We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quirky little bolt hole.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mauro Mansion

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mauro Mansion
Ranked #3 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Quirky little bolt hole.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2012

We stayed here in one of the canal rooms - which was a fabulous size room with the most comfy bed ever! Great bathroom with plenty of hot water whenever needed and a mini bar which was free. Great location - with all the main sights in easy walking difference. If you want to stay somewhere a little bit quirky in Amsterdam - stay here!

Stayed November 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank Liz O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

988 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    843
    129
    14
    2
    0
See reviews for
48
724
46
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (252)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2012

Stayed for 5 nights for the first week in November 2012 to celebrate our 20th Wedding Anniversary. I selected the hotel from Trip Advisor and have no hesitation awarding it 5 stars.
I believe great service is represented by the words attentive, unobtrusive, elegant, not flashy, genuine, sincere. This is what we found at this hotel. It is not a flashy hotel with a double volume reception area - in fact the reception is a desk on the ground floor at the entrance to the dining room!
The directions we received beforehand by email were great, describing exactly how to get to the hotel. (Although we did not follow them initially :)). We were met by Berry who was expecting us, and told our room would be ready a few hours early around midday, and to leave our luggage. On our return our luggage was up the (VERY) steep spiral staircase, and we started our stay.
We were assigned a room on the first floor (one flight up from ground), facing the canal, and it was sufficient for our needs. The mini bar fridge is stocked on arrival, and all contents were free. It is not re-stocked during your stay. Ours included a bottle of champagne to celebrate our anniversary, two Pepsi, two Heineken, two fruit juices, two waters and a snack box of peanuts and raisins and coconut.
Breakfast is available from 8 but the daily treat is served from 9. Let me explain ...
The dining room is a simply furnished room with little decor, rustic tiled floor, a large table, multiple small tables and chairs, and dominated by a bright red retro fridge! On the large table is a modern coffee machine able to make a cappuchino at the push of a single button which is handy, three types of cereal, a few teas in diy tea bags which you fill yourself, some fruit, and two fresh loaves of bread for you to cut.
In the fridge is a platter of various cheese slices, and a platter of various cold meats, some yoghurts, pates, butters and jugs of fresh fruit juices.
During breakfast Berry or Marcel will bring a 'treat' - something different, such as pancakes, or sliced pineapple, etc. Quaint and interesting and very homey.
During our stay they were very helpful trying to find a stroopwafel machine, and a restaurant for us to go to, even booking for us :)
There are a selection of wines, snacks and water to take when required, and simply to advise them of what you took when you checkout.
Also there is relatively fast, free wi-fi, (you get the password on arrival) and a communal iPad and Macbook with printing facilities in the dining room.
The hotel itself is situated close to all the attractions and is a few hundred metres from the main station enabling day trips in and out of the country, and tram trips within the city. The hotel can sell you many tickets directly, at the same prices as you can get, so presumably they get some form of commission built in. Demonstrating the diversity of the city, on the same street further down is a chinese supermarket, a recommended Vietnamese restaurant, a single redlight "window", and an artist's studio visible from the street. The hotel's proximity to the Red Light District is close enough to walk, but far enough not to affect you if you have young children.
Very, very pleasant hotel, unaffected, accommodating, interesting, a bit quirky, and thoroughly enjoyable. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Choose a canal-facing room, but recognise you also overlook a street that can have the odd late part...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
12 Thank IanDuncan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012

Stayed for 4 nights in November 2012 in a canal view room. Very convenient walk from the central station.

Room was spacious with a nice view of the canal. Quirky design and very clean.

Best part was the breakfast each morning - freshly baked bread (I really miss the bread!!), good coffee, juices, nice selection of cold cuts and a special treat each day. We had mini pancakes one morning and they were heavenly!

A big thanks to Berry, Marcel and Abby!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank DH_Spore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

Exceeded already high expectations, the love the owners have for Mauro shows through in every resoect. I feel very lucky to have stayed there. Location is the best, room and bed devine. Breakfast was amazing. Don't worry about the stairs, they carried my bags!! There is good reason that Mauro is rated so highly, they have studied and specialised the often lost art of hospitality.

Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank Adriennejayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
B.C.,Canada
Level Contributor
120 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

I booked into this hotel based partly on its high ranking in Trip Adviser. We enjoyed our visit and had no problems but I cannot quite understand why this hotel gets such high ratings. It didn't seem to have any particularly marvellous assets beyond those found in MANY small hotels. The location was quite good, the room roomy and clean, breakfast options were somewhat limited, and the bathroom was in good but not in absolutely perfect repair (few cracked tiles). These things can all be found in many excellent quality hotels! The owners(?) were pleasant. A nice feature is the small fridge with a few free drinks. This is an unusual bonus! It should be noted that, like all the old canal side small hotels, there is no elevator so people with mobility issues should stay in one of the large city-style hotels.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NotTooLate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Okemos, Michigan
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed 4 nights at the Mauro Mansion in October 2012 in a room overlooking the canal. The hotel, within several blocks of the train station and easy walking distance to major attractions and tram stops, is a quaint gem--more of a bread and breakfast than a hotel. Breakfast, included in the price, offered bread, yogurt, cheese, meat and juice basics and a different fruit selection each morning, and coffee and espresso drinks are offered without charge throughout the day. The room was larger than many European rooms and inviting. The owners were present throughout the day to offer suggestions and directions.

Room Tip: The canal room is well worth the additional cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wrschulz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olney, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

We recently stayed eight nights in Mauro Mansion and had a wonderful time. The owners Berry and Marcel were most helpful with recommendations on restaurants, museums and points of interest as well as tips on using the transportation system. The hotel location is very convenient--only a couple of blocks from the Central Station. We had a canal room on the third floor with a fine view. Like other reviewers, we especially appreciated the breakfasts and complimentary beverages in the mini bar. We're already planning a return trip in April of 2013 and will definitely stay at Mauro Mansion.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 194TerryC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#2 of 362 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,467 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#5 of 362 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 840 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#1 of 362 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Sebastian's
Hotel Sebastian's
#7 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,309 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#16 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 897 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Pulitzer Amsterdam
Pulitzer Amsterdam
#4 of 362 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mauro Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mauro Mansion

Property: Mauro Mansion
Address: Geldersekade 16, 1012 BH Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#11 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#11 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#14 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mauro is a relaxed, romantic and quirky 9-room hotel, situated in a classic 16th century canal house right in the middle of the historical centre. You will find yourself between 2 former medieval city gates, a unique spot to start exploring Amsterdam. Please be advised that we are not suitable for children andor any parties larger then 5 persons. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mauro Mansion Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing