We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient and Comfortable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wyndham Apollo Hotel Amsterdam

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Wyndham Apollo Hotel Amsterdam
Ranked #77 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Long Island, New York
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Convenient and Comfortable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

We had a very niece stay at the Wyndham. It is very well located near restaurants and in walking distance to the Rijksmuseum, the Van Gogh Museum and the Anne Frank House.

The rooms were a good size and comfortable. Our plan came with a nice breakfast. Perfect for tourists needing limited service. It does try to be in the Ritz Carlton or Peninsula class. It is a good four star hotel at a reasonable price - a very good value..

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill_TWest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ApolloAmsterdam, General Manager at Wyndham Apollo Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, August 17, 2014
Dear sir,

Many thanks for taking the time to write your review.

I would like to thank you very much for mentioning our great location and I am very happy to read that you did enjoy the room and breakfast.

We hope we are able to welcome you again in our hotel when you decide to visit the city again.

Kind regards,

Imre Heijboer – General Manager
Wyndham Apollo Hotel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,475 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    545
    565
    232
    79
    54
See reviews for
144
581
55
391
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (252)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

Stayed here for the weekend, it was lovely, room was great, staff were really helpful and friendly and best of all sitting outside having a glass of wine and overlooking the canal watching the boats go by was just so relaxing, would definitely recommend this hotel, was only a ten minute walk to the tram then just a few stops away your in dam square, no hassle at all.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tracy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ApolloAmsterdam, General Manager at Wyndham Apollo Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, August 17, 2014
Dear madam,

I have just read your review of your stay in our hotel and would like to thank you for your kind and enthusiastic words. We are very happy to get 5 out of 5.

I'm delighted to read that the hotel and the staff have met your expectations!
Hopefully we can welcome you again in the future to our hotel.

Kind regards,

Imre Heijboer – General Manager
Wyndham Apollo Hotel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brindisi, Italy
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

This was our first ever trip to Amsterdam to celebrate our 25th wedding anniversary. The hotel did not know this but when we checked in and I told them, they upgraded us to an executive room which had an awesome view of the canal. Later on that day, they delivered wine and fruit. It was beautiful. Everything about the hotel was perfect. The rooms, the cleanliness and the hotel staff. Everybody was willing to go out of their way to answer our "how to get to ...." questions. This hotel is perfect for all types of trips. If I am ever lucky enough to go to Amsterdam again, this is the hotel I will be staying in. Oh, and if you get the chance, make sure you have breakfast included. It definitely is worth it.

Room Tip: choose a room on the canal side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Margco679
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ApolloAmsterdam, General Manager at Wyndham Apollo Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, September 4, 2014
Dear sir/madam,

Congratulations on your anniversary! Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review of your stay with us. I will accept your compliments on behalf of my team members, who I know to be constantly seeking to make every guest feel at home.

I wish you all the best and I hope to welcome you again at the Wyndham Apollo Hotel Amsterdam!

Kind regards,

Imre Heijboer – General Manager
Wyndham Apollo Hotel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014 via mobile

I Managed to book this hotel on Hotwire for £68 per night. Its located just a 10 minute walk from the nearest tram station (which is the best way to get around) and a 15/20min walk from the famous RijkMuseum, Van Gough Museum and the Bols Experience. The hotel offered full buffet cooked and continental breakfast for €12.99pppn. We bought this and worked out that we could probably skip lunch having a large breakfast. Very nice to have breakfast on the canal balcony. The breakfast service was very busy so recommend an early start for that. The rooms were really clean and tidy and well equipt with a good size bathroom. Everything you'd expect from a £68/£70 a night room. If your prepared to walk a little and/or tram through your stay then you won't be disappointed. It's €7.50 each for a 24hour tram ticket. I'd recommend downloading the POCKET AMSTERDAM app - this tells you where all the routes travel and is a map also. It's a 20 minute walk or 5 min tram ride into the main town or Dam Area. The reception staff were very quick and professional and a great help to get us started on our trip and organised a taxi for us to leave.
NOTE - I didn't know this hotel has a Shuttle bus Taxi service from Schipol Airport which is free and it's €7 each for a hotel to Airport shuttle and book all of this in advance.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Luffy1643
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ApolloAmsterdam, General Manager at Wyndham Apollo Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, August 31, 2014
Dear sir/madam,

This is one of these reviews that put a smile on my face. Thank you so much for this wonderful review. I am very happy to read you enjoyed your stay in our hotel and had a good time in the city of Amsterdam.

We definitely hope to welcome you back in our hotel so we can assist you again in making your journey a success.

Kind regards,

Imre Heijboer – General Manager
Wyndham Apollo Hotel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

hotel excellent, friendly, helpful staff, close to everything.
Restaurant to die for!! Best food ever tasted. Exquisitely presented and taste. Fell in love with the serving person and chef - they gave us extra little tasting bits that were divine. Wonderful culmination of 4 weeks in Europe, far away for NZ. Would heartily recommend hotel and restaurant. we watched Netherlands get into the semis in the world cup. Good on you!

Antipodeans xxx

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jane h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ApolloAmsterdam, General Manager at Wyndham Apollo Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
Dear madam,

Thank you for writing such a wonderful review about our hotel.
I'm delighted to read that the hotel and the staff have met your expectations! As a Hotel Manager I'm proud to have such dedicated team members, I will share your comments with all of them!

Thank you very much for complementing our restaurant La Sirene!

We hope to welcome you in the future once more!

Kind regards,

Imre Heijboer – General Manager
Wyndham Apollo Hotel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

This hotel was ok but not very good value. The facilities are average. You can't rely on the prices quoted in the comparison websites in regard to this hotel as there are quite a few extra charges tacked on to the final bill.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Al_C223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ApolloAmsterdam, General Manager at Wyndham Apollo Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, September 4, 2014
Dear sir/madam,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us. Your feedback is very important to us and your information will be used to improve our service.

I am quite surprised to hear about any extras on your final room bill. The only additional charge that I can come up with is the local city tax, which needs to be paid to the municipality of Amsterdam.
The city tax in Amsterdam is 5.5% and is charged by all hotels/hostels. It is a tax which needs to be paid for by anyone staying in Amsterdam (that is not registered as living here), so also for Dutch residents that do not live in Amsterdam. I am sorry if you were not informed about that. Also, I would like to inform you that this is charged by the local municipality, not by the hotel itself.

In case you have any questions or remarks, please do feel free to contact me directly at the following e-mail address: mt.wyndham@apollohotelsresorts.com.

I hope to welcome you again upon a future visit.

Kind regards,

Imre Heijboer – General Manager
Wyndham Apollo Hotel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Bilderberg Garden Hotel
#97 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,243 reviews
De Pijp
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
#22 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 2,085 reviews
De Pijp
Sir Albert Hotel Amsterdam
Sir Albert Hotel Amsterdam
#23 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 1,036 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton Amsterdam
#46 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 2,381 reviews
Novotel Amsterdam City
#101 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 2,375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Apollo Hotel Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Apollo Hotel Amsterdam

Property: Wyndham Apollo Hotel Amsterdam
Address: Apollolaan 2, 1077 BA Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #77 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Wyndham Apollo Hotel Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 223
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Excellent location within walking distance to the main museums and well-known shopping streets but also near the RAI convention centre and the WTC Amsterdam. We can offer you the best of both worlds! The hotel is surrounded by water and tranquility, and yet so close to the city centre that you sense both the energy of city life and the heart of the business world. This is the special location of the majestic Wyndham Apollo Hotel Amsterdam, where 5 Amsterdam canals converge. Make your stay complete with a culinary feast in the hotel restaurant La Sirène or The Harbour Club Kitchen. The hotel offers private parking, a spa and a marina. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Wyndham Apollo Hotel Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing