We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good location and nice room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Apollo Hotel Amsterdam
Ranked #103 of 368 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very good location and nice room”
Reviewed June 28, 2013

It was one of the hotel suggested by the RAI administration in Amsterdam and we chose it because of the location. In general it was a very good hotel, view on the water, kind personnnel.

I didn't give a higher review because we had some problems with the booking, though I'm not sure if it was the fault of RAI or of the hotel. Regardless it was a bit annoying! I had to change my booking to stay another day (arriving a day before) and called both hotel and RAI to get confirmation. When I arrived the reservation was still with the old data, but luckily they fixed it.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Albe82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,693 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    620
    646
    272
    94
    61
See reviews for
171
654
69
444
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (289)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
none
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 26, 2013

The Wyndham Apollos expresses it's exclusivity and high standards on facilities and services but in reality really, really is dissapointing. We booked an expensive two person-room (€ 150 a night) excluding the € 18 per person breakfast.
The room was quite dirty and really in bad shape. It was stinky, the walls were dirty, there was a lot of dust AND human hair everywhere but especially in the drawers and cupboards. The bath was full of dirty brown stains. Apart from that the room itself breathed faded glory - we imagine that once it was a beautiful, well cleaned and distincitive room between many others.
Before getting in the restaurant for breakfast the next morning, a waiter that checks your room number before you can go in for breakfast, starting making a phone call right in front of us while we were waiting to be served. Very unpolite. Our breakfast had enough choice but the bread was really old. Also, a waiter ran into us three times while we were picking up some bread and butter. He obviously never heard of courteousness to hotel guests.
We had a wedding party the night before and the food, drinks as well as the service were very good. Too bad that the room and other details were so bad. For us, that was the first and the last time that we visit the Wyndham Apollo in Amsterdam. A waste of money if you ask us.

Room Tip: Don't pick one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rvprvp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hampshire UK
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

We stayed here June 14 - 18; the room was comfortable but shabby - no hair dryer, no safe and the breakfast very expensive. if you go for the continental, there's a large delivery charge. On our second morning we had money stolen from our room and so did our friends -twice as much as us, while we were all at breakfast. The hotel was poor at responding and only after much time were we upgraded to a room with a safe. (hair dryer here but broken and dangerous; I received a call at 11.40pm asking if I still wanted a new one and at midnight was told this was not possible!!) Drinks were offered to keep us quiet and there was no satisfaction from the off-site security. We were never told the result of investigation to see if our rooms had been entered while we were at breakfast - so does the swipe system work or not? I have contacted the parent company but after 6 days at home have received no reply. if you go there, watch your money and make a fuss if your room is not up to scratch.

Room Tip: Insist on a room with a safe and a canal view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ageingtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
57 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2013

I stayed at this hotel because I was attending a conference in the nearby RAI. It was a walking distance in the beautiful morning of Amsterdam and an equally relaxing walk at the end of the day.

My flight from Doha arrived very early in the morning (around 7:00) and I was ready for a denial of early check in but the guy at the reception welcomed me with a smile and got me right into my room. No question asked. That helped. The room is not large but it has a desk and was arranged functionally nicely.

Breakfast buffet was good and rich in variety.

I recommend this as an option for any event at the RAI.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WaelD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
165 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2013

While this hotel was not in the center of town you could walk to the Riksmuseum within 20 minutes.

We stayed 2 nights at the begining of an escorted tour with Gate 1. The room was comfortable, but the refrigerator did not work. We had a view of the parking lot, while my brother-in-law and his wife had a view of the marina and canal.

The best surprise was that the front desk recommended a local Restaurant, Richards, which was marvelous. This led us to discover a whole neighborhood of fantastic restaurants!

Full breakfast was included in our pakage and was excellent!

Room Tip: Request a canal view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank William P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2013

Stayed in this hotel as part of a conference that was happening in the RAI. The hotel was good, nothing too fancy but had all the right things. Staff was good, got taxis right away and were very polite. Breakfast was ok, recommended to eat on the patio overlooking the canal. Location was pretty good, in walking distance (12 minutes) of the RAI and lots of other shops, hair places and restaurants in the area. Only took 10 minutes to get downtown in a cab. Only downside was the internet – absolutely didn't work in the rooms unless I sat on the floor next to the door and even then it was spotty. Sometimes bad internet is worse than no internet! But otherwise it was a good experience.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keem27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2013

Stayed at the Hotel for 1 night during weekend trip to Amsterdam. Location good, outdoor parking a rip off, best to be avoided. Rooms very dated, hotel staff overpowered by large groups of American river cruise ship tour group, hence long waits at the reception at check in.
room ok but interior very dated, beware the rooms don't look as nice as on the hotel homepage!
Given the price tag of the place (room, breakfast, parking.... not good value for money at all.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank I K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Element Amsterdam
#33 of 368 in Amsterdam
507 reviews
De Pijp
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
#28 of 368 in Amsterdam
2,419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
De Pijp
Sir Albert Hotel Amsterdam
Sir Albert Hotel Amsterdam
#32 of 368 in Amsterdam
1,285 reviews
Hilton Amsterdam
#43 of 368 in Amsterdam
2,816 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Apollo Museumhotel Amsterdam City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apollo Hotel Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apollo Hotel Amsterdam

Property: Apollo Hotel Amsterdam
Address: Apollolaan 2, 1077 BA Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#56 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#66 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#74 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#96 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Apollo Hotel Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 223
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Apollo Hotel Amsterdam is both classy and modern. Our hotel boasts a central location, in the beautiful Oud-Zuid region of Amsterdam. Stay the night or meet at a typical Dutch location, where five of Amsterdam's canals converge. Are you planning to attend a conference at the World Trade Centre Amsterdam or at the RAI? These can both easily be reached, as they are at a distance of just 1,000 metres from the hotel. During a weekend stay in the beautiful Oud-Zuid region, you will be staying at a walking distance from Amsterdam hot spots, such as De Pijp, the Albert Cuypmarkt, or you can relax in the Beatrixpark. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Apollo Hotel Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Apollo Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing