We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Perfect location and a lovely host” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Posthoorn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Posthoorn
Ranked #26 of 330 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Prince Edward County, Ontario
Level Contributor
86 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Perfect location and a lovely host”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2013

We stayed four nights at the Posthoorn. Out host, Francois was a really lovely man and very accommodating. The location is perfect in the Jordaan District. Our room (The Patio Room) was spacious and comfortable. All things did not work well in the bathroom, however and though they were only minor irritations they contribute to why we didn't rate this as a 5. The stops in both sinks didn't work, the shower head was great but wouldn't stay positioned. The lighting in the bathroom made it difficult to put on make-up.

Breakfast was delivered every morning by Francois to our little kitchenette. I was a great service, always fresh and good but it was the same each day. I feel that there was a waste of food as a result. This house does not accommodate a community room for breakfast but I wished it did so that we could only choose what we wanted.

The bed was great and we slept really well while we were there. We particularly appreciated the quilt on the bed that allowed us to have a lightweight cover for our afternoon naps.

Francois recommended some spots for dinner and they were all very good. If you stay in Jordaan, I would recommend that you ask Francois to make reservations a day in advance as we encountered two fully booked conditions for restaurants that we wanted to try. Francois was terrific to resolve an issue with one of the restaurants that turned us away.

We would certainly recommend this B&B to anyone going to Amsterdam.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MPRTraveler48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    237
    33
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
44
163
14
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paramus, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

We stayed at the Posthoorn for 3 nights in the Hidden Church room and overall our experience was was very nice. The location is in the Jordaan, which is just a few blocks away from the Anne Frank house and the Nine Streets (one of the best places in the city). It is a 15 minute walk from Central Station. Our host Francois, was very warm and accommodating. When we first arrived, he gave us a map and a list of places he recommended we visit and eat which was very helpful. He also arranged transportation back to the airport The room was spacious and clean, with a small kitchen for snacks and coffee which was great. You can come and go as you please. We never heard a peep from him or his family except when he dropped off breakfast. The breakfast every morning is very fresh and filling. There is also free wifi, and while the signal can be weak the fact that it is free was much appreciated. As mentioned on their website, if you are over 6ft tall, then I wouldn't recommend the Hidden Church room as the ceilings are pretty low. My wife and I are under 6 feet, so it was perfect for us and the room is wonderful, complete with the original marble from the Hidden Church that once was here. Overall, we would stay at the Posthoorn again when we return to Amsterdam and would recommend it to our friends and family.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NiruB8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steamboat Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
251 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights in the Canal View room. We loved watching street life and canal life right outside our window. We had made a mistake in our booking, completely our fault, and arrived a day early. The host was most gracious and accommodating in solving the problem. The walk from Centraal Station was easy with rollaboard suitcases. Room was very clean and nicely decorated with thoughtful touches like good reading lights. We appreciated the little kitchen just for snacks. Breakfast was delicious and plentiful, served in our room at a cozy table with seating next to the window. Shower was very nice. Bed was extremely comfortable. We never heard a sound from the resident family, and were free to come and go as we pleased with complete privacy. Wifi, much appreciated, was fast and worked perfectly. The location is lovely and convenient. We are already planning a return to the entertaining city of Amsterdam, and will certainly choose the Posthoorn again. Bonus history: the house dates from the 1600s. It once held a secret church during a time of religious persecution. There was once even a secret escape tunnel which went under the canal to the equally historic cafe just across the canal.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tallpinesCO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

Our stay at the Posthoorn was very enjoyable. The location was wonderful; located on the famous Prinsengracht canal, you're a stone's throw away from the Central Station and attractions like the Anne Frank house and The Nine Streets (Amsterdam's most picturesque streets and canals). The breakfast each morning was fresh and plentiful. The room was incredibly clean and welcoming, the bed incredibly comfortable, and the Posthoorn building had quite a history and story. We were provided free internet (which isn't always the case in Europe) and, unlike a previous review, we had no issues with our connection. Francois was a gracious host who made sure our every needs were met and was a pleasure to speak with. When we go back to Amsterdam, we will most definitely stay at the Posthoorn. We would have no reservations recommending this to our dearest friends.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Patio Room, which faces away from the main street - I can't speak for the other...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SLCUTTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
95 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013

The Posthoorn is a lovely B&B in the Jordaan, just a few blocks up from the Anne Frank House and close to many pubs and brasseries. It's a fairly easy 10- to 15-minute walk from Centraal Station, doable for anyone with a small/medium rolling suitcase. We stayed in the Canal Room, which offers a pleasant view and a very comfortable king bed, and seemed very quiet to us--but of course we were very tired from all the sightseeing! The room itself was small but sufficient for our needs, and we appreciated the complimentary beverages provided in the mini fridge. The shower in the bathroom is a bit tight for one person, which I note only for anyone for whom that might be a concern. Finally, Francois is a delightful host, provided a nourishing breakfast each morning, and sincerely cared that we enjoy our stay. He made excellent restaurant suggestions (Ko Chang and Prego, for example) and was a great resource for all things Amsterdam. Thank you, Francois, for everything!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AyBeeOh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, CA, USA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

Well located in a charming part of Amsterdam, the Posthoorn provides a convenient, clean and comfortable home base from which to explore the city. My husband and I stayed in the Canal Room, where we especially enjoyed the view of the canal and that of the residents of Amsterdam bicycling, strolling or walking past our large windows. We also loved being in the Jordaan, close to everything of interest to us but far enough away from the hustle and bustle of the busier tourist centers. Although the room faces the street, there are relatively few cars driven in Amsterdam, so we had no exhaust fumes or engine noises to contend with. In addition, day shades provide both light and privacy. While the room was most pleasant, the very best part of our stay at the Posthoorn was the hospitality extended by Francois, the owner, who puts heart and soul in making sure that guests are comfortable, informed and well nourished before heading out to explore the city in the morning. His breakfasts were beautifully presented and delivered promptly at the time we had arranged the night before. We enjoyed talking with him very much as he shared information about city attractions, its history and current events--as a private tour guide might do. It is clear that Francois loves Amsterdam and hopes that those who stay at the Posthoorn will feel the same way about it as they discover all that it has to offer. Were we to plan another trip to Amsterdam, we would definitely stay at the Posthoorn again for the warm welcome we received, the very comforable room, the excellent location and Francois's desire to make our visit both enjoyable and memorable. Thank you to Francois for sharing his historic home and his knowledge of and passion for Amsterdam with us! This is the kind of experience that is difficult to have at even the best of hotels.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jwgough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

We stayed for three nights September 2013. I chose the canal room, and we were so happy that we did, as the room has two large windows, looking out over the canal scene. The room was an acceptable size for us, with a small kitchenette, including a handy refrigerator. Our host, Francois, was very helpful when we checked in, giving us enough information to get us on our way in Amsterdam. We were very thankful that we chose this establishment because it is a real neighbourhood feel, while still close to the main attractions in town. On Saturday, there was a wonderful market that took place just a block away. There was everything there, including food, flowers, clothing, shoes, costume jewellry, and antiques. On Monday there was a flea market on another street, also about a block away. Anne Frank Museum is a 2 or 3 block walk from here. We did not have an issue with noise from the street, or the owners above us. Francois served us a beautiful breakfast in the mornings, in our room. The person who cleaned the room did such a good job of making the bed, that we could have sworn the sheets were changed daily. There were 3 beers in the fridge when we got there, but they were not replenished over our 3 day period. The bathroom was a bit tight, but clean. My only issue was with some mould in the shower. Other than that, I would definitely recommend this B & B. Thank you, Francois, for such a memorable stay in Amsterdam!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank happygirl064
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Canal House
Canal House
#20 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 587 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Max Brown Hotel Canal District
Max Brown Hotel Canal District
#103 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 855 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
B&B Barangay
B&B Barangay
#6 of 330 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 876 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stadsdeel Zuid
Tulipa Bed & Breakfast
Tulipa Bed & Breakfast
#34 of 330 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
Jordaan
Sjudoransj
Sjudoransj
#24 of 330 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
Centrum
Amsterdam At Home
Amsterdam At Home
#17 of 330 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Posthoorn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Posthoorn

Property: The Posthoorn
Address: Prinsengracht 7, 1015 DK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 330 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Posthoorn 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Housed within the fine walls of a listed historical 17th century canal house on one of Amsterdam's most picturesque canals in the heart of the city - the Prinsengracht - part of the UNESCO World Heritage, The Posthoorn Bed and Breakfast features three charming rooms which offer guests four-star luxury whilst staying in the Jordaan district. The Canal View Room, Patio Room and Hidden Church Room ooze opulent and stylish character within the pleasant atmosphere of this contemporary bed and breakfast flawlessly disguised in the old-fashioned exterior of this canal house. The history behind this interesting building dates back to 1578, during which time Catholics were refused to visit their churches so several hidden churches were built in private houses. Around 1650, one was built in the basement of what stands as The Posthoon today and if you wish the owner will be pleased to tell you the history of the house. The elegant decor of The Posthoorn is boasted throughout each and every room. The livingspaces feature a flat-screen cable TV, en-suite bathroom with under-floor heating, comfortable sofas, free wireless internet. In each room you will find a kitchenette including coffee maker, microwave and refrigerator complete with white wine, beer, orange juice, milk and mineral water. Full continental breakfast including freshly baked bread and croissants is served to guests in their room each morning. Staff aim to make guests' stay at the Posthoorn memorable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your The Posthoorn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing