We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Eve's Guesthouse

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Eve's Guesthouse
Save
You added Eve's Guesthouse to your Saves list
Ranked #225 of 330 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at Eve's!
It was well located within walking distance of most things and the room was nice and spacious!
Breakfast was generous and kept us going for most of the morning. The facilities were really clean.
Glad we had our packs and not suitcases as the stairs are not for the faint-hearted!
Overall a good stay!

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank PaulNBeckTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    13
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
15
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

My sister and I stayed at Eve's two weeks ago and it's been a very pleasant experience. Optimal location: close to Central station, in the center but not noisy, 5 min walk to the canals.

The rooms were nice, breakfast was a perfect kick-off for the day. Not super filling (American style) but exactly what you need so you don't venture out on an empty stomach.

The ownes are excellent, great communication! They are not there (and there is no need for it) but easily reachable if needed. This is a truly "in the city" apartment experience. Couldnt have asked for more.

Thank you!

Angelina

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Travelingpants A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven, CT
Level Contributor
67 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

As other have mentioned, this little B&B, which is just a few rooms with a shared kitchen really, is above a gay sex toy shop, and you can see a couple of "red lights" from your window. We didn't mind either of those things (all part of the Amsterdam charm!), but of course if you have young kids or you just don't want to see those kinds of things this wouldn't be the place for you.

Otherwise, we thought the place was pretty great for the price. A few family members stayed at a much nicer (and bigger) hotel about a half mile down the street and sure it was nice, but considering our room at Eve's was 1/3 of the price, and we got to their hotel with just a 5-minute bike ride, I thought we had the better deal! We had an ensuite room and were so happy with the big comfy beds, and the large, beautiful windows you can sit in and look down on the street below. The bathroom was pretty standard, no complaints. The room was clean, and the continental breakfast was fine - they even set things out for you in the morning, and you could go into the kitchen at any time as you felt like it (also, lots of fun guidebooks and maps to peruse in the dining area, which was helpful). We barely saw the staff (no need for it), but they were very pleasant checking us into the room. The neighborhood is somewhat quiet at night which is good (for sleeping) and bad (doesn't feel quite as safe as a busier area with more people might), but we honestly felt pretty safe the whole time. A quick walk/bike ride/tram ride to anywhere you'd like to go in the city, but also close and easy to find from the train station. We truly loved this place and would go back again! A great choice for those who aren't looking to stay in a hostel but still want something affordable.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shanhou3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012 via mobile

The folks working at Eve's could not have been more helpful. There is a fridge stocked with drinks that you can purchase on the honor system and the rooms were comfy and clean. Very close to all the fun Amsterdam has to offer. For the price you could not ask for better service or location.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Corkessee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Korea
Level Contributor
40 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

Little tired let me make this quick - the location is great - under 10 minute walk from the train station. As touristy Amsterdam is quite small, that makes it an easy walk to most everywhere else of great interest. Though I'd suggest renting a bike (a good shop is 6-ish doors down, toward the train station), to make it more fun.

The room we had was...OK. It looked very much like a well cared for, late- 1970s furnished apartment. I'm pretty sure that's what it was...

That said, it was a bedroom, hallway, then two separate rooms, one with toilet/sink, and one with toilet/shower. All ours. It was all very homey. Then a kitchen we shared with other guests (though never saw them). All in all, I'd say a great price for Amsterdam/its location.

Bottom line - for Amsterdam prices, we liked it a lot. People who especially like a homey charm...probably would absolutely love it.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mmace1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
71 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

We chose the ensuite room. The room & bathroom were nice and clean. However, the bathroom was flooded after showering because there was no shower curtain. The breakfast was delicious (ham, cheese, bread, spreads, juice, etc.) On our second night, we found a mouse in the room even though the owner had placed mouse traps in the room. Everything else however, was great.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sophie888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

Location is great within walking distance of Centraal Station and the red light district. We arrived after hours but we just had to call and someone came and met us outside within a few minutes, at the time we didn't have any cash on us to pay for the room but the man was very kind and told us we could pay the next day at the "gift" shop downstairs. Breakfast was laid out each morning and you just had to help yourself which is great because you could eat as much or as little as you like. Downfalls were the shower head that wouldn't stay in place (we ended up jamming a toothpick in) and also the TV didn't work.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lauren S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery Collection
Centrum
Art'otel Amsterdam
Art'otel Amsterdam
#29 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 1,018 reviews
Centrum
Hotel The Exchange
Hotel The Exchange
#102 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 988 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Tulipana Residence
Tulipana Residence
#267 of 330 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 34 reviews
Centrum
Crown Bed & Breakfast
Crown Bed & Breakfast
#18 of 330 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 153 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Mansion Amsterdam
Hotel Mansion Amsterdam
#97 of 330 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eve's Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eve's Guesthouse

Property: Eve's Guesthouse
Address: Spuistraat 44, Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum , Dam Square
Hotel Style:
Ranked #225 of 330 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing