We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent comprehensive city tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Amsterdamsel Tours

Amsterdamsel Tours
Ranked #79 of 354 Tours in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Please send all requests via our website reservations form for the quickest response. Our small network of expert historians-turned-storytellers make the old city talk, and these walls do have tales to tell! Explore Amsterdam (and other Dutch cities) with this small company, the only female-owned tour operator in town (hence the name AmsterDamsel, of course).
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent comprehensive city tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

During a business meeting, we did an afternoon 3 hour city tour before dinner- very nicely done, got a lot of information about what I wanted to know and what you need to know about Amsterdam, including relevant background info. High quality, good timing. Nice break for resting in between in a very nice cafe. Recommended as afternoon element for business meetings but not only!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank sutedelan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    122
    19
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Staffordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Larae, the tour guide with the magic touch!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

I've just returned from a visit to Amsterdam and had the privilege of having Larae as our guide. She was knowledgeable, engaging, entertaining, informative and had that magic something to paint a vivid picture in words to make it all come alive. The two hour guided tour flew by. Excellent!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank catkin_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Exactly what we wanted...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

Larae did an excellent job during our city tour with her. She adapted the Quintessential Amsterdam tour to our needs and timing constraints, and was really able to explain - sometimes with personal touch telling her own experience - not only the most important historical/architectural facts but also told us about people, how they lived and how they live now, making the whole experience coming alive. She's especially good in making you figure out how it was before and going in interesting details about the way the city was bukt and developed in the centuries (also socially). On top of all this, she was very nice, sympathetic with the group, and flexible... and she was NEVER stressing us so the whole experience was really enjoyable. Everyone in the group had the same feeling, and we were 15!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank 626GiorgioF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa City, Iowa, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Private tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2013

Larae's tours are a MUST DO. She is competent and informed. If she does not know it - it isn't worth knowing! She is also a lot of fun to be with. She gives suggestions on what to do and where to eat when you are on your own. Her tour is like being with a wonderful friend and companion. She is much more than a regular tour guide. She welcomes questions and is very unhurried in her approach. Her tours are so interesting and she has such a wealth of knowledge, that I will be seeking her expertise each time I am in Amsterdam.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Margo P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Very very good tour of Amsterdam”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013 via mobile

I had already spent 2 days in Amsterdam and then did Larae's tour 'The Quintesensstial Amsterdam'. Suddenly I saw Amsterdam through very different eyes. Larae's led an informative and comprehensive tour in a very friendly and accommodating way. Having not done a tour for many years this was a great reintroduction. She gave me not only a good tour but and great locals perspective for further exploration of this fabulous city, it's bars and restaurants and hidden attractions. Unfortunately my wife was sick on the tour day but l followed the exact path Larae's showed me the day before and shared with her the little hidden gems Larae's showed me. Fabulous, outstanding, and basically a must for any Amsterdam visitor.

Helpful?
Thank Sandy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Amsterdamsel Tours also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Amsterdamsel Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing