We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amsterdam from a special perspective” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Amsterdam in World War II Walking Tour

Amsterdam in World War II Walking Tour
Ranked #3 of 347 Tours in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Learn about the terrible experiences of Amsterdam during the Nazi occupation of World War Two, visit the famous sites of the Golden Age. We also offer tailor made family tours. A must for those with a passion for History. For details and bookings go to our website.
New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amsterdam from a special perspective”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

This was the highlight of our time in Amsterdam, if not all of Holland.
In anticipation of a trip to Amsterdam in April, I contacted Peter asking for a tour of Dutch Jewish history after another tour guide who specializes in Jewish Amsterdam was unavailable. Peter referred me back to the same highly recommended Jewish history guide for a referral while she was out of town, but she did not repsond. Peter took us on, and are we ever happy he did!

Peter lead the four of us on a journey through history and Amsterdam that was unique in its detailed and sensitive telling, with photos of before, during and after WW II, of familiar and centuries old sites that only a film documentarian, which he is, can do.

What started out as a 2-3 hour walk, ended up to be much more with in depth discussions of the people, politics, food, religions and recent scholarly discoveries of past and present Amsterdam. He left us off at the Jewsih History Museum, a theatre that the Nazis turned into a hellish deportation center, where he said he had 'shed many tears'; evidence of his respect, sensitivity and scholarship of the WW II era, of which he is an expert.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank wpsp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

894 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    854
    35
    2
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Must-do tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

This was a great tour. In fact, it is a must-do tour. We highly recommend it at the beginning of your Amsterdam visit because it provided a wonderful orientation to the city.

Tour started right on time. Ben filled in for Peter who was sick. Good back up coverage and teamwork. In retrospect, we would have been highly disappointed if the tour had been cancelled.

We also enjoyed the highly defined scope of the tour. Since it was themed, it was automatically focused. Not like, "here is the art museum, here is the parliament, etc."

Information was presented very well. English is flawless. Ben used a photo book to show us how the sites looked during the war, because many things look a bit different. He pointed out all sorts of little treasures of monuments that we would never have seen or noticed on our own.

The presentation was good and everyone in our small group was engaged. All sorts of questions were asked, and Ben was able to answer everything.

The website points out that a few things are not included on the tour, such as a visit to the Anne Frank House. No problem, you see them from the outside, get your bearings and then go visit them on your own.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank JLHouston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mernda, Australia
Level Contributor
76 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Love History, Love this tour.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

We pre booked this tour before we left for Amsterdam. The reviews on Tripadvisor were all positive. We would have to agree. Peter, our tour guide certainly knows his history. Meeting point for our tour was just in front of the Anne Frank house. We received a little package which Peter put together, which was very informative. Total of our tour group was 8, including Peter. The tour lasted for about 3 hours. 1/2 way point we stopped for a coffee & toilet break. (The coffee here tasted great, best I have had, hands down).... Did not seem like we had walked for 3 hours as we were really enjoying our time. I would highly recommend doing this tour, was very informative and very interesting. Having a good tour guide helps, and Peter is the best. Don't hesitate to book, you will not be disappointed. Cost ( 25 Euro per person) Well worth it.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Kristine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Informative Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013

My review is slightly late as we are still traveling through Europe and have been very busy but can say without any question that the Tour Peter took us on was the best of our trip. Peter's knowledge base of the unfortunate past of the WWII period in Amsterdam and beyond is amazing. He really enjoys what he does and it shows. He provided ideas of what else we could do while in Amsterdam and most importantly was funny and friendly. Highly recommend to all.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank will1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not just for history buffs”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013

This tour was a great way to gain a new perspective of Amsterdam and learn about a very dark period in the city's history, covering a great many points of interest, at a perfect pace and providing insight into both historically significant landmarks as well as the city itself. Ben was an incredible guide, with a great knowledge of the Nazi occupation, as well as the city itself, referring to historical photos along the way and was more than willing to answer questions while still ensuring the walk kept progressing. While the tour covers a very depressing, dark subject and is very moving, Ben was able to ensure the small group finished the tour with an important understanding of the terrible events that occurred during WWII, feeling enlightened, not depressed. Highly recommended!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank sheen24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Amsterdam in World War II Walking Tour also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Amsterdam in World War II Walking Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing