We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Iconic Amsterdam”
Review of The Posthoorn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Posthoorn
Ranked #22 of 338 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Reviewed March 1, 2014

In May 2013 my sister and I stayed here in the Canal View room for 5 nights. You never forget where you are...the canal, the houseboats, the bicycles, the view of the traditional buildings across the way. I concur with all the wonderful things that have been said in previous reviews. The room was small but that is to be expected in a canal house. The host, Francois, could not have been more helpful, both prior to our arrival and after we were there. The location was excellent with many restaurants nearby and easily walkable from the train station. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank JDFOttawaCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (297)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

86 - 92 of 297 reviews

Reviewed February 26, 2014

We booked the Canal View room for 4 nights. We always attempt to stay at B & B's that are as good or better than home. This is it! We highly recommend The Posthoorn. Everything we would say about our stay, has been said already. We genuinely echo all the positives! We had just the most comfortable perfect stay. Francois, your commitment to making your guests feel so welcome made our stay and first visit to Amsterdam just so memorable. Thank you.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Petersueoliver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2014

The lovely renovated B&B in one of the charming historic buildings along the Prinsengracht is located in the middle of one of the most popular parts of the city called Jordaan with many nice restaurants just around the corner. You feel immediately very welcome as your host takes his time to explain you the history of the building, discuss your plans for the next days and recommends some must do's and as well a variety of good restaurants in walking distance. The recommendations turned out to be really perfect. We had the Patio room that is rather big and fully equipped with a modern bathroom and a small kitchen. We got a rich breakfast along with unlimited tea and coffee. We can highly recommend the Posthoorn and will for sure be back with our next visit to Amsterdam.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Martin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2014

A great place. We loved the room, the house, the central location (just far enough from the madding crowds of the Red Light District yet still in the picturesque heart of the city), the knowledgeable and friendly host, Francois, his ideas for things to do in and outside Amsterdam, as well as the useful, pre-arrival suggestions, the breakfasts, ... shall we go on? We run a 4-star,silver award, B&B ourselves so feel qualified to wholeheartedly recommend the Posthoorn to future visitors.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Acorns08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2014

I came here last week with my boyfriend for three nights.

Leading up to arriving the owner was easily reached via email. He gave fantastic directions from the airport to the hotel and was very professional.

The location was brilliant - a few minutes walk away from The Anne Frank House. We ended up walking everywhere and only got a train to/from the airport.

We stayed in the 'hidden church room' - which had a lovely comfy bed, seating area by the window which looked up onto the quiet street and canal, wardrobe, television (with UK and USA channels), small kitchenette (which we used to make two or three meals - there is a few good shops nearby selling pasta, etc which were reasonably priced and seemed to be very fresh/good quality) and shower room. The whole area was very clean and tidy. The shower was powerful.

Every morning we were brought breakfast (a vast array of breads, croissants, cheese, ham, boiled eggs, yoghurts, and spreads - you won't go hungry!) - which was lovely. The room was also cleaned every day to a very high standard.

The owner was very thorough in telling us the history of the property and about the local area. He also went through a map explaining good areas to visit, things to see. His knowledge was worth a lot and would be worth staying here just for his helpful local tips!

I cannot find anything bad to say about the Posthoorn - I would definitely stay here again, and I would definitely recommend it to friends and family. :)

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank n5am
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2014

a home away from home, just perfect for a perfect holiday very quiet place,relaxed,Extremely Clean just Perfect all i can say.was supposed to stay for 2nights but i had to extend to 4 nights:-),the owner was very Helpful,he directed us nice restaurants,place to see,Anna Frankhouse is just few metres away,walkable distance from Central station,Redlight,lots of restaurants around.very nice breakfast enjoyed french eggs,croissant,better,fresh juice,fresh fruits, and also in Time.i felt was in heaven.Highly recommended. i can't wait to come back:-)

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Denzel n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2014

i recently stayed at the posthoorn for a few days in october. i was thoroughly impressed with the location and service i received. before i even traveled i was in constant communication with the owner-francois. as i was traveling alone i wanted to ensure that there would be no hiccups along the way. francois always replied promptly to my emails and provided very useful information to me even before i arrived. upon arrival he provided a warm welcome. he went over the history of the place and then sat with me and explained the surrounding area, recommended places to visit and eat, and also provided me with a map and directions on how to maneuver around the city. this was my first time traveling to amsterdam but it most certainly wont be my last. i would definitely stay here again and recommend it to anyone. i traveled alone and felt completely safe. the hotel was in a perfect location-i walked pretty much everywhere. i chose the canal view room and loved it! the breakfast provided in the morning was good. overall i had a great experience!!!

Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
10  Thank Rachel E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
B&B Barangay
B&B Barangay
#6 of 338 in Amsterdam
927 reviews
Centrum
Crown Bed & Breakfast
Crown Bed & Breakfast
#18 of 338 in Amsterdam
184 reviews
Jordaan
Eelhouse B&B
Eelhouse B&B
#32 of 338 in Amsterdam
191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Amsterdam At Home
Amsterdam At Home
#26 of 338 in Amsterdam
201 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Vanguard
The Vanguard
#16 of 338 in Amsterdam
185 reviews
Jordaan
Mr. Jordaan Hotel
Mr. Jordaan Hotel
#7 of 338 in Amsterdam
274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Posthoorn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Posthoorn

Address: Prinsengracht 7, 1015 DK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 338 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range: $184 - $212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Posthoorn 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Housed within the fine walls of a listed historical 17th century canal house on one of Amsterdam's most picturesque canals in the heart of the city - the Prinsengracht - part of the UNESCO World Heritage, The Posthoorn Bed and Breakfast features three charming rooms which offer guests four-star luxury whilst staying in the Jordaan district. The Canal View Room, Patio Room and Hidden Church Room ooze opulent and stylish character within the pleasant atmosphere of this contemporary bed and breakfast flawlessly disguised in the old-fashioned exterior of this canal house. The history behind this interesting building dates back to 1578, during which time Catholics were refused to visit their churches so several hidden churches were built in private houses. Around 1650, one was built in the basement of what stands as The Posthoon today and if you wish the owner will be pleased to tell you the history of the house. The elegant decor of The Posthoorn is boasted throughout each and every room. The livingspaces feature a flat-screen cable TV, en-suite bathroom with under-floor heating, comfortable sofas, free wireless internet. In each room you will find a kitchenette including coffee maker, microwave and refrigerator complete with white wine, beer, orange juice, milk and mineral water. Full continental breakfast including freshly baked bread and croissants is served to guests in their room each morning. Staff aim to make guests' stay at the Posthoorn memorable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Posthoorn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing