We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,204)
Filter reviews
1,204 results
Traveler rating
1,026
158
18
2
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,026
158
18
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews honesty bar berry marcel the red light district barber chair central station courtyard room honor bar great hosts quiet canal quirky hotel little touches yogurt mini fridge the ground floor every morning first floor dutch pancakes
Filter
Updating list...
687 - 692 of 1,204 reviews
Reviewed April 26, 2013

Mauro Mansion is a lovely quirky Bed & Breakfast hotel in a quiet position as central as you can get in Old Amsterdam. Clean and large rooms, with very comfortable beds. An excellent cold breakfast is provided in a fun reception room, which is also open all day for coffees, guide books, free DVDs, and on-tap advice from Berry and Marcel. Overlooking a quiet canal, 5 minutes walk from Central Station and the main tram station, nothing is more than about 15 minutes stroll away! Highly recommended.

Room tip: Worth getting a room at the front for the canal view
Date of stay: April 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stephen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2013

We had a nice stay at Mauro Mansion, a perfect place to relax.

The room was really spacious and quiet, with an old barbers chair, it was so cool!

Everything was perfect with a romantic view on the canal and we also found free welcome drinks in our fridge and chocolate on the bed!

The owners are very friendly and helpfully.
The breakfast was excellent and every morning they cooked an 'extra' ( the pancakes were delicious!).

Great location, so close to the heart of Amsterdam and the Central Station.
In few minutes you can find restaurants, coffeshops and everything you need.

Highly recommend, we loved this place!

Room tip: Choose a canal room, it's quiet and romantic
Date of stay: February 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SaraLondon8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2013

My husband and i came from Paris on the train and stayed 3 nights at Mauro for our 10 year anniversary trip. I will start by saying it was a great location, neighborhood street was quiet and it was walking distance from Central Station. Being near the station made it easy to get around Amsterdam as we had a central location that always led us back to where we were staying. The hosts were great, offered great suggestions (lunch and a beer - Stevens, dinner - Eetcafe van Beeren and bike rental - Star Bikes). We thank them for the special treat for our anniversary in our room. This place is SUPER CLEAN! My husband and I were truly impressed by how clean the entire place was - even the hallways!!! THe breakfast was awesome, plenty of good options and a great way to start the day. The honor bar is also a nice convenience and priced well. The rooms were very spacious and we found it very comfortable and quiet at night. I would stay here again and again. Thanks Mauro for a great stay in Amsterdam.

Date of stay: April 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank 578kt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2013

We began a trip to Spain via Amsterdam. Just returned home. Mauro Mansion was a super place...great location and hospitable, non intrusive hosts.They offered advice when asked (i.e. wonderful restaurant nearby...Eetcafe van Beeren) and were always available when help was needed.Spotless, quirky and great canal views.
We found the stairs a bit tricky (older couple) but managed.
Would highly recommend this place and will return if ever back in Amsterdam.

Date of stay: March 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Deniece C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

Brought my partner here for a surprise birthday trip - always a worry when taking full responsibility for choice of accommodation! I needn't have worried - Mauro Mansion was perfect! Spotlessly clean, good choice of breakfast with a different 'added extra' from Berry each morning, free drinks in your fridge with a very reasonably priced honesty bar in the breakfast room. Only a few minutes walk from the rail station and the bus/tram terminal so very handy for arrival/departure and day trips. Berry and Marcel are great hosts and very helpful. We had a ground floor room and weren't disturbed by noise from outside; you could hear people passing by but not intrusive. Great area; a combination of red light, gay and Chinatown! When we go back to Amsterdam I won't be researching accommodation - that part of the trip will be sorted already..... Unless of course they open up a second B&B!

Date of stay: March 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Monkeyplush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews