We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great hospitality at perfect location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Posthoorn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Posthoorn
Ranked #26 of 329 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Lachen, Switzerland
Level Contributor
112 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Great hospitality at perfect location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

The lovely renovated B&B in one of the charming historic buildings along the Prinsengracht is located in the middle of one of the most popular parts of the city called Jordaan with many nice restaurants just around the corner. You feel immediately very welcome as your host takes his time to explain you the history of the building, discuss your plans for the next days and recommends some must do's and as well a variety of good restaurants in walking distance. The recommendations turned out to be really perfect. We had the Patio room that is rather big and fully equipped with a modern bathroom and a small kitchen. We got a rich breakfast along with unlimited tea and coffee. We can highly recommend the Posthoorn and will for sure be back with our next visit to Amsterdam.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Martin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    235
    32
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
43
161
14
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

A great place. We loved the room, the house, the central location (just far enough from the madding crowds of the Red Light District yet still in the picturesque heart of the city), the knowledgeable and friendly host, Francois, his ideas for things to do in and outside Amsterdam, as well as the useful, pre-arrival suggestions, the breakfasts, ... shall we go on? We run a 4-star,silver award, B&B ourselves so feel qualified to wholeheartedly recommend the Posthoorn to future visitors.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Acorns08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

I came here last week with my boyfriend for three nights.

Leading up to arriving the owner was easily reached via email. He gave fantastic directions from the airport to the hotel and was very professional.

The location was brilliant - a few minutes walk away from The Anne Frank House. We ended up walking everywhere and only got a train to/from the airport.

We stayed in the 'hidden church room' - which had a lovely comfy bed, seating area by the window which looked up onto the quiet street and canal, wardrobe, television (with UK and USA channels), small kitchenette (which we used to make two or three meals - there is a few good shops nearby selling pasta, etc which were reasonably priced and seemed to be very fresh/good quality) and shower room. The whole area was very clean and tidy. The shower was powerful.

Every morning we were brought breakfast (a vast array of breads, croissants, cheese, ham, boiled eggs, yoghurts, and spreads - you won't go hungry!) - which was lovely. The room was also cleaned every day to a very high standard.

The owner was very thorough in telling us the history of the property and about the local area. He also went through a map explaining good areas to visit, things to see. His knowledge was worth a lot and would be worth staying here just for his helpful local tips!

I cannot find anything bad to say about the Posthoorn - I would definitely stay here again, and I would definitely recommend it to friends and family. :)

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank n5am
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

a home away from home, just perfect for a perfect holiday very quiet place,relaxed,Extremely Clean just Perfect all i can say.was supposed to stay for 2nights but i had to extend to 4 nights:-),the owner was very Helpful,he directed us nice restaurants,place to see,Anna Frankhouse is just few metres away,walkable distance from Central station,Redlight,lots of restaurants around.very nice breakfast enjoyed french eggs,croissant,better,fresh juice,fresh fruits, and also in Time.i felt was in heaven.Highly recommended. i can't wait to come back:-)

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Denzel n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

i recently stayed at the posthoorn for a few days in october. i was thoroughly impressed with the location and service i received. before i even traveled i was in constant communication with the owner-francois. as i was traveling alone i wanted to ensure that there would be no hiccups along the way. francois always replied promptly to my emails and provided very useful information to me even before i arrived. upon arrival he provided a warm welcome. he went over the history of the place and then sat with me and explained the surrounding area, recommended places to visit and eat, and also provided me with a map and directions on how to maneuver around the city. this was my first time traveling to amsterdam but it most certainly wont be my last. i would definitely stay here again and recommend it to anyone. i traveled alone and felt completely safe. the hotel was in a perfect location-i walked pretty much everywhere. i chose the canal view room and loved it! the breakfast provided in the morning was good. overall i had a great experience!!!

Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
10 Thank Rachel E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2013

We chose this hotel based on TripAdvisor reviews, location and price, and were not disappointed!

Location

Just far enough from the city centre so as not to be overly touristy, but within 5 mins walk in all directions there are things of interest to see, both everyday Amsterdammers going about their normal day, but also many places of tourist focus.

Room

Lovely room of good size, nicely furnished with quality. Would happily pack it up and take it home!

Breakfast

You won't go wanting!

Host

Francois was really helpful - great host, and good advice on what to see/where to go, and also about how to avoid the crazy cyclists that go the wrong way down one-way streets, and on pavements without lights!!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Young_Andy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

I recently halted at The Posthoorn for three nights on an unplanned tour to Amsterdam. Glad I chose this particular Hotel. Located on the Prinsengracht canal, the Hotel is very close to major attractions such as Anne Frank house and The Nine Streets. The Hotel is a perfect B&B and offered a delicious Breakfast with plentiful servings of pastries. The rooms were elegant, well furnished had a cute attached Kitchen and a refrigerator. The room service was usually quick and did a commendable job. The linens and pillows were clean and fresh. I would suggest the Canal Room for some mesmerizing view. The host, Francois, is an amazing gentleman and gave me some wonderful recommendations on restaurants and places worth visiting.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Margaret F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#17 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 564 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
B&B Barangay
B&B Barangay
#6 of 329 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 843 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Bees B&B
Bees B&B
#16 of 329 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Tulip of Amsterdam B&B
Tulip of Amsterdam B&B
#4 of 329 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 385 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Blue Sheep Bed & Breakfast Amsterdam
Centrum
Crown Bed & Breakfast
Crown Bed & Breakfast
#19 of 329 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Posthoorn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Posthoorn

Property: The Posthoorn
Address: Prinsengracht 7, 1015 DK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 329 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Posthoorn 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Housed within the fine walls of a listed historical 17th century canal house on one of Amsterdam's most picturesque canals in the heart of the city - the Prinsengracht - part of the UNESCO World Heritage, The Posthoorn Bed and Breakfast features three charming rooms which offer guests four-star luxury whilst staying in the Jordaan district. The Canal View Room, Patio Room and Hidden Church Room ooze opulent and stylish character within the pleasant atmosphere of this contemporary bed and breakfast flawlessly disguised in the old-fashioned exterior of this canal house. The history behind this interesting building dates back to 1578, during which time Catholics were refused to visit their churches so several hidden churches were built in private houses. Around 1650, one was built in the basement of what stands as The Posthoon today and if you wish the owner will be pleased to tell you the history of the house. The elegant decor of The Posthoorn is boasted throughout each and every room. The livingspaces feature a flat-screen cable TV, en-suite bathroom with under-floor heating, comfortable sofas, free wireless internet. In each room you will find a kitchenette including coffee maker, microwave and refrigerator complete with white wine, beer, orange juice, milk and mineral water. Full continental breakfast including freshly baked bread and croissants is served to guests in their room each morning. Staff aim to make guests' stay at the Posthoorn memorable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your The Posthoorn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing