We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really just a lovely place to stay.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Apollo Hotel Amsterdam, a Tribute portfolio
Ranked #117 of 372 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 22, 2014

Just back from a weekend in Amsterdam with my wife, we stayed at the Wyndham Apollo. We both had an amazing time, both in the city of Amsterdam and at the Apollo hotel. The hotel sits on the Apollo canal and has a small marina next to the restaurant, we sat at in the evening and had dinner in the sun with boats passing on the canal, very relaxing. Our room was very spacious, clean and cool thanks to the air conditioning. I would definitely pay a bit extra and go for a suite, especially a canal facing one, sitting in the room at night with the balcony door open watching the water activity is awesome.

The hotel is a little bit south of the city centre, however, the number 5 or 24 trams are very close and take you there in around 10-15 minutes.

Room Tip: Go for a suite facing the canal, it will make your trip very special
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Bobsa31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ApolloAmsterdam, General Manager at Apollo Hotel Amsterdam, a Tribute portfolio, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2014

Dear Bobsa31,

This is one of these reviews that put a smile on my face! Thank you for this wonderful 5 star review. I am very happy to read you enjoyed your room and its facilities.
The view on the canals reflects the typical Amsterdam surrounding, which we are very proud of!

I hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back to the Wyndham Apollo Hotel Amsterdam upon a future visit to Amsterdam.

Kind regards,

Imre Heijboer – General Manager
Wyndham Apollo Hotel Amsterdam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,795)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

788 - 794 of 1,795 reviews

Reviewed June 21, 2014

Quite good value for money for what it offered.
It is conveniently located from the airport (30 minutes on public transport), and 20 minutes walk to the museum district in Amsterdam.

There is a nice park nearby, which is a great visit in the morning, and the surrounding environment is quite, with the hotel actually standing on a confluence of canals, so if you had the right room, I assume the room would be great, but this can be enjoyed from the bar downstairs.

Rooms are clean, nice spacious bathroom.
Hotel staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank carioca500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ApolloAmsterdam, General Manager at Apollo Hotel Amsterdam, a Tribute portfolio, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2014

Dear Carioca500,

Thank you very much for your lovely review!
I am very happy to hear that the hotel met up your expectations and that you have enjoyed your overall stay.
In addition I would like to express my gratitude for complementing our staff.

We sincerely hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards,
Imre Heijboer –General Manager
Wyndham Apollo Hotel Amsterdam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2014

We stayed at the Wyndham Apollo for two nights and asked if we could upgrade to a balcony room but we were given a patio room which was even better! We could sit outside each morning right by the canal and relax before heading out for the day. Was a little worried about the distance to the centre of Amsterdam but the tram stop is only a five minute walk away from the hotel which takes you wherever you want to go. The only issue we had with the hotel after the first night was the lack of tea and coffee available in the room but after a call made to concierge they came down with more tea and milk and the cleaner left extra for us that day, as a Brit it's vital to have a couple of cups of tea in the morning before you can face the day! The staff at the hotel were very friendly and gave us great directions to all the places we wanted to visit - they gave us a good tip about visiting the Anne Frank House, always go after 6pm to avoid the ques! Amsterdam is a fabulous city, it has everything, fantastic shops, restaurants, bars - would definitely visit again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kathryn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ApolloAmsterdam, General Manager at Apollo Hotel Amsterdam, a Tribute portfolio, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2014

Dear Kathryn C,

Many thanks for taking the time to write your review.

I am very glad to hear that you have enjoyed your room so much. I understand that a cup of tea is very important to start your day. Our team members are more than happy to bring you more tea bags.

Once again thank you for your review and we absolutely hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again. We will do our utmost to make your stay memorable in a positive manner.

Kind regards,

Imre Heijboer – General Manager
Wyndham Apollo Hotel Amsterdam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2014

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts
Thank Kunwar C
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
ApolloAmsterdam, General Manager at Apollo Hotel Amsterdam, a Tribute portfolio, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed June 20, 2014

Very nice hotel, large rooms, nice bathrooms. The breakfast was excellent in the restaurant overlooking a beautiful canal. The hotel is a ways from the red light district but we were easily able to walk to and from. Stayed here with a group of 8 friends, we walked down to the local grocery store bought couple bottles of wine, cheese and baguettes and sat out in the grass on the canal across the street from the hotel, loved it.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank girllovestotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ApolloAmsterdam, General Manager at Apollo Hotel Amsterdam, a Tribute portfolio, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2014

Dear girllovestotravel,

Thank you for your review about your stay and the tips for a nice stay in Amsterdam. I am very happy to read you enjoyed your stay this much.

The comments about the view and the location of the hotel made me smile and I can only agree on that point. The view on the canals gives us every day a living painting.

We sincerely hope to welcome you back soon!

Kind regards,

Imre Heijboer – General Manager
Wyndham Apollo Hotel Amsterdam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2014

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts
Thank Jan V
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
ApolloAmsterdam, General Manager at Apollo Hotel Amsterdam, a Tribute portfolio, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed June 18, 2014

very friendly staff
quiet location with good access to public transportation
clean and comfortable rooms
gorgeous view to adjacent canal
bathtub side very high - difficult to step into - bathtub very slippery

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts
Thank Lynn A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ApolloAmsterdam, General Manager at Apollo Hotel Amsterdam, a Tribute portfolio, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2014

Dear Lynn A,

Thank you very much for taking the time to give us feedback regarding your recent stay.

Many thanks for taking the time to write your review. We will share your lovely comment about the staff with them.

Thank you for leaving the nice comment about the view on the canal and the decoration of the general areas. The view on the canals reflects the typical Amsterdam surrounding.

Your comment about the bath tub I will discuss, to see how we can improve this.

I do hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back to the Wyndham Apollo Hotel Amsterdam upon a future visit to Amsterdam.

Kind regards,

Imre Heijboer – General Manager
Wyndham Apollo Hotel Amsterdam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Element Amsterdam
#33 of 372 in Amsterdam
649 reviews
De Pijp
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
#27 of 372 in Amsterdam
2,533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
De Pijp
Sir Albert Hotel
Sir Albert Hotel
#37 of 372 in Amsterdam
1,376 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Apollo Museumhotel Amsterdam City Centre
Bilderberg Garden Hotel
#115 of 372 in Amsterdam
1,489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apollo Hotel Amsterdam, a Tribute portfolio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apollo Hotel Amsterdam, a Tribute portfolio

Address: Apollolaan 2, 1077 BA Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#56 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#73 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#74 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#96 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: $137 - $401 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Apollo Hotel Amsterdam, a Tribute portfolio 4*
Number of rooms: 223
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Apollo Hotel Amsterdam is both classy and modern. Our hotel boasts a central location, in the beautiful Oud-Zuid region of Amsterdam. Stay the night or meet at a typical Dutch location, where five of Amsterdam's canals converge. Are you planning to attend a conference at the World Trade Centre Amsterdam or at the RAI? These can both easily be reached, as they are at a distance of just 1,000 metres from the hotel. During a weekend stay in the beautiful Oud-Zuid region, you will be staying at a walking distance from Amsterdam hot spots, such as De Pijp, the Albert Cuypmarkt, or you can relax in the Beatrixpark. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Apollo Hotel Amsterdam, a Tribute portfolio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Apollo Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing