We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,179)
Filter reviews
1,180 results
Traveler rating
1,006
154
18
2
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,006
154
18
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshonesty barberry marcelthe red light districtbarber chaircentral stationcourtyard roomhonor barquirky hotelyogurtlittle touchesquiet canalexcellent hostsmini fridgeevery morningthe ground floorfirst floordutch pancakes
Filter
Updating list...
674 - 679 of 1,180 reviews
Reviewed March 23, 2013

This is a fantastic place to stay in the centre of Amsterdam within easy reach of just about everywhere you might like to go. Marcel and Berry offer a very warm welcome and lots of frendly and helpful advice on places to visit, good local restaurants etc. We stayed in a ground floor room at the front despite concerns expressed in other reviews about it being noisy but it certainly didn't bother us at all on any of the 3 nights we were there. The room was quirky with an exposed brick wall and a mezzanine floor reached by a metal ladder with it's very own cage! Lovely comfy bed and pillows with lots of nice touches such as complimentary drinks in the fridge on arrival.
If you want to really try hard to find fault, the bath towels are ridiculously small - at these prices either a decent towel or robe is not too much to expect - and the antiquity of the building means the lovely stripped floorboards are very creaky with some large gaps but these 2 little niggles did nothing to detract from a very enjoyable stay. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jeremy099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2013

My hubby and I stayed at Mauro Mansion only 2 nights, a pit stop from Africa before heading back to Canada. I will try not to repeat all the wonderful comments from other Trip Advisor members but this place really does earn its 5 stars. Marcel & Berry are great hosts without being too involved. We had room 31 on the third floor overlooking the canal. Everything you need is in the room and more. I appreciated the welcome note on the bed explaining how Mauro Mansion works and all of its history, really cool! I especially loved the idea of an honesty bar which is always open no matter the hour of the night (if you get the munchies during the night, you can get chips, chocolates, cookies, wine, beer, soft drinks). You leave a note on the desk and it will be added to your final bill and no crazy pumped up prices.

The location is a real plus! To add to another member’s comment, we also took the train from the airport which is much cheaper than a taxi. Since we had been in Africa for several weeks, we had lots of baggage that we did not necessarily need for this leg of our trip so we rented out an extra-large locker at the airport for only 9 Euros per day. Very much worth it if Amsterdam isn’t your full trip, plus the bags would probably not have made it up the stairs at Mauro.

The price is just right, the service is over and beyond and location, location, location! Loved every minute!

Room Tip: Ask for a canal view room at reservation.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank SylvieFrancois444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2013

The location of the hotel is perfect, very central and close to everything and yet still very quiet. The room itself was well appointed with comfortable beds and a great shower! My only criticism regarding the room is that there is no mirror at the desk.
The breakfast was excellent everyday. I found the owners and staff helpful, engaged and attentive. Would definitely recommend the hotel and would stay there again if we returned to Amsterdam.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kerryanne1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Comfortable bed and breakfast located close to red light district, gay district, central station, attractions, restaurants etc.

The 'mansion' has had a gorgeous fitout with the various rooms. We stayed in a canal room and although roomy, with comfortable beds with outstanding linen quality it had very little to no ventilation ( which is understandable considering the age of the building however be prepared for your room to smell for a few hours after someone has been to do their morning business).

We really wanted to love this place but the owners create this strange, uninviting vibe and although they didn't go out of their way to make us feel unwelcome, in no way were they welcoming at all.

Think more - you are staying in our house, 'be good!' Rather than you are staying in our house (and paying us), 'welcome!'. That's not to say the service was not there, everything we wanted was done, every bit of breakfast was there all with top quality ingredients etc. It's the smile that should have accompanied the service that was missing - as though we were a burden on them rather than their guests.

It was our second stay in Amsterdam and we will likely stay elsewhere when we next return.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank SR32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

ROOMS: We were situated in room 21, which is on level 2. The hotel is rated number one on trip advisor and I can see why. The place is funky and awesome. Our room was spacious, and had a very funky, Amsterdam feel. There was a old barbers chair as a lounge seat, and vintage cupboards. Nicely decorated with a ladder in the room, and some paintings. There is enough space to use as a workdesk, which is next to the floor to ceiling oil heater which can heat the room quite quickly. Our room was a canal room, with a view onto the beautiful canal, and this is a great room to be in. The bathroom is smallish, and perfectly adequate for daily use. (We moved for our last night due to availability to a level 1 room, and this had a proper shower, not a bath/shower). The bed is comfy and large, and has a large mosquito net above. Apparently mosquitos are a problem, but we didn’t really get affected by them and didn’t use it after the first night. Street noise is minimal which was a pleasant surprise. There really isn’t anything bad to say about the room. Its funky, and that’s what we expected from the reviews and photos online. Its not the same as a Hyatt or W hotel, but its perfect for the ambiance of Amsterdam.

LOCATION: The location is fantastic - really close to the main “red light district” but then not too close. Its about a 5-10 minute walk. Go and get a town bike for 10 euros a day from central station and get around that way. It's easiest and best. (They don’t allow insurance on tandems at Mac Bikes which is weird) The train to Shirpool Airport leaves almost every 15 minutes from platform 14 and costs Euro4.40 per person. Much better value than a 50 euro cab ride and only takes 16 minutes to get there. Everything worth seeing in Amsterdam city is accessible by bike and you do not need to be fit to get there. Bike paths are really quite good and bikes do seem to have right of way a lot of the time. Stick to the right and you'll be fine.

SERVICE and SERVICES: excellent service throughout with absolutely nothing to complain about. Everything was easy and they really made us feel welcome. Almost like we were guests of their own house. We were very happy with all aspects of the service here. Wifi free (Although does drop out a bit). The hotel has 3 levels. The stairs are quite steep. Ladies will need help with their luggage. There are only 9 rooms there so make sure you book. Breakfast is included. DVDs aplenty and an excellent array of wines and snacks on offer in the 'lobby' area in an honesty system. They are extremely well priced beers, snacks and wines. We didn't use it but it looked very inviting. The place is secure with electronic locks and deadbolts so we felt all of our gear was safe at all times. There is a safe in each room.

WHY SO SPECIAL: well, it's like all boutique hotels in that its small, unique in every room and has other 'homely' comforts while remaining professional and well equipped. Great location and excellent service round off a perfect stay in Amsterdam

Don't skip breakfast. It's great!
Canal rooms are great if you can get it.

(Recent stays - Hotel Leonardo, Antwerp; B2 Boutique Hotel, Zurich; Town Hall Hotel, London; Holiday Inn, London; Novotel, York. L'hotel Imperial Palace, Annecy)

Room Tip: Canal rooms have the best view
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank cwliew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews