We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst Customer service ever !!!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Wyndham Apollo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Wyndham Apollo
Ranked #82 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Worst Customer service ever !!!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

We stayed at this hotel with friends just recently & it seemed like a good deal but soon realised it must have been to good to be true, the staff on both the reception desk and in restaurant were quite rude & unhelpful, not to mention non-smiling.
Also the hotels location seems to be far away from everything, cost approx 20 Euro for a taxi into the city centre or 2 trams which can take up to 15-20 minutes.
When I rang to advise reception/room service there was no milk in fridge for tea & coffee even though they had supplied kettle the person I had spoken to was very rude & acted like it was a difficult task to bring up milk to our room. Wouldn't recommend staying here.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Diversi86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,391 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    506
    533
    221
    78
    53
See reviews for
137
541
50
375
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (236)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel as it was good deal through one the websites. It was all we needed as we spent most of the time out exploring. We meet with friends in the bar and the girl behind the bar really did not want to serve us or even pretend to smile and the proceeded to throw daggers when asked for directions to the facilities. With that being said we all met for a coffee the next morning and we greeted by an older gentleman who was more than happy to serve us and take group photos and have a laugh and share some local secrets.
Jason the cab driver is also awesome he was very helpful and the highlight of our trip. Thanks JD!!

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Justinm83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Osaka
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

The airport city taxi did not find your hotel entrance instead of sport hall doors in the evening with rain.
You should have some advertising to taxi companies association for further
inconvenience of visitors.



  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Kotaniguchi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

We stayed there for a weekend with the kids (11 and 9). It started good with an upgrade to suites. Kids loved it. When arrived in the rooms the TV in the kids room was not working. The cable connection into the TV was broken. Called service, but as it was weekend they couldn’t repair it this weekend (not good for a 4 star hotel). At the end I did it myself, We had dinner in the restaurant. The youngest needs to eat “Gluten Free”. The restaurant handled this very well. Even the small appetizers were made specially gluten free for her.
Next morning the breakfast was a bit disappointed. Great buffet but only 4 slices of gluten free bread. It took long before we received it (was not prepared even that we said that twice, at check-in and when we entered the breakfast room) and for a 4 star hotel only 4 slices of gluten free bread is very limited. Some rolls or cakes would be appreciated next time.
Overall not a bad hotel, but service on repair and focus on gluten free breakfast can improve

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michiel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

We stayed here to visit a conference which was held at the RAI. The room was on the 5th floor overlooking the canal, with windows from floor to the ceiling, the view was wonderful! Double room was spacious and stylish. Lots of space which is not common for Amsterdam hotels. In the room - comfortable leather chair, cattle and a tea set, big flat TV, desk for work, large wardrobe, safe box, iron and ironing desk, hair dryer, vanity kit provided, nice and immaculately clean bath in the bathroom.
Loved generous breakfast, variety of food and the view on the canal!
The hotel is 10 minutes away from RAI by foot and within walking distance (20-30 min) to the museums. You can get to the city center by tram 5 or 24, they stop near the hotel. I would advise you to take a canal bus from the Reijks museum. I would recommend this hotel if you are here for business. It will also suit for tourists if you are ok to walk 40-45 minutes to the city center or use trams.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ekaterina_Sh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

If you are considering staying in this hotel, I would recommend you to

Get your breakfast somewhere else! In the hotel it is seriously overpriced (22.50 Euro) - but still no flexibility on how you would like your omelette, machine coffee (pretty bad quality), and typical "Dutch service"... Really terrible.

Ask your room on a higher floor - as no pressure from the shower on 1st floor!

Leave a note on the thermostat - NOT to switch the heating OFF! They will save on heating - on your account!

Check the room for cleanness! - had bad experiences last time.

PS - even though the "privacy" sign is out - the staff is knocking on your door on a Sunday morning. Really?!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank _eniko_2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Bilderberg Garden Hotel
#96 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,190 reviews
De Pijp
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
#22 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 2,007 reviews
BEST WESTERN Delphi Hotel
#157 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton Amsterdam
#48 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 2,282 reviews
Novotel Amsterdam City
#92 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 2,269 reviews
De Pijp
Sir Albert Hotel Amsterdam
Sir Albert Hotel Amsterdam
#24 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 961 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Apollo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Apollo

Property: Wyndham Apollo
Address: Apollolaan 2, 1077 BA Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#14 Spa Hotel in Amsterdam
#53 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#56 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#76 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#97 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Wyndham Apollo 4*
Number of rooms: 223
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Excellent location within walking distance to the main museums and well-known shopping streets but also near the RAI convention centre and the WTC Amsterdam. We can offer you the best of both worlds! The hotel is surrounded by water and tranquility, and yet so close to the city centre that you sense both the energy of city life and the heart of the business world. This is the special location of the majestic Wyndham Apollo Hotel Amsterdam, where 5 Amsterdam canals converge. Make your stay complete with a culinary feast in the hotel restaurant La Sirène or The Harbour Club Kitchen. The hotel offers private parking, a spa and a marina. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Wyndham Apollo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Apollo Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing