We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Nice hotel, bad toilet design!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wyndham Apollo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Wyndham Apollo to your Saves list
Wyndham Apollo
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Apollolaan 2, 1077 BA Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan Ahead, Save 15%
Ranked #81 of 363 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Pune, India
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, bad toilet design!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2010

Stayed here for 2 days, liked my stay, nice rooms, location and connections by tram.

However, I was surprised with the way the attached toilets of the rooms are designed. I found it VERY BADLY designed and one has to be very careful especially to get in and out of the shower... senior citizens beware...

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank rajooj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,384 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    504
    529
    220
    78
    53
See reviews for
137
536
50
374
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (236)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wiener Neustadt, Austria
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2010

expensive, especially during fairs at rai, but absolutly o.k. , friendly service at reception desk as well as at the hotel bar and the restaurant, perfect breakfast buffet, rooms with excellent view sufficient size of the room ( a little bit unusual in Amsterdam ), wireless lan , business center , 10 min. walk to rai center

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank as6104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2010

Nice hotel, clean, enough close to downtown. Do not ask fore extras, very expensive!

Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank gvsartor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2010

We stayed here whilst having a long weekend in Amsterdam. It's located a couple of miles south but it wasn't a problem for us. The number 5 tram stops nearby and takes you to the heart of the city or a couple of stops south to Amsterdam Zuid train station.

Situated right at the side of the canal, the hotel offers boats for hire at reasonable rates.

Our room was large, modern and clean.

The only minus would be that there were little things like bottles of water, mini bar, TV and drinks at the bar which were all pretty expensive.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stewmassie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tadley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2010

just returned from a lovely trip to Amsterdam we booked 2 double executive rooms which overlooked the front of the hotel and not the lovely views of the canals which was a shame. We were impressed with the hotel reception as very modern with nice furnishings. We were able to store our bags securly as we arrived 08:30 but couldn't check in untill 3pm. However when we did finally get into our rooms I was dissapointed, although a good size and clean they could really do with a lick of paint and a refurbish. Furniture was tired and just didn't match up with the lovely furniture in the reception. Also no safe in either room so we had to keep leaving personals in the locked store room down stairs. Breakfast was good. plenty of selection and the staff in Hotel were very freindly but then all the Dutch people were. Didn't mind the out of town location as it wasn't far to walk to the tram stop and I felt we were in a nice safe area. Although we enjoyed our stay wouldn't recommend the hotel to a friend unless they got a really good deal because of the tired rooms- such a shame

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nicwin367
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2010

The hotel is nicely situated at the waterfront with superb views to one of the channels. From the outside it looks more like an old-fashioned congress center. However the inside is really nice and modern. The rooms are spacious and nicely furnished. Bathroom was fully equipped and immaculate. Breakfast buffet was also very nice, although on the expensive side at 22,50 €. Unfortunately it's too far away from the city center to walk, but you can get there easily by taxi for 7,50 €. Staff was very nice and attentive and I had an overall pleasant stay.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ele007London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2010

Standard rooms very basic, rather small & situated in the basement of the building! Rooms do not resemble the photos on the website are out-dated and in need of moderisation and repair. Prices are outrageous - €10.50 for a soup and €22 per day for internet! Give it a miss & enjoy Amsterdam!!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnQ_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Bilderberg Garden Hotel
#90 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,183 reviews
De Pijp
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
#22 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 1,997 reviews
BEST WESTERN Delphi Hotel
#161 of 363 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton Amsterdam
#48 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 2,275 reviews
Novotel Amsterdam City
#95 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 2,261 reviews
De Pijp
Sir Albert Hotel Amsterdam
Sir Albert Hotel Amsterdam
#24 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 954 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Apollo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Apollo

Property: Wyndham Apollo
Address: Apollolaan 2, 1077 BA Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#14 Spa Hotel in Amsterdam
#53 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#56 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#76 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#97 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Wyndham Apollo 4*
Number of rooms: 223
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Excellent location within walking distance to the main museums and well-known shopping streets but also near the RAI convention centre and the WTC Amsterdam. We can offer you the best of both worlds! The hotel is surrounded by water and tranquility, and yet so close to the city centre that you sense both the energy of city life and the heart of the business world. This is the special location of the majestic Wyndham Apollo Hotel Amsterdam, where 5 Amsterdam canals converge. Make your stay complete with a culinary feast in the hotel restaurant La Sirène or The Harbour Club Kitchen. The hotel offers private parking, a spa and a marina. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Wyndham Apollo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Apollo Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing