We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amsterdam Delight”
Review of The Posthoorn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Posthoorn
Ranked #24 of 338 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Reviewed June 22, 2012

We recently returned from a wonderful stay at the Posthoorn. I cannot say enough about how comfortable we were in this delightful place.
Francois treats you like family and helps you with everything from directions to restaurants and anything thing else you need. And wireless connection too.
Breakfast is delicious and the added refrigerator extras are so helpful.
The accommodations are superb.The neighborhood is ideal in this great city and walking is the way to go. We did so much in two days and coming back to the Posthoorn to sleep was what we needed.
An amazing canal house in an amazing city.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mariefla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (298)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

155 - 161 of 298 reviews

Reviewed June 18, 2012

Three nights at the lovely Posthoorn - ideal in every sense (location, rooms, ambience, host). We stayed in the Canal Room with a great view over the canal. Enthusiastically recommended. Restaurants in the area tend to be very expensive so explore the Jordans area where there are plenty of good alternatives (Italian especially). Full marks to the attentive and charming Francois who runs the Posthoorn....we'll be back!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rainforth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2012

Me, my sister, my mother and my grandmother were accomodated in the Posthoorn for four nights and we were absolutely satisfied with everything! The location is great and safety. The owner Francois is a wonderful and gave us a lot of valuable informations. We had a Patio room which was nice. Everything was tidy. The breakfast was delicious. Thanks for everything! I could recommend it to everybody.

Room Tip: Patio rooms is very quiet and had a small terrace. But I don't know the others rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Radusha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2012

My mother, aunt, friend and I stayed in The Posthoorn for 11 days. We stayed in Canal and litlle Church room. Everything was just perfect from communication with a host, location, breakfast and the most comfortable bed that I ever slept in. I'll definetly come back one day and expirince all over again. Thank you so much for your wonderful hospitality.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gina G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2012

The owner, Francois,is a wonderful host. He is full of history, directions and recommendations for everything from canal cruises, museums and dining. The room was very clean and comfortable. The location is perfect. Easy walking to everywhere, including public transportation. The neighborhood felt safe and friendly.

Room Tip: Book early.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Eileen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2012

Well we book far ahead with our reservations but it wasnt until a few weeks before that our host told us we would be arriving before Queens day...How many American have any idea what thats like....Fouth of July,Easter Christmas.labor day,or memorial day?? not hardly!!.....I figured closed restaurants, lots of tourists.etc....no big deal right just a day...Well the B& B is on a lovely canal with a church and square across the water and we saw them setting up food stands and stages....Oh well one night cant be so bad,,,ritght ?we thought..? Well it was the night BEFORE and the fenzy started...just think of spring break,crazy Eruo sports mobs, Marti Gras and battle of the bands all rolled into one...First problem was the restaurants..filled.. so we bought food at the store before they ran out thank GOD!!..and the place has a little kitchenette.Yes we were exhausted and jet lagged....But since there was a band next door with huge amps there was no sleep except for the unconscious.( in the vibrating shaking room)..I went in the bathroom and the floor with earplgs....then after noise started with clean up crews drunks...etc...the smell of urine and beer filled the air...If you were a 20 something maybe you would have enjoyed it.So we tried to leave the city on Queens day but even though the host said there were Tranm there were no ones.and the metro was getting shut down...A kind policeman helped us as we could carry all our luggage but we left left most of it at the B&B and gave us a ticket and waited until we boarded . He told us it happens every year the Hoteliers dont tell about tourists Queens day We were all over the city but the our neighborhood had the trash to prove it ..... trash littering the street for at 3 days afterward...Dont go the Amsterdam a week before or afrer was the worst ... Anyway the facilities were nice and charming the breakfast great but i really think he should only book the local people interested in Queens day...only fair...,He did gave us a discount He said well I told you (but No he DIDNT.)as we had to book a second room at the south station.....which was bliss.and I wish we had stayed there the whole time....CitizenM ...Anyway stay here if you love charm and need to be close to the station...its nice! any other time of the year would be a delight..and ask questions and dont believe everything you hear.(like the noise stops at 11:00 and that there are restaurants and transportation....he doesnt get out much).A real learning experience!!

Room Tip: If you want quiet and are a light sleeper stay elsewhere or a room at the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank tickettoride
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2012

Just got back from a whirlwind tour of the Netherlands that included a three-night stay at the Posthoorn in Amsterdam. It turned out to be the perfect place to kick-off my vacation!

1. Location. The Posthoorn is within a 5- to 15-minute walk of pretty much everything on your must-see list, from the Anne Frank House (just a few blocks away!) to the Redlight District (but far enough removed from that particular neighborhood that you won't be bothered by the noise). And Central Station is a quick walk from the B&B, so if you feel like you can't get somewhere on foot, just head north for a bit and catch a train. But the Posthoorn's spot in the Jordaan/Nine Streets area is worth checking out, too, with lots of unique little shops and restaurants to explore. There's a gorgeous, laid-back pub on the end of the block that's perfect for a late-night drink.

2. Ambience. Historic in all the right spots (loved the originial marble flooring int he Hidden Church Room) but up-to-date and travel-friendly in others (one-cup coffee machines and private bathrooms, unusal for historic properties in Amsterdam). The Posthoorn's owner, Francois, even gives you a welcome tour that highlights both aspects of the property. I also appreciated the size of the place -- just three guests rooms plus Francois' family's space, so not a lot of hustle and bustle to bother you. (This could turn some potential guests away, but that might be for the best. If you're in the mood for "Amsterdamage," as I've seen mentioned on some of the other Dutch Q&A boards, this probably isn't the place for you.)

3. Service. Francois steered me toward some great restaurants and coffee shops, but the breakfast served on site was pretty stellar, too! He makes bakery runs each and every morning, so Posthoorn guests load up on croissants and these fabulous little cinnamon-raisin buns along with yogurt, eggs, fruit and deli slices and fresh cheese. Rooms are cleaned quickly and thoroughly. And someone is always on hand to answer questions, either Francois himself or someone else on staff -- perfect for me, newly arrived Amsterdam and completely fuzzy after a 12-hour flight from the U.S. They give jetlag-proof directions and instructions.

I'd recommend the Posthoorn to couples, business travelers or singles ... I stayed there alone to kick off a business trip, and I felt safe and ... pampered, honestly.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jenndavo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
B&B Barangay
B&B Barangay
#6 of 338 in Amsterdam
928 reviews
Centrum
Crown Bed & Breakfast
Crown Bed & Breakfast
#18 of 338 in Amsterdam
185 reviews
Jordaan
Eelhouse B&B
Eelhouse B&B
#34 of 338 in Amsterdam
191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Amsterdam At Home
Amsterdam At Home
#28 of 338 in Amsterdam
201 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Vanguard
The Vanguard
#15 of 338 in Amsterdam
185 reviews
Jordaan
Mr. Jordaan Hotel
Mr. Jordaan Hotel
#7 of 338 in Amsterdam
278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Posthoorn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Posthoorn

Address: Prinsengracht 7, 1015 DK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 338 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range: $128 - $188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Posthoorn 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Housed within the fine walls of a listed historical 17th century canal house on one of Amsterdam's most picturesque canals in the heart of the city - the Prinsengracht - part of the UNESCO World Heritage, The Posthoorn Bed and Breakfast features three charming rooms which offer guests four-star luxury whilst staying in the Jordaan district. The Canal View Room, Patio Room and Hidden Church Room ooze opulent and stylish character within the pleasant atmosphere of this contemporary bed and breakfast flawlessly disguised in the old-fashioned exterior of this canal house. The history behind this interesting building dates back to 1578, during which time Catholics were refused to visit their churches so several hidden churches were built in private houses. Around 1650, one was built in the basement of what stands as The Posthoon today and if you wish the owner will be pleased to tell you the history of the house. The elegant decor of The Posthoorn is boasted throughout each and every room. The livingspaces feature a flat-screen cable TV, en-suite bathroom with under-floor heating, comfortable sofas, free wireless internet. In each room you will find a kitchenette including coffee maker, microwave and refrigerator complete with white wine, beer, orange juice, milk and mineral water. Full continental breakfast including freshly baked bread and croissants is served to guests in their room each morning. Staff aim to make guests' stay at the Posthoorn memorable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Posthoorn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing