam
1,257 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#4 of 374 in Amsterdam
1,162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#1 of 374 in Amsterdam
1,383 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Sebastian's
Hotel Sebastian's
#5 of 374 in Amsterdam
1,478 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Banks Mansion
Banks Mansion
#8 of 374 in Amsterdam
2,823 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mauro Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mauro Mansion

Address: Geldersekade 16, 1012 BH Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#11 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#11 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#20 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: $122 - $246 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mauro is a relaxed, romantic and quirky 9-room hotel, situated in a classic 16th century canal house right in the middle of the historical centre. You will find yourself between 2 former medieval city gates, a unique spot to start exploring Amsterdam. Please be advised that we are not suitable for children andor any parties larger then 5 persons. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mauro Mansion Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing