We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best stylish, quirky, cool hotel in Amsterdam...”
Review of Mauro Mansion

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mauro Mansion
Ranked #3 of 372 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 21, 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights in April, on the 2nd floor room 32 with a canal view room. Room was clean, stylish & had everything you need. We enjoyed watching dvd`s in the room on the large lcd tv on the wall. We were able to select a dvd from a wide selection free of charge. The fridge in the room contained complimentary drinks which was fab. The bed & pillows were very comfy, even my girlfriend found them just fab even though she is pregnant. The honesty bar downstairs was a fab idea & a real surprise. The breakfast was great as was served between 9-11, which suited us. Each morning we were given something different with our breakfast as a special treat, which was a nice touch. The owners were very helpful all the time, carried bags up/downstairs, recommended places to eat each night which each time were great. They told us about all the sights of Amsterdam & where they were by putting them down on a map for us. The time we were there was for my girlfriends 30th birthday, so I made a special request before I went to have balloons, flowers & chocolates in the room which was done, I cannot fault what they picked as it was to my standard, just fab. I would defo recommend this hotel to one & all, just book it now. We both plan to go back again next year once the baby is born :-)

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lee_Smurf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,066)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

676 - 682 of 1,066 reviews

Reviewed April 16, 2012

We had four nights staying at the Mauro in early April to celebrate our ninth wedding anniversary (and ten years since our engagement in Amsterdam). Everything everyone else says about this place is right. We were in Room 32 - Canal view and found it to be overall an excellent experience. Are there negative things you can say about this place - well of course nowhere is perfect. I would have liked an extractor in the bathroom and the hand towels are kind of small but then hey that's really nitpicking. What makes this place stand out are Berry and Marcel. Nothing is too much bother for them. They'll take your bags up and down to your room. Recommend and book you restaurants and fast track entry tickets to museums.

Breakfast is almost a piece of performance art as you head downstairs wondering what Berry's little surprise treat of the day is - we had fresh pineapple, Dutch pancakes (natch), fresh fruit and yoghurt and beautiful Dutch pastries. There is a great collection of DVDs and CDs to watch/listen to in your room if the weather closes in, the most reasonably priced honesty bar anywhere in the world and of course the welcome drinks in your room when you arrive.

Is there any reason not to consider going here - no. It is the best hotel in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Collegeprof101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2012

Well, it is going to be hard to keep this place a secret since it is one of the top places to stay in Amsterdam through tripadvisor. But let me tell you, Mauro Mansion is a great find! Located only minutes from the Central Train Station and within minutes of great attractions, shoppping, dining, and nightlife, this hotel offers more for the money than many other places. And the friendly and courteous staff is a HUGE asset. Our room was large with a fantastic, postcard-perfect view of a canal outside our large windows. And what other place offers you a one-night complimentary mini bar?! Unheard of. You are going to love Amsterdam, perhaps as much as I did, and you will want to return, just like I do, and you will want to come back and stay at the Mauro Mansion because there is simply no better place to stay for such a great value. I would recommend this hotel to my dearest value-conscious friends who are looking to experience the wonders of Dutch friendliness and service within walking distance to all of the great culture that Amsterdam has to offer.

Room Tip: Choose a canal side room. I really enjoyed room #31.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank The_Boulevardier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2012

We arrived after missing our flights and quite a stressful journey but within minutes of arriving at Mauro all was forgotten. We were greeted by Berry, he helped us carry our bags up to our room. And left us to settle in. There were drinks free in the fridge. We asked for a restaurant recommendation. It was perfect. We had left 5 children behind and we were able to kick back and totally relax. The hotel was so peaceful. Lovely music in the honesty bar. The location was perfect, no traipsing for ages from the train station to find your hotel. You are in the red light district but very easy to avoid if you wish. The area seemed very safe. We did a lot walking, it was always easy to drop back to mauro with your shopping bags or to get changed for dinner. You can purchase wine, beer and snacks at the Honesty bar if you return home late and want something. We borrowed some of the DVD's and had a bottle champagne. We stayed in courtyard room at the top of house. We no problems with street noise. To be honest, after all the nice meals out we needed a little extra exercise, so the stairs wasn't an issue for us.
Staff were extremely friendly and helpful. They run a lovely business with some extra special little touches. Breakfast was great, really set you up for all the walking we did. There was really nice coffee avail to take away too. The beds were really comfortable. You can control the heat in your room if got cold.
The only fault we found was we thought there should have been extractor/ventilation fans in the bathroom. And the towels were a little smaller than standard bath towels.
We would highly recommend Mauro mansion. We really loved our stay. Thanks again. : )

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank SarahEmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2012

I wondered how could be the experience in the hotel stably rated #1 in town but I was quite surprised of the rank given by previous guests.
PROS
1) within walking distance from Central Station;
2) nice and friendly staff;
3) well furnished room with fresh flowers.
CONS
1) strong noice all night long coming from the close main street and railways: trains, cars with siren, traffic. Impossible to sleep without earplugs.
2) full breakfast only available after 9,00am;
3) low light in the bathroom and only from one side, for the other one ... shaving in the shadow;
4) shower inside the tube with low pressure, hard to have the water well on the body

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
24  Thank Just_me_rome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2012

We stayed at Mauro for a business trip from March 18-21. The hotel is ideally located to central station and in the hub of activity that is Amsterdam. One can easily walk to everything and the rooms were fantastic. Our primary place of business was the RAI convention centre and that was very easily accessable via metro train located at central station. All of the business functions were held in venues in Amsterdam central and again these were all within walking distance of the hotel. We had 2 canal view rooms (one lower level and the other 1st level). the lower level was great and absolutely no issues with noise, but if you can manage to get higher level canal view rooms (and don't mind steep stairs - this is Europe after all!) then I would highly recommend it as the view is spectacular and the rooms a bit bigger (than the ground level). The breakfeast was great too - fresh bread and freshly squeezed juices are a highlight! All in all a fantastic hotel and I wouldn't hesitate in recommending this hotel to the business or leisure traveller - I would defintely stay here again!

Room Tip: We had 2 canal view rooms (one lower level and the other 1st level). the lower level was great and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank NathanRM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2012

Everything was as we expected, small ( 9 rooms ), well situated, quirky hotel, well run by Berry & Marcel. Close to the Central Station ( 3 mins walk ) we walked everywhere never needing to use public transport. Choose a room overlooking canal if possible, excellent breakfast with healthy options, beware, there is no lift and the staircase is steep and narrow. Another bonus for us was the fact there were no young children which makes for a much more relaxed stay. We had a birthday whilst we were there and appreciated the complimentary bottle of fizz from the owners. Honesty bar on ground floor was a nice touch. Only 400 metres from the Red Light District but easy to avoid if you wish? If we return to Amsterdam, we would stay here again so I guess that speaks volumes?

Room Tip: Canal Rooms on 1st & 2nd floors. Try to avoid ground floor rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#2 of 372 in Amsterdam
2,634 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#1 of 372 in Amsterdam
1,357 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#4 of 372 in Amsterdam
1,130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Sebastian's
Hotel Sebastian's
#6 of 372 in Amsterdam
1,457 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#13 of 372 in Amsterdam
1,226 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Banks Mansion
Banks Mansion
#9 of 372 in Amsterdam
2,784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mauro Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mauro Mansion

Address: Geldersekade 16, 1012 BH Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#6 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
#11 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#11 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: $128 - $227 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mauro is a relaxed, romantic and quirky 9-room hotel, situated in a classic 16th century canal house right in the middle of the historical centre. You will find yourself between 2 former medieval city gates, a unique spot to start exploring Amsterdam. Please be advised that we are not suitable for children andor any parties larger then 5 persons. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mauro Mansion Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing