We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely bed and brakfast”
Review of The Posthoorn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Posthoorn
Ranked #25 of 343 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Reviewed April 19, 2011

We stay at the Posthoorn for 3 nights after traveling through Europe with or children, ages 9 and 12. I can only compliment Francois and say thank you for a truly lovely experience. The beds, including the sofa bed, were big and so comfortable. The breakfast was delicious...fresh fruits, ham and cheeses and delicious selection of breads. Loved our outdoor patio, even if it was a little cool during our stay.
If we find ourselves in Amsterdam again (which is highly likely!), we will definitely feel like we have a place to call home!
Thank you Francois!!

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BGAtyrau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (299)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

214 - 220 of 299 reviews

Reviewed April 6, 2011

Facing the canal this house full of charm makes you feel at home. Although there is a kitchenet, the owner, François makes his best to let you spend a nice stay and he will bring you the breakfast in your room. It is well decorated and you will sleep in a confortable double bed. The location on Prinsengracht offers a nice surrounding, restaurants and cafés and from the Posthoorn you can walk to the different interesting sites whithin 30 minutes.

Room Tip: Canal view: upper room. Family, back room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mamiecapi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2011

The welcome is warm by Francois, the owner: he perfectly knows the city and the history of his five centuries old house!!t
The B & B is very quiet, cozy and very well located in the heart of Amsterdam.
Imagine, within 10 minutes walk from the station your room overlooks the historic canals of the city. After a day's work, it feels good!

Matthew O.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PepitoMatteo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2011

Well, this was one of those rare fantastic finds, that you really want to keep to yourself it is so nice!

On arrival i was met by Vera and Jasper, who very kindly showed me the room and explained all the relevant features, arranged what time i would like breakfast brought to the room and also explained about some of the things to do/see and suggested suitable restaurants.

I was in Room 3, at the back of the house. This consists of a kitchenette, the main bedroom and the bathroom. The kitchen has all you will need, a microwave, cooker hob, fridge (with a free bottle of wine, beer, orange juice, milk), coffee maker (including coffee pads) pots & pans, plates, cutlery etc.

The main room has a large comfy double bed, dresser, wardrobe, settee flat screen TV free WiFi and bedside tables/lamps.

The B&B is located in the Jordaan, across the canal from the Nordmarkt. It is about a 15min walk from central Station and is located on the Prinsengracht canal. You can walk to the Dam Square in about 15-20 Min's.

Jasper brought breakfast to the room each morning and was always in good spirits and asked if everything was to my liking. The breakfast is great, fresh bread/croissants/rolls, butter, jams/spreads, meats, cheese, fresh fruit.

I shall certainly be staying at the Posthoorn again on my next trip to Amsterdam (If the rooms haven't been booked!) and certainly have no hesitation in recommending it.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DavidH62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
frnch55, Owner at The Posthoorn, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2011

Dear David,

Thank you very much for the great review you posted on Tripadvisor !
This is very kind of you.

See you in April!

Kind regards,

The Posthoorn
Francois

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2011

We spent 3 days in Amsterdam for our 1st anniversary, and it look like honeymoon ! Our room (appartment 2) was really tasteful, and our host took good care of us by telling us good places for brunches or some interesting exhibitions. It was hard to leave !

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andeluhuhu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2010

My friends and I stayed at the Posthoorn for 5 nights at Apartment 3 - which had it's own door leading to the main road and it felt like our own house. It is situated in Jordaan which I think is probably the best area in Amsterdam. It is a short walk to museums and restaurants and pubs.

The building has alot of history and is pretty dated. The marble flooring is really cold and thankfully we brought our own room slippers. The big bed seemed to have like a hole in the mattress... so sleep wasnt the most comfortable.

We had a problem with hot water one morning but this was quickly resolved.

Otherwise, Jasper was a great host. He would greet us each morning with a huge smile on the face when he brought us breakfast. Breakfast is sumptious and if you finish everything, you pretty much will not need to eat your lunch.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pcess_jo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2010

Jasper is a first-class host and these apartments are a joy to stay in. Great location - within walking distance to everything. Amenities are terrific - including an amazing breakfast (enough for lunch!). Enjoyed everything about it and would highly recommend to everyone.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DougH1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
B&B Barangay
B&B Barangay
#6 of 343 in Amsterdam
935 reviews
Jordaan
Eelhouse B&B
Eelhouse B&B
#26 of 343 in Amsterdam
195 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
RUST. Bed & Breakfast
RUST. Bed & Breakfast
#24 of 343 in Amsterdam
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Museum Suites
Museum Suites
#5 of 343 in Amsterdam
363 reviews
Vondelpark
Bed & Breakfast Helmers
Bed & Breakfast Helmers
#11 of 343 in Amsterdam
273 reviews
Centrum
Tulip of Amsterdam B&B
Tulip of Amsterdam B&B
#3 of 343 in Amsterdam
450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Posthoorn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Posthoorn

Address: Prinsengracht 7, 1015 DK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 343 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range: $182 - $232 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Posthoorn 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Housed within the fine walls of a listed historical 17th century canal house on one of Amsterdam's most picturesque canals in the heart of the city - the Prinsengracht - part of the UNESCO World Heritage, The Posthoorn Bed and Breakfast features three charming rooms which offer guests four-star luxury whilst staying in the Jordaan district. The Canal View Room, Patio Room and Hidden Church Room ooze opulent and stylish character within the pleasant atmosphere of this contemporary bed and breakfast flawlessly disguised in the old-fashioned exterior of this canal house. The history behind this interesting building dates back to 1578, during which time Catholics were refused to visit their churches so several hidden churches were built in private houses. Around 1650, one was built in the basement of what stands as The Posthoon today and if you wish the owner will be pleased to tell you the history of the house. The elegant decor of The Posthoorn is boasted throughout each and every room. The livingspaces feature a flat-screen cable TV, en-suite bathroom with under-floor heating, comfortable sofas, free wireless internet. In each room you will find a kitchenette including coffee maker, microwave and refrigerator complete with white wine, beer, orange juice, milk and mineral water. Full continental breakfast including freshly baked bread and croissants is served to guests in their room each morning. Staff aim to make guests' stay at the Posthoorn memorable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Posthoorn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing