We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, friendly hostel in a great location.”
Review of Eve's Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Eve's Guesthouse
Ranked #222 of 336 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Nice, friendly hostel in a great location.”
Reviewed October 29, 2011

Eve's guesthouse was recommended to us by a friend who had stopped there and is a lovely place to stay. Me and my friend (both in our early twenties) stayed for four nights and both really liked the hostel. It was in a great location, the staff were extremely helpful and friendly and the room itself was spacious with lots of additional items we wouldn't automatically expect from a hostel (towels, tv, hairdryer, lots of information leaflets in the desk). Our bedroom and bathroom were clean and spacious.
Breakfast was served between 9 and 10.30 so you don't have to rush to get up and tea, coffee, water, beer and cola are all available in the fridge in the kitchen at all times, with an honesty jar to pay for them.
The room got very hot so the windows had to be wide open whenever we were in, which meant it could be a little bit noisy at points in the night but not constantly and not compared to the city centre.
We didn't really use the trams as we preferred to walk and the station is a ten minute walk from the hostel, if that. Trains to and from the airport were frequent and cheap (just over four euros).
The only slight negative I would have about this hostel would be that we stayed for four nights and the bins in our room and bathroom weren't emptied once. I usually find this is done at hostels and was a little disappointed it wasn't. Other than that, I would highly recommend Eve's hostel and would stay there again if I plan a trip to Amsterdam!
You don't really see the owners at all once you check in but they let you know they are in their office if you need them. The stairs are very steep so perhaps not suitable for everyone.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank L0u88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    13
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
15
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2011

My first time in Amsterdam and my wife's second. We loved the city and we loved Eve's. The room was large and looked over the street. The bathroom was a decent size too with a good strong jet from the shower (always a plus point in my book!) The bedroom was clean
The staff were friendly and the office is manned from 09:00 - 18:00 (sometimes later) although on the printout you receive there is a contact phone number. We let them know we would be there early and called them upon arrival. There was somebody at the office to open up within minutes and as another poster wrote, you can always pop in to the sex shop downstairs and ask them if you can have the keys.

Our only complaint was that some rickshaw drivers outside were having a loud conversation in the early hours of the morning, waiting for jobs from the "coffee shop" next door but I can hardly blame that on the hotel.

It was very central - 5 minutes walk one way and you were in Centraal station. 5 minutes walk the other way and you were in Dam Square. The red light district is about 10 minutes away by foot although there are some red lights around the hotel too.

If you don't like cannabis, prostitution and sex shops, this may not be the hotel for you but then, Amsterdam is probably not the city for you either!

If you want a good, clean hotel with friendly staff in the city centre of Amsterdam then Eve's is your place and well worthy of a 5 star review.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Liverpoolpaddy1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 12, 2011

Much more then I'd expected.
The rooms are not that small and even normal.
The location is very good.
Breakfast not the good but you are in amsterdam..

More then good value for money.

I will recommend to everyone!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BaRzAg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2011

Alright, so it's above a gay sex toy shop and across the street from red light windows, and right next to a coffee shop. Very Amsterdam in a way. This isn't why we are marking it down though, that is just Amsterdam. The day we arrived at 10:30, and we had told the manager we were arriving at 11am, so we waited 30 minutes, but no one showed up. Met some other people who wanted to check out, but they also had a problem finding the manager, even though they had said that they would be checking out then. After waiting another 15 or so minutes the manager of the downstairs sex toy shop showed up and was very helpful in taking our bags. Credit to him, but it is isn't really his job. The room was alright, pretty marked walls. Tiny, tiny shower. The breakfast was alright, a little stingy though. You don't really have much contact at all with the staff, so don't know if they are helpful. What got us was that my wife accidentally left a ring on the TV on our last day and rushed back to get it, only to find that the cleaner had put it in her wallet, she was saying it was too small for her fingers, so sounded like she was planning on giving it to someone else. So, be careful with your stuff. Maybe hard to trust people here

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Solyanka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wirral
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2011

Clean, comfortable guesthouse within walking distance of station. Staff very friendly and helpful.Good breakfast. Spacious rooms, with dining room and kitchen giving a feel of n apartment rather than just b and b.Good restaurants within walking distance.
Excellent value for money.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lizwirral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2011

3 of us were looking for economical lodging and Eves was the perfect solution an easy walk from the train station. Enjoyed having a kitchen (though there was only a microwave available for cooking; no stovetop.) We occupied 2 of the 3 rooms (each of which has its own bath.) Our room on the street had poor bathroom ventilation or ? and developed a strong musty smell and the beds were just OK, but even with that we had a great time and would stay there again for the location and cost. There's a nice big table where breakfast is serves which provides a nice place to hang out and share stories after a long day of sight-seeing. Check the map before you leave the train station; it's only a few blocks away.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarilynPortland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2010

Eve's is THE place to stay for any traveller coming to Amsterdam. Very reasonably priced for the quality of the rooms there. My friend and I stayed in the same room as the previous reviewer and the only flaw I can think of is that there was no daily housekeeping. But I don't see how that would be a major problem for a short stay.
PERFECT location and service was top-notch. There's no reception but the gay shop downstairs is owned by the same management and the staff there was always happy to help.
Breakfast consisted of rolls/bread/crackers and spreads and was always neatly and promptly spread out every morning.
Would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lipsness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Hotel Citadel
Hotel Citadel
#114 of 368 in Amsterdam
896 reviews
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery by Sofitel
Centrum
WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Singel Hotel Amsterdam
Singel Hotel Amsterdam
#162 of 368 in Amsterdam
929 reviews
Centrum
Hotel The Exchange
Hotel The Exchange
#118 of 368 in Amsterdam
1,202 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Multatuli
Hotel Multatuli
#239 of 368 in Amsterdam
512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eve's Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eve's Guesthouse

Property: Eve's Guesthouse
Address: Spuistraat 44, 1012 TS Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum , Dam Square
Hotel Style:
Ranked #222 of 336 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing