We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Weird Entrance, comfortable rooms” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wyndham Apollo Hotel Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Wyndham Apollo Hotel Amsterdam
Ranked #77 of 363 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
191 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Weird Entrance, comfortable rooms”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

The reception area is a bit tricky to find. The design as per me is very weird. This is a first hotel I have seen when they have small path next to the Car parking which the entrance to the hotel. Once you are in the car park there is a nice roundabout with a small Chinese(or Japanese garden) We got a hotwire rate for the hotel and Hotwire did not allow us to choose the bed type. However, the hotel receptionist for kind enough to let two adult males have 2 separate beds but they were joined together !
The location of the hotel is in the museum quarter and its bit far from the Amsterdam Central station (around 4 kms) But Tram lines 5 and 24 are closeby and go to the station.
No complaints on the wifi or the comfort levels.

Room Tip: If you are coming here from the station and plan to walk, make sure you take a print of the route. T...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sushant N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ApolloAmsterdam, General Manager at Wyndham Apollo Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Dear sir,

Thank you so much for leaving a review on Tripadvisor.

I hope the entrance to our hotel did not cause you too much inconvenience finding our reception area.

Please note that if you contact our front desk, we will always do our utmost best to make your stay as comfortable as possible. We can separate the two beds, in case this is preferred.

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you once again for your comments and look forward to welcoming you back in the nearest future.

Kind regards,

Imre Heijboer – General Manager
Wyndham Apollo Hotel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,478 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    545
    567
    233
    79
    54
See reviews for
144
582
55
392
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (255)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

Stopped here for a City break with my husband. Hotel room big and clean.
Location a little out of way but close to tram stop.

The Air con started to leak however due to a prompt an efficient chap (whose name I've forgot ) we where moved immediately and room upgraded.

Bar area nice and lovely to sit out over looking canal.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ferndrea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ApolloAmsterdam, General Manager at Wyndham Apollo Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Dear Mrs. Ferndrea,

Many thanks for taking the time to write your review.

I am sorry to hear that your airconditioning started to leak. It is good to hear that you got a room move to an upgraded room.

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you once again for your comments and look forward to welcoming you back in the nearest future.

Kind regards,

Imre Heijboer – General Manager
Wyndham Apollo Hotel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014 via mobile

We booked this hotel on a last minute deal and got it cheaper than usual- otherwise it would have been outside our budget. When we arrived the receptionist was incredibly friendly. He upgraded us to an executive suite without us even asking and dealt with the admin swiftly.
Our room was ready earlier than check in. We had a room facing the canal which was beautiful. Bed was very comfy. Took us a while to figure out how the work the shower/bath combo resulting in an unplanned wet head and some giggles- be careful to not stick your head under the shower head until you know where the water is coming from! Otherwise no complaints.
Concierge service was was excellent. Great advice on where to catch the tram and how to get a mobile SIM card. Great hotel!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tamazapan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ApolloAmsterdam, General Manager at Wyndham Apollo Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Dear Tamazapan,

Thank you for this wonderful 5 star review. I am very happy to read you enjoyed your room and its facilities. What a please to read that our receptionist gave you such a nice upgrade!

Thank you for bringing the shower to to our attention, we will share your remarks in our management team and will take steps to make improvements.

Hopefully you will return someday back to the lovely city of Amsterdam and our hotel. I will share your kind words with the staff.

Kind regards,

Imre Heijboer – General Manager
Wyndham Apollo Hotel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

The only bad thing about this hotel was the shower! they designed it somehow that the bathroom would get really wet! We figured out a way to avoid it. But generally the hotel was pretty good and the price was very reasonable.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shae83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ApolloAmsterdam, General Manager at Wyndham Apollo Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Dear Shae,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay with us.

I will definitely discuss your comment about the bathroom with our maintenance department.
Your comments are of great importance and will help us in our efforts to continuously improve the standards you may expect.

Hopefully we can welcome you again in the future to our hotel!

Kind regards,

Imre Heijboer- General Manager
Wyndham Apollo Hotel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

Had a great stay with a nice room with view on the water. Great service and food in restaurant la sirene !
The staff was super friendly, the guys in the restaurant definitely knew what they were talking about. They explained every dish with passion and dedication. They have a very nice terrace with view on the water.
I will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Scarri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ApolloAmsterdam, General Manager at Wyndham Apollo Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Dear Scarri,

Thank you for leaving a review on Tripadvisor!

I really enjoyed reading your feedback about your stay. Thank you for all your kind words and positive feedback. I will make sure that the entire team will be informed about this.

Our restaurant La Sirene received two good reviews of prestigious reviewers. The first review was given in the annual culinary magazine ‘De Lekker’ and the second review was given by Bib Gourmand. I am very happy to read that you have had such a good experience in our restaurant!

Once again thank you for your review and we absolutely hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again.

Kind regards,

Imre Heijboer – General Manager
Wyndham Apollo Hotel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Bilderberg Garden Hotel
#99 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,249 reviews
De Pijp
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
#22 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 2,088 reviews
De Pijp
Sir Albert Hotel Amsterdam
Sir Albert Hotel Amsterdam
#26 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 1,039 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton Amsterdam
#47 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 2,391 reviews
Novotel Amsterdam City
#101 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 2,383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Apollo Hotel Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Apollo Hotel Amsterdam

Property: Wyndham Apollo Hotel Amsterdam
Address: Apollolaan 2, 1077 BA Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #77 of 363 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Wyndham Apollo Hotel Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 223
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Excellent location within walking distance to the main museums and well-known shopping streets but also near the RAI convention centre and the WTC Amsterdam. We can offer you the best of both worlds! The hotel is surrounded by water and tranquility, and yet so close to the city centre that you sense both the energy of city life and the heart of the business world. This is the special location of the majestic Wyndham Apollo Hotel Amsterdam, where 5 Amsterdam canals converge. Make your stay complete with a culinary feast in the hotel restaurant La Sirène or The Harbour Club Kitchen. The hotel offers private parking, a spa and a marina. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda and Hotwire so you can book your Wyndham Apollo Hotel Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing