We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just like in Italy! But with nicer people!”
Review of La Perla

La Perla
Ranked #100 of 3,858 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $18
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Takeout
Neighborhood: Jordaan
Description: In the heart of the Amsterdam neighborhood known as 'De Jordaan', there is a street popularly known as 'Little Italy'. This street owes its nickname to the relatively large amount of high standard Italian restaurants in the area. Only one of these makes pizzas: La Perla.We've built a large wood fueled brick oven, which is essential to baking a great pizza. You can take away our pizzas, or - when in the Jordaan, do as the Jordanezen do - eat in the pizzeria, have an espresso or a dessert and enjoy the lively in- and outdoor scene.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
88 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Just like in Italy! But with nicer people!”
Reviewed October 11, 2012

This is just THEE BEST!
It only opens late afternoon and until 10.
You cant drink any alcoholic beverages with the pizza but who cares?!

There Pizza is made with real Italian products and with a nice wooden oven. Need I say more?

There is a big wooden table in the inside, but beware places fill up fast! STILL WORTH THE WAIT FOR A SEAT.

Go! You wont regret it!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LizInAmsterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

612 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    334
    207
    40
    18
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
La Plata, Argentina
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best pizza in many years”
Reviewed October 5, 2012 via mobile

We find this place in tripadvisor and we decided to go. The place is small, but the pizza is the best I've ever tried in a restaurant.

Helpful?
Thank gercholp
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Level Contributor
48 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Perfect pizza!”
Reviewed October 4, 2012

We were a family of five out for a late evening snack on your way back to the flat. We had not thought of pizza, but the saw the giant and open wood-fired pizza oven in the restaurant (or not really a restaurant, more like an take away-outlet) and were tempted. The pizzas were fabulous, the staff very friendly, and we even managed to find room at the only real table by the side of a giant stack of wood. All the time other guests were ordering, some for take away, some to hang around the other chairs on the inside and outside. Really recommended! (on the other side of the corner there is also a La Perla RESTAURANT, that we did not check out.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank palkar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen, Norway
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best pizza ever”
Reviewed October 2, 2012

I have never had a better pizza before. Although I have yet to visit Italia, I am pretty serious about pizzas. So is La Perla. The buffalo mozzarella is amazing and the wood fired oven gives an excellent taste. They serve local micro brewery beer that was perfect for pizzas. Recommended!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank apekattenhugo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
6 reviews
“Great pizza in the Jordaan”
Reviewed September 30, 2012

La Perla has great pizza, and quite possibly the best pizza in Amsterdam. This restaurant is in the Jordaan, a short walk from Prinsgracht. The pizzas are cooked in wood fired ovens, and are the most amazing thin crust pizza I have ever eaten. They have a great selection of toppings, good selection of beers, and friendly staff.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank whyknow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Perla also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to La Perla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing