We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I would come back in a heartbeat”
Review of The Posthoorn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Posthoorn
Ranked #24 of 336 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“I would come back in a heartbeat”
Reviewed November 28, 2012

I booked a stay based on reviews from TripAdvisor, and I was not disappointed.

We stayed in the patio room because we wanted someplace quiet and in the back of the house rather than on the street. The room was plenty spacious for two people. It was also nicely decorated and had a lot of convenient little extras - plenty of drawer space, a little entry area to keep shoes, a large sofa, and heated floors in the bathroom (much appreciated during the cold weekend we visited!) The bed was so comfortable I didn't want to get out of it, and the blackout curtains almost did us in. With regard to service, the room was cleaned each day - bed made, supplies re-stocked, towels folded, etc.

Francois was a wealth of information and was very accommodating. He gave us the history of the house, told us helpful information about the neighborhood, made suggestions for dinner, and called in our dinner reservations on a busy Friday. He was also very flexible about our crazy arrival - delayed almost seven hours! - and our very early morning departure. The breakfast he delivered was delicious and more than abundant for the two of us: several types of bread, pastries, fruit, yogurt, meats, cheeses, and eggs. Francois even kept the fridge stocked with complimentary beverages like bottled water, milk, and juice. In addition, there was coffee and tea in the room.

The location could not have been more perfect. It was within easy walking distance of central station, canal boat tours, delicious restaurants, and the Anne Frank House. But, it was far from the noise and some of the grittier aspects of Amsterdam. The area is residential - mostly beautiful canal homes - with lots of character. Both nights of our stay we walked around the neighborhood until very late, but we felt comfortable and safe.

We really enjoyed our stay at the Posthoorn, and would come back in a heartbeat. Thanks, Francois, for your hospitality!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fetaphile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    254
    34
    5
    2
    0
See reviews for
48
175
14
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2012

My husband & I arrived at the Posthoorn on Saturday, November 17. Our Canal Room was
ready even though we arrived before check-in time.
Our host, Francois, was there to welcome us and spent time telling us about the history of
the Posthoorn and marked a map locating suggested restaurants. As it was Saturday, he
offered to make dinner reservations for us. So thoughtful.
Everything about this cozy establishment is excellent ~ from the wonderful location to the
sumptuous breakfast Francois delivered to our room each morning at our requested time of 9 AM
Our room was spotlessly clean every evening upon our return and the refrigerator was re-stocked
every day ~ a bottle of wine, soda, beer, mineral water, juices, coffee creamers.
This was our fourth visit to Amsterdam and would never consider staying any place other than
the Posthoorn on future trips.
Kudos to Francois! He was so helpful, informative, attentive and decidedly charming!

Room Tip: the Canal Room was charming ~ bright, sunny and surprisingly quiet for being right on the street le...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BethOlesen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene,Oregon
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2012

My daughter and I stayed here on two different occasions in November, we had the back room upstairs the first time and the church room downstairs the second. First let me say Francois rocks, a wonderful, informative, helpful host. My daughter needed medical attention when she arrived Amsterdam and he got us an appointment with his doctor (also a great guy) the next day.. Both rooms we stayed in are cozy yet spacious, very well done, and the breakfast is tasty and big enough to last all day long. We traveled all over Spain, France, and the low countries for nearly a month and this was by far the coolest place we stayed. Also check out the pub on the corner across the canal connected to the Posthoorn by a secret 300 year old passageway (no you can't use it!). We spent a lot of time at this family run bar and its a great place to unwind after biking around the city all day. Thanks Francois, we'll be back!

Room Tip: All the rooms are great but stay upstairs if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GregSEugene_Oregon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vineland, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We visited Amsterdam for the first time in early October, 2012. Five of us stayed at the Posthoorn B&B taking all three room they offered. First of all, it is a perfect location. Everything is within easy walking distance - Anne Frank House; Canal Tour boats; restaurants; local bars; shopping. Even the Red Light district is within walking distance if that interests you. The neighborhood is safe, quiet and delightful. We were out at night and felt very safe. The Posthoorn is very comfortable. There are only a few steps to go up (or down); the beds are quite comfortable; bathrooms more than adequate. The breakfast was very nice indeed.

Some benefits of staying at the Posthoorn: We arrived very early (8:00 a.m.) and one room was available. So we were allowed to store our things in that room while we wandered this beautiful city. Our host furnished restaurant recommendations, maps, and ideas for our 2 day stay. The rooms were cleaned each day. The price was lower than a comparable hotel and the service so much more personal. There was a coffee maker in each room and a bottle of wine! There was so much food for breakfast, I put some in the fridge to snack on later .... fruit, boiled eggs, cheese, meat, pastries --- yum! The rooms were very, very clean. We just loved the neighborhood. Our host made sure a cab was called - verifying the cost for us - so we arrived at the cruise pier exactly when we wanted.

If I returned to Amsterdam, I would absolutely stay there again.

Room Tip: Patio Room is the largest. Hidden Church Room has two exit doors - one directly outside and one exi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Bounce877
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
36 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012

This historic building is in one of the best parts of Amsterdam. We had two rooms for four adults and we were all happy with our stay. Staying here lets you experience Amsterdam as a local might. The neighborhood is charming and it is a world removed from the seedy part of town. The Posthoorn is a comfortable walking distance from the train station and many of the major sights. Stay here for comfort, location, culture and history.

Room Tip: The room located on the bottom floor in the old church has character but very low ceilings. You may...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Muninn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Crest, New Mexico
Level 6 Contributor
168 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 335 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2012

We stayed in the Canal Room for 2 nights before embarking on a Viking river cruise. I'm sure there are plenty of wonderful places to stay in Amsterdam...What made The Posthoorn special was multifaceted.

Location: Fantastic spot right on the charming Prinsengracht Canal, one of the major canals in the city. This area, although loaded with tourists, was a "neighborhood" where residents lived and played. The canal seemed to have more houseboats than other canals we saw, at least in this area. Right outside our window was the most amazing houseboat with a lawn, gardens, patio with barbeque and pieces of art....all on the roof. So Cool! We walked from the train station with our luggage, not a particularly long walk but my suitcase wheels didn't like the cobblestones. Better would be an easy short ride by taxi. We were able to walk all over the city from this location.

Service and ambiance: As everyone else has said, Francois was just terrific...so welcoming and full of suggestions and information, including the fascinating history of the house. Our room, although not huge, was well organized and the bed was heaven. He provided us with a delicious breakfast each morning and it was enjoyable to sit at the big windows in our room and watch life unfold in this marvelous neighborhood. His suggestions were spot on. (Everything within easy walking distance.) He made reservations at "Prego" (not an Italian restaurant) for dinner....That's a different review, but go there, you won't be disappointed! Also, and this was especially helpful, he recommended a wonderful wine shop, De Ware Jacob, which was just around the corner near Prego. The owner was very helpful as we purchased several bottles to take on our river cruise....Highly recommend this shop. Francois also suggested that we go the the Saturday market on the other side of the canal. We thoroughly enjoyed this market...not a tourist trap but a place for folks in the neighborhood to shop.

Value: Put all the pluses together and considering there were no negatives (other than watching my step at the different levels) and we highly recommend The Posthoorn. If ever in Amsterdam again, we'd return to this gracious bed and breakfast in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank anniejet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Purley
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2012

We have just spent a very enjoyable weekend at the Posthoorn, Amsterdam in the two front bedrooms overlooking the canal. We were warmly welcomed by Francois and given a fascinating history of the house together with lots of useful information about Amsterdam. The rooms were very comfortable and we enjoyed delightful breakfasts served in our room.We would certainly recommend this charming B&B. Many thanks to Francois for his hospitality!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DottyP_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Canal House
Canal House
#21 of 368 in Amsterdam
668 reviews
Jordaan
Sjudoransj
Sjudoransj
#44 of 336 in Amsterdam
219 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
B&B Barangay
B&B Barangay
#6 of 336 in Amsterdam
917 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jordaan
Hotel Cappuccino
Hotel Cappuccino
#36 of 336 in Amsterdam
64 reviews
Centrum
Palace B&B
Palace B&B
#31 of 336 in Amsterdam
175 reviews
Centrum
Crown Bed & Breakfast
Crown Bed & Breakfast
#21 of 336 in Amsterdam
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Posthoorn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Posthoorn

Property: The Posthoorn
Address: Prinsengracht 7, 1015 DK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 336 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Housed within the fine walls of a listed historical 17th century canal house on one of Amsterdam's most picturesque canals in the heart of the city - the Prinsengracht - part of the UNESCO World Heritage, The Posthoorn Bed and Breakfast features three charming rooms which offer guests four-star luxury whilst staying in the Jordaan district. The Canal View Room, Patio Room and Hidden Church Room ooze opulent and stylish character within the pleasant atmosphere of this contemporary bed and breakfast flawlessly disguised in the old-fashioned exterior of this canal house. The history behind this interesting building dates back to 1578, during which time Catholics were refused to visit their churches so several hidden churches were built in private houses. Around 1650, one was built in the basement of what stands as The Posthoon today and if you wish the owner will be pleased to tell you the history of the house. The elegant decor of The Posthoorn is boasted throughout each and every room. The livingspaces feature a flat-screen cable TV, en-suite bathroom with under-floor heating, comfortable sofas, free wireless internet. In each room you will find a kitchenette including coffee maker, microwave and refrigerator complete with white wine, beer, orange juice, milk and mineral water. Full continental breakfast including freshly baked bread and croissants is served to guests in their room each morning. Staff aim to make guests' stay at the Posthoorn memorable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and Agoda so you can book your The Posthoorn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing