We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amsterdam from a different angle” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Amsterdam in World War II Walking Tour

Amsterdam in World War II Walking Tour
Ranked #3 of 347 Tours in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Learn about the terrible experiences of Amsterdam during the Nazi occupation of World War Two, visit the famous sites of the Golden Age. We also offer tailor made family tours. A must for those with a passion for History. For details and bookings go to our website.
Waldmohr, Germany
1 review
“Amsterdam from a different angle”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2013

Please note that no organized combat operations occurred in Amsterdam during the Second World War. This tour concerns life in Amsterdam during the war, with an emphasis on the deportations. I enjoy studying and reading about military history; my wife does not. We both thoroughly enjoyed this tour. Peter ensured that we hit not only the main war-related sites of Amsterdam, but took time to point out and explain other sites, as well, ensuring we gained a good understanding of the overlapping layers of Amsterdam’s fascinating history. He also proved a dedicated emailer, providing us with helpful materials concerning our tour both prior to and after our walk. I highly recommend this intimate educational experience for all those interested in observing Amsterdam from a different angle.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank WTFoxJr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

894 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    854
    35
    2
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“WW2 Walking Tour with Ben de Jong”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013

For anyone who is interested in WW2, this walking tour is highly recommended! Ben De Jong who is the tour guide, makes his comments precise with a spence of personal family experience. It is his authenticity that differentiates this from an ordinary walk through Amsterdam sites. Not to br missed!,

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Emil S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Do This Tour Before Anything Else”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2013

What you didn't learn in history books, you will learn from Ben. He brings WW II history to life--you experience what it was like to live in Holland during that tragic time. Ben is not only knowledgeable, he is has a great sense of humor, and he is intent on answering everyone's questions.

This is not your typical tour. The group is small, and Ben's real-life stories are riveting. Whether you like history or not, the best decision you can make is to join this walk.

Thank you, Ben, for an amazing and unforgettable experience.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Joanne0520
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
43 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Enjoyable and Informative tour!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2013

Peter was a wonderful guide using pictures and stories during and before WWII. I would never have known about the monuments in honor of the Jewish people and the Resistance fighters without Peter's tour. I highly recommend this even to those who are not history buffs because you will have a nice walking tour of Amsterdam. My college age daughter really enjoyed it.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Hammercollector
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful Walking Tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2013

Ben's WW II walk was one of the highlights of our stay in Amsterdam. The walk addressess both the major events and the personal tragedies of the occupation. Ben was interesting and informative, and the walk was a good way to become oriented to the city. Thank you Ben for a wonderful afternoon!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank lorirprice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Amsterdam in World War II Walking Tour also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Amsterdam in World War II Walking Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing